10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are very good! I skipped the nuts because my husband isn't a very big fan of pecans and that's all I had on hand. The directions were easy to follow, although I made a couple of changes based on previous reviewers' suggestions. I chilled the dough overnight and then rolled to approximately 1/4" thickness. I decreased the bake temperature to 325. The cook time was around 15-16 minutes for my oven. My husband and I both thought that the cookies were very tasty - even without the powdered sugar sprinkled on top (so I actually left them plain). An easy cookie that has an impressive presentation. Thank you for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts November 22, 2009

I rolled out the dough and refrigerated it for about 1 hr. before rolling it out and rolled it out to about 1/4". I rolled the cookies up and stuck them in the freezer for about 1/2 hr. to make them easier to slice. I used a sharp knife to slice and it worked like a charm. Baked at 325 for 10 minutes and the bottoms were lightly brown and perfectly cooked. These are awesome cookies and loved by my entire family. I will double the recipe next time as they went so fast this time around. I will be making these for my cookie trays during the holidays this year too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelliBelli August 31, 2009

My kids loved these! Definitely chill the dough ahead of time as it makes it much easier to roll out and use a fairly sharp knife to cut or the dough will tear.Great with a cup of tea for a late night snack!Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KoolKatMommy October 24, 2006

I don't see how these cookies could ever turn out well. The dough is extremely difficult to work with, even after refrigerating for hours. When I tried rolling them into the jelly roll, they completely fell apart. Finally when I was able to wrestle them into a somewhat cookie form, they tasted like burnt cream cheese loaded with sugar. Do yourself a favor and don't bake these!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brianne.eileen December 24, 2009

These are very similar to what we used to make when we were kids :) We'd use leftover pie dough and make pinwheels... these are just as delicious if not even more!! lol :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary January 23, 2006

These are very good cookies...the taste and texture are exceptional. I did have to experiment with the recipe as I wasn't sure exactly what "roll very thin" meant or approx what size the dough should be rolled out to. The first half I rolled almost paper thin into a 10 x 12 rectangle, rolled up from long side. They were very hard to roll and slice; I got 20 cookies. I baked them for 10 minutes and they were slightly overdone. The second half I rolled into a 10 x 10 square, a little thicker. They were a little easier to roll. I refrigerated after rolling for about a half hour and this helped with the slicing; they didn't squash down. I got 16 out of this half. I baked these for 10 minutes also, but at 325. They came out softer and more delicate and look much more appetizing! I think it would help to specify the size to roll the dough out and it definitely helped chilling the roll. Thanks for sharing this...everyone loves them and now I know what I have to do for them to work for me. ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= November 15, 2005

These were melt-in-your-mouth delicious!!! I made them last night, and doubled the recipe, but they are almost gone already! I guess I must have cut the slices more thickly than I was supposed to, because the double batch only made 34 cookies. (But I would slice them the same way next time, as I thought they were great at that thickness!) Even with doubling the recipe, I didn't double the amount of melted butter or chopped nuts. Aunt Paula, this is a real winner! (These turned out beautifully, and my family and guests practically inhaled these fantastic cookies!!!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit January 24, 2005

this was the most horrible cookie i've ever made in my life.
the original recipe is so sticky, it's extremely difficult to handle. i tried everything to make it firm. it spent 3 hours. HOUR in the freezer. (an hour, double the stated time in my fridge wasn't enough.) i coated it in flour, sugar, everything. it still tasted like a doughy, sugary mess.
i definitely do not recommend ever wasting your time on this recipe. (i made an account solely to warn.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shoeami December 12, 2011

I have to admit, I didn't care too much for these myself--but then, I dislike nuts. However, everyone else seemed to really like them a lot! I think I'd love them if I skipped the nuts. I didn't sprinkle them with powdered sugar, but they seemed sweet enough without. Thanks for posting, Aunt Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve December 31, 2007

Made these yesterday and did half with cinnamon/sugar, and on the other half of the dough I spread a thin layer of jam. Well, now I know better than to do that. The cinnamon/sugar cookies turned out just fine but the jam on the others leaked. Oh well, that'll teach me for improvising! My fiance loved these and ate the whole batch (I got about 15 from this). I thought they were nice too, just a little too pastry-tasting. I will use this recipe again but I think next time I'll use more (and only!) cinnamon/sugar. Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellogs April 19, 2005
Cinnamon Sugar Pinwheel Cookies