Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cinnamon Raisin Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cinnamon Raisin Bread for the Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2011

      After reading all the reviews I've decided to change the recipe just a bit as follows:

      1 cup water
      2 tablespoons margarine
      2 cups All Purpose Flour; 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
      3 tablespoons BROWN Sugar
      1 teaspoon salt
      2 teaspoons cinnamon
      2 teaspoons yeast
      1 cup SOAKED raisins (I like the suggestion to soak them in RUM)

      Yes these are minor changes but most of the reviews seem to recommend them, and I will follow the majority.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      I'm going to try this using fresh strawberries rather than raisins. I can't seem to find any breadmaker recipes that utilize fresh strawberries. For recipes with raisins, I find they mix much better if separated well and added directly after liquid ingredients. The first time, I added them during the "add ingredients" beep, as the recipe indicated. But, they did not mix throughout the dough and were only on the outer crust, most remaining in the bottom of the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      The whole family liked this bread, I thought it made good toast too. Heeded many of the suggestions: plumped up the raisins in hot water, doubled the cinnamon, used 2 C white flour and 1 C whole wheat, and put all the ingredients in at once (incl raisins) and voila. And yes it does smell terrific when it's baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Twice now I've made this in the actual breadmaker and it has come out a brick, but I've made it probably a dozen other times taking the dough from the machine and baking it in the oven. When I do that it comes out the softest, fluffiest, most delicious raisin bread I've ever made. We've determined that this amazing bread rises too high in the machine and hits the top, causing it to deflate while it cooks. I always mix my yeast/sugar/hot water before adding it to the machine, so I may be aggravating the problem. But this recipe is so good, and my kids will eat almost an entire loaf in one sitting. I've also left out the cinnamon and raisins and made some very yummy sandwich bread too. I guess what I'm saying is that this is my new recipe for everything!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      Oh my gosh, what can I say about this wonderful bread! I am new to bread machine and wanted a fragrant, hearty tasting versus sweet tasting bread. My 3 sons who don't like raisins and my picky bread eater husband who does like raisins, sort of put me in a pickle about what to do. I decided to put the raisins in but I soaked them in hot water for 5 minutes or so, as recommended by one of the recipe raters here. It was a great suggestion! The raisins were so soft and barely noticed. I will use that softening idea on other recipes too! Now, I did use half wheat flour and also I used brown sugar and white sugar mixed plus added another tablespoon. I used the overnight setting and WOW! did the house smell divine the next morning with fresh cinnamon wafting through the house, mmmmm. Also, I added another tsp of cinnamon as my husband loves cinnamon. Now, I slathered the thick slices with fresh butter, then I sprinkled my brown sugar/white sugar/cinammon mix over the top, and my family devoured the entire loaf in about 10 minutes with some tall glasses of cold milk. Great recipe, great bread! Next time, if I have company, I'm going to make my cinammon roll icing and drizzle it over the slices and lay them out in a tray. Butter/cream cheese/pwdr sugar/vanilla whip together with a touch of salt, I think you all know that one pretty much. Suzan Doer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Delicious!! I make this every saturday morning for breakfast, my family loves this! The only change i did was i used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 c unbleached all purpose and it still came out beautifully, i did increase cinnamon and added brownsugar instead of regular sugar. Thanks again for sharing such a YUMMY!! recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      Wow! This went over very well with my family - we thought it was just the right amount of cinnamon & raisins (this is chock full of raisins). And I am pleased to say that this reicpe was highly accurate, especially for a bread machine recipe. I didn't need to make any adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      I didn't see the changes for the recipe until the machine was already in the kneading process so I used the original recipe and it came out fantastic. I wouldn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2014

      Yum!! I've made other breads before but this was my very first raisin bread and it was definitely a success! I did add wheat gluten to my flour (about a rounded teaspoon per cup of flour) which helped the bread have a nice rise. I also followed other suggestions and soaked my raisins first in some hot water (I personally found 3/4 cup was a good amount of raisins but will probably throw in an extra handful or two next time just because I love raisins!) Then I let the same water cool a bit and used that for the water in the recipe. I also added the raisins directly into the liquids before adding the dry ingredients and my bread machine had no issues mixing the raisins into the dough (and my raisins stayed intact through the process!) I also used brown sugar instead of regular white sugar, cut the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon (as I used salted butter) used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and left everything else the same. Usually I will cut my dough in half and bake them as 2 loaves, but this time I decided to just have one big loaf and ended up with a REALLY big, really fluffy and really tasty loaf of raisin bread! I baked the loaf at 350 for about 40 minutes in the oven. I can't wait to have it for breakfast tomorrow!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2014

      I made this recipe and it was a disaster. I added the raisins at the beep. When it was done, the bread had only risen about halfway and all the raisins were sitting at the bottom. <br/>I was using brand new yeast and flour. This should not have happened.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2014

      Excellent bread ! we loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      I followed a reviewers suggestion and did the recipe as follows:<br/>1 cup water<br/>2 tablespoons butter, melted<br/>2 cups All Purpose Flour; 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour (I don?t have wheat so I used 3 cups of bread flour)<br/>3 tablespoons BROWN Sugar<br/>1 teaspoon salt<br/>2 teaspoons cinnamon<br/>2 teaspoons yeast<br/>1 cup SOAKED raisins (I like the suggestion to soak them in RUM) (I don?t have rum either so I used warm water for like 10 minutes)<br/><br/>I added it in order per my bread machine which was water, butter, raisins, brown sugar, salt, flour, cinnamon, and added the well for the yeast. Not supposed to get it yeast wet. Now I don?t bake bread inside my bread machine because it turns out really huge and not proportioned out well. So, I used my regular dough setting. Putting the raisins in early is much better because they get mixed better that way. Another tip from a reviewer. I pulled it out and let it rise a little and baked at 350 in a loaf pan for about 40 minutes. Delicious and perfect. Makes a huge difference when you soak the raisins. Nice and soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      I too used brown sugar, less salt and more cinnamon and soaked the raisins. The best cinnamon raisin bread recipe I have ever made! I can see making this many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      The texture and crust of this bread were fine. We thought it lacked flavor. Needs more spice and definitely more raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Loved this, swapped in 1 cup of w/wheat flour (gotta be healthy!), a little bit extra cinnamon and soaked the raisins for a while in juice, absolutely delicious slathered in butter (maybe not so healthy!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      Tasted great, but unfortunately it didn't rise. Will definitely be trying again, but will activate the yeast first and reduce the salt as it was a bit too salty.... But that's perhaps because it didn't rise?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      I love this recipe! I change it up sometimes. I add brown sugar and crannberries and apricots! Yummy! Thank you sharing an awesome recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      This is a fantastic recipe. It is very soft and fluffy. My family just loved it. Thanks for posting such a lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      I made the changes Arnie Brown suggested and put them in my machine. An hour into the cycle I noticed it hadn't moved yet my machine was seemingly working away. I took it apart and found the belt within my bread machine had completely broken apart. Ugh! All my ingredients had sat there soaking for over an hour! I nervously turned them out into a bowl, kneaded by hand, covered and let double in my oven, pulled out, kneaded again, oiled and put into the loaf stone, set in oven to rise an hour then baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Perfect! I had never kneaded by hand before due to my joints but this was easy! So happy my ingredients were wasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      This bread baked up so nice. I used it for some "carrot cake" tea sandwiches. My family loved it. DS toasted some the next morning and said it was sooooo good. Thank you for sharing with us and saving us some money by making it on our own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cinnamon Raisin Bread for the Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (809 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2078.1
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    11%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3786.4 mg
    157%
    Total Carbohydrate 416.5 g
    138%
    Dietary Fiber 18.2 g
    72%
    Sugars 103.1 g
    412%
    Protein 46.4 g
    92%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes