12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't see where anyone posted this hint. Instead of using a knife to cut the dough, I use unwaxed, unflavored dental floss to cut the rolled up dough. Use about a 12 inch long piece. Slide it under the dough and just cross your floss, and pull quickly. It will slice through the dough without changing its shape. I keep a small container of floss in my kitchen drawer to uses like splitting dough all the time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dnichols March 02, 2008

Delicious! Very like Cinnabons--DH says even better! The cooking time will result in a slightly undercooked roll, so if you don't like that, add a few minutes. Also, if you lo-o-ove the ooey, gooey cream cheesy frosting on the Cinnabons, you'll want to double or even triple the icing recipe. It made enough for our taste, but just barely. The roll itself was tasty, too, and fairly easy to work. I found that the easiest way to roll it out was by alternating rolling and stretching the dough. The filling was excellent. I used 2 T of regular China cassia cinnamon and just under 1/2 T extra-strong Vietnamese cassia cinnamon. Thanks for posting, JCrosgey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve December 25, 2007

I had been thinking of making a cinnamon bun for a long time and finally tried it with fantastic results. They rose beautifully and were full of flavour. I made 16 smaller buns in a 20x30cm pan and left out the icing altogether. They were wonderful plain with a glass of cold milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook September 24, 2007

GREAT recipe! My husband loved these, so much better than the Baker's Delight ones. They are really easy to make but I did have to get some help rolling it up. Don't put them too close together or they'll be hard to pull apart later- I found putting the butter and sugar on the joins made this easier, too. I just glazed with a confectioner's sugar glaze with vanilla.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee July 09, 2007

I was very excited to see this recipe posted and could not wait to try it. I was also relieved that it did not require vanilla pudding, as I did not have any in the house. They were very easy to prepare, had excellent instructions and best of all tasted amazing!! The only change I made was to use a vanilla glaze, next time I will make the authentic cream cheese icing. Thanks so much for posting this recipe JCrosgrey. My family and I loved them!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowangel January 28, 2007

Very nice but just a bit to sweet for our tastes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwipom December 27, 2006

We just finished eating these cinnamon rolls. We think they taste better than the rolls at the mall. I followed your very well written instructions exactly. thanks for posting:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) December 10, 2005

These are wonderful! I've made them 3 times, and had fantastic results every time :) I'm not really sure what else to say, I just know that these are super tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieCook98 December 14, 2011

I thought I had a good cinnamon roll recipe before . . . I was wrong! This is by far the best, most delicious, mouth-watering cinnamon roll I have ever made or eaten in my life! My husband thought they were better than the actual Cinnabon ones at the mall. The only change I made was that I use Vietnamese cinnamon for almost all my recipes which definitely gives your baking an edge. Unbelieveable yummy! Love that you can do this recipe in the bread machine too. If I could give it 10 stars I would!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quilter-chef October 18, 2011

Delicious! Used 1 1/2 c whole wheat and they were great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Chef 27 December 25, 2010
Cinnamon Rolls (Cinnabon Copycat)