46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mmmmm...These were great! The only change I made is in stead of a cup of butter, I cut in 1/2 cup butter and added 1/2 cup apple sauce with the wet ingredients.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betsy Minatani May 09, 2003

This is my favorite scone recipe of all time!
A few suggestions:
- If you use parchment paper under them, they will turn a nice, even, light brown
- Mix the butter into the flour mixture with your fingers. It takes a little longer, but it's worth it. I've tried using a pastry blender and a cuisinart, but neither method worked as well.
- You can get terrific mini cinnamon chips year round at www.preparedpantry.com. I got good results by mixing them into the flour/butter mixture before adding the sour cream.
- I divided one batch into four 5" circles and cut them into 6 wedges each. They took about 18-19 min.
- I like to brush scones with cream or milk, and then sprinkle them with turbinado sugar before baking. On a whim I tried brushing them with coconut milk the last time, and it worked pretty well.
- Don't overcook them. They come out of the oven very soft, but they will firm up after they cool.

Thank you Najwa for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaneLi September 19, 2010

These scones were awesome! I used all 4 teaspoons of cinnamon ~ we are real cinnamon lovers. They were perfect! I made 16 scones right before bed and the next time I looked the kids had polished off 6 of them. The rest were gone at breakfast. We will definately be making these often. Thanks so much for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy13 May 02, 2003

These scones are outstanding; they are crisp on the outside and so tender on the inside. Flavor is perfectly balanced. I've developed a "quick" method for mixing. Place the dry ingredients in the bowl of a Kitchen Aid; using the whisk attachment, blend and then add butter. Whisk until the mixture is the size of bread crumbs. Add sour creme mixture and whisk slowly until moistened. Switch to dough hook and knead briefly. It's fast and easy; there's no noticeable difference in the resulting scones!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcmignin March 16, 2014

These were wonderful. I enjoyed that the recipe is so simple and easy to follow. The texture of the scones was perfect as was the flavor. Sometimes scones can be quite dry, but these were lovely. Great recipe! I will be making these again very soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diamonds4heather July 08, 2002

Indeed a wonderful recipe. They are great -- just a few secs in the microwave & with the leftover scones we had a great breakfast for days. It makes alot -- even cutting each wedge in half (how I usually ate it after baking) was still a nice serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann B July 07, 2002

Great recipe. I got 16 scones altogether. My son had some of his friends drop in when they were baking and one of them thought it smelled like Apple Crisp. The cinnamon I guess. I only added 2 tsp of cinnamon instead of 4 and I really liked the taste. I got rave reviews from my son's friends who demolished half of them. Next time I may just do as your other reviewer did and roll and cut out. I will be making again for sure. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert May 29, 2002

These are incredible!!! I rolled them out and used a biscut cutter and got about 45 out of the recipe. They tasted so good and reminded me of an open air craft show that I go to every year. Great comfort food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Anne3 May 16, 2002

A crowd pleaser!! Not too sweet, but flaky and wonderful texture. Everyone loves these, and I usually have these ingredients on hand. The sour cream trick is amazing, and avoids having to go out to buy fresh cream. The ultimate cold weather treat with my homemade jams and a cup of tea. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loraine B. January 05, 2015

These are good, but I had some difficulty with the mixture. Maybe I measured inaccurately, but the mixture was so dry that I had to add 1/2 cup of applesauce to get it to stick together. I added pecans. I have to agree, these are a little bland. I may experiment with some additional flavors next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kar's Kitchen November 24, 2013
Cinnamon scones