23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this today as a treat for myself. It mixes up easily. My batter did not "pour" into the pan, and I didn't know how I was going to spread it because it was fairly thick. I was so proud of myself for figuring out how to do so. I sprinkled the filling over the batter that I "dropped" in, and it spread very easily with a spoon. A very nice coffee cake. thank you for sharing this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbasol March 25, 2003

This is easy to make and has great flavor and texture. I make a bread every week for my DH and this is going to be in the rotation now. Thanks so much for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W April 04, 2003

What a great coffee bread! I put in 2/3 cup chopped walnuts in the dough and then layered it as you directed. My husband and I just had some with afternoon coffee and it is delicious. Thanks, Carole

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando February 25, 2003

Very good, very adaptable, and super quick and easy! :) We needed a quick meal we could eat with our hands, and these were just the ticket! I made it into muffins. I made them with white whole wheat flour, and i didn't have enough cinnamon (how on earth did I let myself run out? I use it all the time!) so I just left the filling layers out and hoped it would still be good enough that my 4 kids would eat it! lol! I also used grapeseed oil because that's what I had, same thing goes for the egg (I used 1 duck egg instead of one chicken egg.) I baked them at 350 for 14 minutes and they are PERFECT! They are just the right amount of sweet, and moist too...didn't even need butter! I'm DEFINITELY going to be making these again to keep on hand for breakfasts and snacks...next time I'm going to sub out some of the organic sugar I used for local honey and see how that goes. :) Thanks for an amazing recipe that our whole family loves, and that I love because it's so simple. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
498291 May 11, 2013

A cinch to put together but waiting the hour for it to cook when you are hungry sure is hard! Based on other reviews I reduced the sugar filling by quite a bit. I actually just used a shaker that I have premixed of cinnamon and sugar and put a thin layer between layers of batter and then another on top. I probaly used 1/4 of what was stated here in this recipe. Makes a beautiful loaf that is perfect for breakfast with a cup of coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus January 18, 2010

I did a half recipe and split between two mini loafs. Loved the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcoandrita November 09, 2009

This is definately a family favorite! So moist, so filling, and so delicious. No complaints from anyone, even the picky eater.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flowers and Pearls April 30, 2009

Great breakfast bread with delicious cinnamon flavor. Thanks so much for sharing! I added 1/2 cup of raisins that I plumped in a 1/3 cup of warmed orange juice, discarded the oj,then sprinkled the raisins on top of the fillings. I also added the zest of a large lemon into the batter because I love the tastes of lemon and cinnamon together. That added just a peek of lemon, perfect. I also didn't use all the cinnamon suger filling, it seemed like too much sugar. Next time I will try 1/3 cup brown sugar but keep the 2 tsp of cinnamon. Fun and very easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets February 13, 2009

Very simple to put together for breakfast this morning. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana in KS July 01, 2008

We just had these after dinner as dessert and I must say they were excellent!Very tasty,I made them into muffins instead of a loaf and they turned out beautifully.My fiancee is taking the rest of them to work tomorrow to share with the guys. Thanks for the recipe,will make them again i'm sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nesbitt929 September 26, 2007
Cinnamon Quick Bread