12 Reviews

Used your sweet dough recipe for these buns. I used 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 white. Didn't melt the butter, just let it soften and smeared it over. I got 12 big rolls out of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S3b4s March 12, 2009

i just devoured 2 straight from the oven. im rating both the sweet dough and the cinnamon buns. ive had problems with making soft dough for cinnamon buns but this was soft and gooey. my only change: i mixed both regular and light brown sugar (75% white; 25% brown). this tastes amazing for the fat and calorie content. soo similar to the famous cinnabon without the hefty 600-700 calorie load! my oven is strong so it actually cooked in half the time (15 minutes). thanks for such a great recipe. exactly what ive been looking for/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kishmish March 29, 2008

Reviewed for ZWT III. Well, these were fabulous! Easy to make - I made fresh sweet dough for them, and they were a BIG HIT with the whole family. Put it this way, I made them at 9pm last night and by 4pm today they are all finished! My 6 1/2 month old especially thinks they're fantastic and kept helping herself...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia June 25, 2007

Made for ZWT III. These were absolutely fantastic. I used chopped pecans and followed the recipe exactly. I will be making these often. Thanks for the great recipe Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 June 21, 2007

These were great! I used your sweet dough recipe and it was nice and fluffy! The only thing I did differently was I set my cookie time for 35 minutes and mine were done when there was still 18 minutes left on the cookie timer! Other than that, this recipe was great! Thanks for it Rita L!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef June 19, 2006

Outstanding. These were the hit of my brunch. I'll have to take my guest's word for it--I didn't get so much as a crumb. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pokey in San Antonio, TX June 18, 2006

Rita the only thing I can say about is where did they all go to??? I never got a chance to try it. My family ate it all one two three gone! I am going to have to make this again. I just never thought it would be such a great turn out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE June 01, 2006

OMG RITA! These were perfect! Used your sweet dough recipe. Beautiful dough~made and kneaded in the kitchen aid. Worked great! I cannot wait to serve these to weekend guests!! THANK YOU ~ THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookiegirlandi March 03, 2006

Wow. So good! I baked them in three loaf pans as "pull-apart" buns. They turned out great. I ended up freezing the Sweet Dough #54699 after the initial rising and I had formed them into cinnamon buns. I found that they didn't quite raise up as much as I would have liked when I went to bake them. That is my fault, not the recipe. They still tasted amazing. That is the sign of a good recipe, even after I have messed it up, it still comes out tasting great. For the drizzled icing, I mixed some icing sugar with a little orange juice and some water. It was a little sweet for my taste... maybe go with the cream cheese icing next time. And there will definately be a next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn September 25, 2005

These are absolutely great and so easy to make! The only thing I would change next time is brushing the dough with some melted butter to make the sugar and raisins stick better to it. I made them for tomorrow morning and I couldn't wait until then to taste one, so I ate one right away, while ot was still warm. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maïté G. September 19, 2005
Cinnamon Rolls Buns