8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used my Kitchen Aid to mix this. DE-LISH-US!!! I took notes from others and plumped up my raisins in water first and also added 1t. cinnamon to dough while mixing. One loaf went to a friend, the other was made into French toast. I will need to get cracking on another batch - DH didn't get a taste of this one...OOPS! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking4six July 06, 2010

I made this without a breadmaker. Added about 1tsp cinnamon to the flour, used the sugar and water to proof the yeast, and heated the milk, shortening, and salt together before mixing. Dough was a bit tough to knead at first, but softened after the first rising, and the final product is well worth it - this recipe's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flor_enojada April 22, 2010

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. I've made this recipe dozens of times and give most of the loaves away. I get rave reviews all the time. Very easy to make and the bonus is that you get 2 loaves! Thank you for making me look good :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLV February 25, 2008

Very nice raisin bread. I have made it 3 times so far. The first time I made it by hand as with half whole wheat,half bread flour, with raisins in the dough, and the whole family loved it. The second time I layered the raisins with the butter/cinnamon sugar and the bread still came out good, but the raisins kept falling out of the slices. Third time was a charm. I made as with 50/50 flour mixture, kicked up the cinnamon a little bit ,raisins in dough. Good stuff. When I used the whole wheat I did use a 1/4 tsp. more yeast. Thanks for the recipe, and it freezes well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knaylor76 December 30, 2007

I made twice and the second time, I doubled the cinnamon filling and rolled the bread tighter for a nicer swirl. It was delicious both times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rotts4me November 01, 2007

Wow finally a recipe that's worth the time to make.Wonderfull job and will let ya know if I win a Blue Ribbon at the fair near us in Onekema Michigan this next month on the 21st. Sincerelly Sueannemarrie Freeman susie_freeman42@yahoo.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie_freeman42 July 27, 2007

This recipe is wonderful! I couldn't think of any way to improve the appearance, texture or taste. The dough was so lovely to work with, and rolled out easily. The soft crust was beautifully golden brown. This is a keeper! Due to differences in my bread machine, I added the raisins near the end of the second kneading cycle. I also doubled the amount of butter, cinnamon/sugar. The result was a lovely, thin spiral of cinnamon. I also let it bake for 35 minutes. Perfect. Next time, I'll watch the size of my rectange to be no longer than 20" so the loaves fit nicely in the pans - and I'll remember to put the seam side down in the pan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K May 17, 2004

This was excellent! It came to the top of the bread machine and almost pushed it off. The flavour was good, I added about 1 tablespoon cinnamon to the mix. And added the raisins when it beeped. Lots of raisins in it which made it really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorel March 15, 2004
Cinnamon Raisin Bread