Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cinnamon Sugar Pinwheel Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cinnamon Sugar Pinwheel Cookies

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2009

      I don't see how these cookies could ever turn out well. The dough is extremely difficult to work with, even after refrigerating for hours. When I tried rolling them into the jelly roll, they completely fell apart. Finally when I was able to wrestle them into a somewhat cookie form, they tasted like burnt cream cheese loaded with sugar. Do yourself a favor and don't bake these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      These are very good! I skipped the nuts because my husband isn't a very big fan of pecans and that's all I had on hand. The directions were easy to follow, although I made a couple of changes based on previous reviewers' suggestions. I chilled the dough overnight and then rolled to approximately 1/4" thickness. I decreased the bake temperature to 325. The cook time was around 15-16 minutes for my oven. My husband and I both thought that the cookies were very tasty - even without the powdered sugar sprinkled on top (so I actually left them plain). An easy cookie that has an impressive presentation. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I rolled out the dough and refrigerated it for about 1 hr. before rolling it out and rolled it out to about 1/4". I rolled the cookies up and stuck them in the freezer for about 1/2 hr. to make them easier to slice. I used a sharp knife to slice and it worked like a charm. Baked at 325 for 10 minutes and the bottoms were lightly brown and perfectly cooked. These are awesome cookies and loved by my entire family. I will double the recipe next time as they went so fast this time around. I will be making these for my cookie trays during the holidays this year too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      My kids loved these! Definitely chill the dough ahead of time as it makes it much easier to roll out and use a fairly sharp knife to cut or the dough will tear.Great with a cup of tea for a late night snack!Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      These are very good cookies...the taste and texture are exceptional. I did have to experiment with the recipe as I wasn't sure exactly what "roll very thin" meant or approx what size the dough should be rolled out to. The first half I rolled almost paper thin into a 10 x 12 rectangle, rolled up from long side. They were very hard to roll and slice; I got 20 cookies. I baked them for 10 minutes and they were slightly overdone. The second half I rolled into a 10 x 10 square, a little thicker. They were a little easier to roll. I refrigerated after rolling for about a half hour and this helped with the slicing; they didn't squash down. I got 16 out of this half. I baked these for 10 minutes also, but at 325. They came out softer and more delicate and look much more appetizing! I think it would help to specify the size to roll the dough out and it definitely helped chilling the roll. Thanks for sharing this...everyone loves them and now I know what I have to do for them to work for me. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      this was the most horrible cookie i've ever made in my life.
      the original recipe is so sticky, it's extremely difficult to handle. i tried everything to make it firm. it spent 3 hours. HOUR in the freezer. (an hour, double the stated time in my fridge wasn't enough.) i coated it in flour, sugar, everything. it still tasted like a doughy, sugary mess.
      i definitely do not recommend ever wasting your time on this recipe. (i made an account solely to warn.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I have to admit, I didn't care too much for these myself--but then, I dislike nuts. However, everyone else seemed to really like them a lot! I think I'd love them if I skipped the nuts. I didn't sprinkle them with powdered sugar, but they seemed sweet enough without. Thanks for posting, Aunt Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      These are very similar to what we used to make when we were kids :) We'd use leftover pie dough and make pinwheels... these are just as delicious if not even more!! lol :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      Made these yesterday and did half with cinnamon/sugar, and on the other half of the dough I spread a thin layer of jam. Well, now I know better than to do that. The cinnamon/sugar cookies turned out just fine but the jam on the others leaked. Oh well, that'll teach me for improvising! My fiance loved these and ate the whole batch (I got about 15 from this). I thought they were nice too, just a little too pastry-tasting. I will use this recipe again but I think next time I'll use more (and only!) cinnamon/sugar. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      These were melt-in-your-mouth delicious!!! I made them last night, and doubled the recipe, but they are almost gone already! I guess I must have cut the slices more thickly than I was supposed to, because the double batch only made 34 cookies. (But I would slice them the same way next time, as I thought they were great at that thickness!) Even with doubling the recipe, I didn't double the amount of melted butter or chopped nuts. Aunt Paula, this is a real winner! (These turned out beautifully, and my family and guests practically inhaled these fantastic cookies!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cinnamon Sugar Pinwheel Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (536 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.8
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    69%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 20.8 mg
    6%
    Sodium 65.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites