9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is excellent! Never have made bagels before and these were completely successful. I followed the directions exactly. Had no problems, they taste perfect. I"ll never buy a bagel again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Fritz December 29, 2012

We live in China so bagels are a real treat and quite expensive. I decided to give it a go for the first time. I was really please at how these turned out and we actually a lot less difficult to make than I thought they would be. They will be a regular at our house now. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laowai wife January 28, 2010

I just made these, and I was blown away. I made bagels 2 1/2 years ago, and it has taken me this long to try and tackle it again. The last recipe I used had so much prep work, and it was a nightmare. This recipe was fairly easy to do, and it did not take all day to make. However, I did have to add some more flour, I think it was about 1/2 a cup, perhaps more. When I turned it out onto the counter it was still very runny, so I kneaded some more flour into it, until it was where I felt it was workable. I did not do it in a bread machine so I had to mess with it a little bit, but it was very easy to adjust. Also, another mistake I made was not pulling them out far enough.. Once they rose, the hole disappeared almost completely. Once they were done cooking, the center was still a little doughy. So, I would suggest making the hole a little larger than normal. Otherwise, this recipe was great! I'm not much for bagels that are not toasted, but these... wow!! they don't even need anything on them they are so good.. I give it 5 stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie Daley August 02, 2008

Oh boy these are soooo good! I am making them for Christmas baskets to give to our friends and family. I had to try one, and they are crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside! I did add a little bit more flour when I made mine though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noodleme20 November 07, 2007

These turned out very nice with great flavor and texture. I used my standing mixer rather than bread maker, and used currants rather than raisins. I also added a bit more cinnamon to the dough. Thanks for sharing, Bev!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. September 13, 2007

These tasted great, just like store bought. I didn't have raisins so used sultanas instead & I found the dough a little sticky too so may up the flour next time. This was my first time cooking bagels & was quite a success. I found the whole process quite fiddly & time-consuming though so these will be more of a treat than a make all the time type thing. Delicious toasted with cream cheese they made a great breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** May 14, 2007

I am an inexperienced bagel maker so this recipe was a godsend. Clear easy to read instructions. I do think that next time I will do what the other reviewer suggested with the cinnamon though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl October 10, 2006

Very deceint and soft bagels.changed the recipe alittle bit and i know some improments that i will make next time. I used my whole dough cycle(2 hours) but the dough was really sticky so next time i will add 1/2 more cup of flour and i am sure it'll work out perfect! I also used half of the cinnamon on the raisins but the other half in the dough. I think i may have found my bagel recipe that iwill be using as a oamc!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef December 30, 2005
Cinnamon Raisin Bagels (Bread Machine)