154 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading all the reviews I've decided to change the recipe just a bit as follows:

1 cup water
2 tablespoons margarine
2 cups All Purpose Flour; 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
3 tablespoons BROWN Sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 teaspoons yeast
1 cup SOAKED raisins (I like the suggestion to soak them in RUM)

Yes these are minor changes but most of the reviews seem to recommend them, and I will follow the majority.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arnie Brown November 16, 2011

I'm going to try this using fresh strawberries rather than raisins. I can't seem to find any breadmaker recipes that utilize fresh strawberries. For recipes with raisins, I find they mix much better if separated well and added directly after liquid ingredients. The first time, I added them during the "add ingredients" beep, as the recipe indicated. But, they did not mix throughout the dough and were only on the outer crust, most remaining in the bottom of the pan.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsbip@yahoo.com February 24, 2011

The whole family liked this bread, I thought it made good toast too. Heeded many of the suggestions: plumped up the raisins in hot water, doubled the cinnamon, used 2 C white flour and 1 C whole wheat, and put all the ingredients in at once (incl raisins) and voila. And yes it does smell terrific when it's baking!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*lil_miss_SBC*~ April 05, 2010

Twice now I've made this in the actual breadmaker and it has come out a brick, but I've made it probably a dozen other times taking the dough from the machine and baking it in the oven. When I do that it comes out the softest, fluffiest, most delicious raisin bread I've ever made. We've determined that this amazing bread rises too high in the machine and hits the top, causing it to deflate while it cooks. I always mix my yeast/sugar/hot water before adding it to the machine, so I may be aggravating the problem. But this recipe is so good, and my kids will eat almost an entire loaf in one sitting. I've also left out the cinnamon and raisins and made some very yummy sandwich bread too. I guess what I'm saying is that this is my new recipe for everything!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxerRebellion June 11, 2010

Oh my gosh, what can I say about this wonderful bread! I am new to bread machine and wanted a fragrant, hearty tasting versus sweet tasting bread. My 3 sons who don't like raisins and my picky bread eater husband who does like raisins, sort of put me in a pickle about what to do. I decided to put the raisins in but I soaked them in hot water for 5 minutes or so, as recommended by one of the recipe raters here. It was a great suggestion! The raisins were so soft and barely noticed. I will use that softening idea on other recipes too! Now, I did use half wheat flour and also I used brown sugar and white sugar mixed plus added another tablespoon. I used the overnight setting and WOW! did the house smell divine the next morning with fresh cinnamon wafting through the house, mmmmm. Also, I added another tsp of cinnamon as my husband loves cinnamon. Now, I slathered the thick slices with fresh butter, then I sprinkled my brown sugar/white sugar/cinammon mix over the top, and my family devoured the entire loaf in about 10 minutes with some tall glasses of cold milk. Great recipe, great bread! Next time, if I have company, I'm going to make my cinammon roll icing and drizzle it over the slices and lay them out in a tray. Butter/cream cheese/pwdr sugar/vanilla whip together with a touch of salt, I think you all know that one pretty much. Suzan Doer

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzidoer November 08, 2006

Delicious!! I make this every saturday morning for breakfast, my family loves this! The only change i did was i used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 c unbleached all purpose and it still came out beautifully, i did increase cinnamon and added brownsugar instead of regular sugar. Thanks again for sharing such a YUMMY!! recipe:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_78 May 18, 2009

Wow! This went over very well with my family - we thought it was just the right amount of cinnamon & raisins (this is chock full of raisins). And I am pleased to say that this reicpe was highly accurate, especially for a bread machine recipe. I didn't need to make any adjustments.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather January 09, 2004

I didn't see the changes for the recipe until the machine was already in the kneading process so I used the original recipe and it came out fantastic. I wouldn't change a thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunnshynen_10172222 October 09, 2013

Yum!! I've made other breads before but this was my very first raisin bread and it was definitely a success! I did add wheat gluten to my flour (about a rounded teaspoon per cup of flour) which helped the bread have a nice rise. I also followed other suggestions and soaked my raisins first in some hot water (I personally found 3/4 cup was a good amount of raisins but will probably throw in an extra handful or two next time just because I love raisins!) Then I let the same water cool a bit and used that for the water in the recipe. I also added the raisins directly into the liquids before adding the dry ingredients and my bread machine had no issues mixing the raisins into the dough (and my raisins stayed intact through the process!) I also used brown sugar instead of regular white sugar, cut the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon (as I used salted butter) used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and left everything else the same. Usually I will cut my dough in half and bake them as 2 loaves, but this time I decided to just have one big loaf and ended up with a REALLY big, really fluffy and really tasty loaf of raisin bread! I baked the loaf at 350 for about 40 minutes in the oven. I can't wait to have it for breakfast tomorrow!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu November 06, 2014

I made this recipe and it was a disaster. I added the raisins at the beep. When it was done, the bread had only risen about halfway and all the raisins were sitting at the bottom. <br/>I was using brand new yeast and flour. This should not have happened.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon C. November 05, 2014
Cinnamon Raisin Bread for the Bread Machine