33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great little breakfast. DH had made some of those Grand canned biscuits the other night so I used the leftover biscuits instead of bread. He took one look at me and shook his head yeah...even mentioned that we should give the recipe to his mom - that is a big complement. Thanks for a tasty easy recipe that's such a treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl February 14, 2004

We were craving cinnamon rolls this morning, but didn't want to spend 2 hours making some or go out and buy the canned. This hit the nail on the head and was fast and easy. I used about 3-4 tablespoons butter (eyeballed it), melted it in the microwave and added about 1.5 teaspoons of cinnamon into the butter and mixed. I spread it on both sides of 4 pieces of bread using a brush, and heated both sides of each piece of bread in a pan till it wasn't soft. I halved the glaze and it was just enough to drizzle over all four pieces of bread. I should have made more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aznbbdoll February 05, 2012

My young nephew who must be the "KING" of picky eaters is visiting and I can't make anything he likes as it must be exactly like his Grammie makes or he doesn't eat it. In desperation I pulled this out for breakfast (and it's NOT like Grammie's) and his first reaction was a resounding NO - however; after a small bite, he then proceeded to devour it saying Grammie needs to make it like this. SUCESS!!! Thanks for coming to my rescue with this simple but a sure kid pleaser recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 January 01, 2012

Tastes just like a cinnamon roll. Next time I will just sprinkle a slice of toast with cinnamon sugar and spread with the glaze. Same results and no pan to clean. Like others, I used half of the glaze ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Ann December 29, 2011

So simple & so good! A nice change from french toast. I only used half of the glaze & found that it was plenty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb May 16, 2010

This was a very simple, yet yummy breakfast treat. I made it for me and my husband this morning and we liked it. I can't wait to try it on my boys! I think I'll try taking imdrabbit's tip of melting the margarine & mixing the cinnamon with it and then brushing it on the bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faeanne October 11, 2009

This is a great recipe. Fast and easy. A great sub for a cinnamon roll without all the work. I sure wish I had found this recipe sooner. I only made one slight change. I melted 2 Tbsp. of margarine and mixed in the cinnamon. I used a pastry brush to brush the mixture on both sides of the bread. I just grilled each side in the skillet until it felt slight crisp, then drizzled the glaze on top afterwards. This is so yummy. I will make this often, I'm sure. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imdrabbit June 20, 2008

My husband and son thought this was great. I personally didn't care for it. I think more cinnamon on the toast would be better and less vanilla in the icing...OR maybe a little cream cheese mixed in. I gave four stars because the boys liked it! If you got a big sweet tooth you will too. I will still make this again but with those few changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kelly Bug June 16, 2008

This was some good stuff! I had a piece for an afternoon snack. Now I know what's for breakfast in the morning!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BamaBelle30 May 21, 2007

I gave this 5 stars. This is just like a cinnamon roll. Very good! I made a few minor changes to the recipe. I used margarine instead of butter as my butter was not soft. I added a splash more water as my glaze since mine was to thick. I also only used 1/2 Tsp cinnamon. I was able to glaze 3 slices of toast instead of 2 slices. Thanks for such a great recipe the kids and I loved it even my picky plain toast and spray butter newphew. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut December 10, 2006
Cinnamon Roll Toast