175 Reviews

Really good! Doubled the recipe to make two loaves, also added 2 tsp of vanilla to the batter and reduced the sugar by 1/3 of a cup per loaf. After reading other reviews, made sure to grease the bottom of the pans really well and did not have any problems with sticking. Will definately make again!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~MollyM May 16, 2010

What a lovely bread. I made this today exactly (almost) as stated....I didn't have buttermilk so I mixed a tblsp. of vinegar into the milk and it turned out great. The cooking time was a bit longer (probably my oven) but the result was a very moist and delicious loaf. I know I will be making this again as it was very easy to put together and made my home smell heavenly !

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher July 24, 2010

Killer cinnamon bread!! I did as another reviewer recommended, doubled the recipe and made it in a bundt pan. Then I brought it to work while it was still warm and everyone loved it! Mahalo for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phwright8 June 21, 2010

Have to say I was some what disappointed with this one (yes, I made it exactly as directed and I do have a lot of successful baking experience!). A lot of the reviews made it seem as it would be more like a coffee cake than a bread. Unfortunately, it was not. I would not compare this to Starbucks Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake either. Not even close. I would try the recipe again, but I think I would reduce the flour by 1/2 a cup and maybe add a 1/2 cup of sour cream for some additional moisture (to make it more like a coffee cake texture), and 1 tsp of vanilla for some additional flavor. It was not terrible (thus the 3 stars), but it could have been better. If I try the alterations and it works well, I will let y'all know! :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
azheather71 December 20, 2010

i've made this recipe twice now. i used a 9x5 pan *both* times, and i can see how an 8x4 pan would be way too small. ^_^; i used stick butter the first time, and actually used Country Crock vegetable oil spread (Churn Style) for the second. Worked out great both times. This is an awesome recipe--wonderful and easy to make, and makes your whole kitchen smell like awesomeness. This is a sexy recipe. ^_^ Great!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Master's Little pet September 06, 2009

I make this almost every week for church. Everyone loves it and 7 loaves go very quickly. I find that tripling the batch will actually make 4 loaves (it's a bit much for an 8x4 pan). Also I didn't like how the top layer of cinnamon/sugar would flake off. My solution was to twist and drag a knife around to create swirls on the top. It work beautifully. Not only does the top cinnamon/sugar layer stay put, it also looks really beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2five May 24, 2009

I have made this twice now and it has received rave reviews from everyone. I had a little trouble the first time portioning out the batter in thirds. The second time around I just made two layers and put the remaining cinnamon/sugar mix on the top of the loaf. It baked up crispy on the top and was excellent. I will continue to make this bread often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully May 23, 2011

This was EXCELLENT!!!! I didn't have buttermilk so put 1 Tbsp. vinegar in a measuring cup and added enough milk to make 1 cup. Will make them as muffins next time so we don't have to wait as long to eat them. YUM!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy's Sweet April 11, 2010

Yum! This recipe was so easy and sooo good. My 2 and 3 1/2 year old boys helped me make it, and had a lot of fun sprinkling the cinnamon sugar on the layers. I followed some other reviewers' suggestions and added 1/2 tsp vanilla. I also used an 8x8 glass pan and served it coffee cake style. I greased the pan with butter and it didn't stick at all. I baked it for 45 minutes and we ate it while it was still warm for dessert. I will most definitely be making this one again! Thanks!! **I did make this again and added a handful of frozen blueberries to the layers. It was incredible!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians October 23, 2008

Double recipe and make in a Bundt pan. Glaze with your favorite glaze, or spread with a small tub of vanilla or cream cheese frosting if you make it as a bread or coffee cake in the Bundt pan! (you could add raisins, too, if you liked).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildcatbasketball January 28, 2013
Cinnamon Swirl Quick Bread