110 Reviews

This recipe is great. The only thing I changed was I added 2 tsp. of cinnamon. Talk about heavenly when cooking. We have about 15 in of snow right now and I love to bake when it's snowing so this was to be for breakfast in the morning. I could not wait. I ate 2 pieces while still warm w/honey butter on it. It turned out perfect. I put it on the 1 1/2 lb setting and on med for color and sweet bread setting. I will definitely do this again and again

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin-johnson February 05, 2010

This is the best bread I have eaten,especially for breakfast. I use one and a half cups of white flour and one and a half cups wheat. It makes the whole house smell Heavenly. The kids love it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
73redlips May 14, 2013

This recipe will be my go-to from now on when the family wants cinnamon sweetness. First, The DENSITY IS PERFECT. I used two teaspoons of cinnamon like other reviewers have done, and used my sweet bread setting for a 2lb loaf. I needed a bit more flour than the recipe required (maybe 1-2 Tb) to get the dough rolling right. It's as good as a cinnamon bun without the extra calories, mess, and the extra steps. I think next time, I will use honey instead of the sugar for the low glycemic index value. I will let you know how that turns out.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alisha2425 January 28, 2013

Very soft! Made a 2lb loaf size. I used the sweet bread setting, 1 1/2 lb, med crust and it didn't quite get done all the way. Next time will use the 2lb setting.
Agree it could use more cinnamon, needed a bit more flavor but was delicious, and I'll add all the sugar next time, I am trying to cut back where I can but this is a treat bread and needs the sugar. :)
I didn't have an egg on hand so I used 1/2 cup applesauce, if I need to do so again I'd drop it to 1/3 cup so the bread is a little firmer.
It rose so big I might use a tad less yeast than 2 tsp., but it was a hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasmama2 May 10, 2011

Oh Thank you! I was looking for a way to make cinnamon rolls the night before (expected to have to roll and bake in the morning.) But this was so much easier and just as good! Definitely adding this to the regular rotation!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara F. November 03, 2013

So yummy! Used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 cups bread flour, 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp maple extract. My whole family loved it! I baked it as 1.5 loaf with light crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommiesCookinFor5 April 17, 2013

I just made this and it was delicious! I did as others suggested and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla and increased the cinnamon to 2 teaspoons. I set my bread machine to 1.5 pound loaf and light crust. It had such a great flavor. I made honey butter to spread on the top. I can't wait to make this for my father-in-law tomorrow. Tonight was a test run;) Thank you for a yummy recipe and thank you to the reviewers that added their suggestions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mhooper12000 January 19, 2013

Wonderful! Just got my new bread machine and made this as my first loaf. My bf and his daughter both picky eaters, barely a crumb left on the plates. Made awesome french toast too. Will try with apple chips as requested by the two. Hope it turns out just as yummy. Did try with extra cinnamon. Thanks for the tips!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catailia May 23, 2011

Best bread machine recipe I have found thus far. Great as toast. I followed the recipe exactly as is. I will be making this weekly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lesley F. May 16, 2016

This is a pretty decent recipe! I added an extra TBS of cinnamon, but I think I could have done with even one more. It is a subtle flavor, but still very good. I used the medium crust and sweet setting on my Black & Decker bread machine. I may make this again, but with more cinnamon and maybe a little more spice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alice M. May 12, 2016
Cinnamon Sugar Bread, Bread Machine