Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cinnamon-Pumpkin Empanadas ( Empanadas De Calabazas) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cinnamon-Pumpkin Empanadas ( Empanadas De Calabazas)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      No one had posted a picture of this recipe yet and I wondered why. Well, probably because they were gone as soon as they came out. I was quick to snap a photo before they were devoured! Very delicious. I added a couple of steps: 1.) The recipe did not indicate if the bread was suppose to rise (it had yeast) so I let it rise about 45 mins. 2.) I used pumpkin pie mix instead of the pumpkin filling because pumpkin pie mix already has most of the ingredients called for and tastes just as good. 3.) I brushed my empanadas with an egg wash before baking. This gave it a beautiful shine. Next time a will also try a pinnaple filling. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Good recipe, reading some of the reviews before trying this recipe and with some helpful hints left out I would suggest that those not familiar with doughs and yeast would like to know that the water need to be about 115 to 120 degrees with an instant read thermometer and with some yeast recipes like pizza doughs, just cover with a clean kitchen towel or flour sackcloth on a dusted surface and let the dough rest for 10 or 15 minutes before dividing. A bench scraper works great for the dividing. Beautiful silky dough. I added 1tsp vanilla and replaced the ginger with cardamom. Really nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      I just made these as an appetizer for Thanksgiving and they were eaten by non-vegans, except myself. They were a huge hit! I used, by accident, a pumpkin pie can and it tasted really good anyways. It had cinnamon in it already, and I added more so there was a bit too much cinnamon. The wraps were easy to make and delicious. I used canola oil to coat the lining to keep it together, but it did on its own. I could not fit more than a tablespoon in each, so I had a lot of pumpkin leftover. I will take the leftovers and sprinkle sugar on top and eat it as a dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      These were tasty! I did have some issues trying to wrap the dough around the filling. I don't think this was the recipe's fault as much as my own (My g/f had no problem wrapping them, but I'm not the gentlest guy.) A lot of my empanada wrappers were torn and I was afraid that the filling would go everywhere. But the filling stayed inside and there wasn't a mess to clean up! They weren't the prettiest things I've ever seen though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Easy to make & delicious. I made them smaller by dividing the dough to make 32 small empanadas. They're kid-sized & my kids love to help make them & eat them, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Made as directed but deep fat fried in 350 degree F peanut oil. They were delicious! I must add I basically love all things pumpkin - non-pumpkin eaters might not be so enthralled...soooo... Sprinkled them with cinnamon/powdered sugar after they came out of frier (amazingly light crispy & nongreasy!) & had for dessert after dinner. They were also good with black coffee the next morning. Will make these again! Oh I made the dough in the bread machine! Thank you, Molly53, for posting this crispy pumkiny indulgence!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      My mother used to make these back in the day. She used fresh pumpkin and blocks of mexican brown sugar called piloncillio. One of the best parts is when I would find a cooked pumpkin seed inside. It was so goooooood. Now that her home is in heaven, I find myself cooking her recipes and making traditions of my own with my daughter following. So, thank you so much for this recipe. This weekend I know what I'll be cooking. Let you know how it went.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      I'm used to empanadas with pastry crusts. The yeast in this recipe is interesting. I like the lighter texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Made these for my husband last night. They turned out pretty good! Our house smelled soooo good! He says they could probably use some sugar on the crust to make the crust a little bit more like a pastry. They were easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      These were okay. I made a bunch for a faux-Thanksgiving meal. I added a bit of vanilla and nutmeg to the filling to sweeten it up. I am a huge baker but I've never baked anything with yeast before. I ended up letting the dough rise a bit between batches and it was easy to work with. I also brushed the dough with egg wash before baking. Completed product was okay but just okay. This is probably personal preference, but I did not like the texture of the filling. (I know, I know, what kind of texture did I think pumpkin has?). The dough was soft and the filling was a squishy too. Just needed a little more contrast for me. If I made this again, I would absolutely add some nuts into the filling!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cinnamon-Pumpkin Empanadas ( Empanadas De Calabazas)

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.0
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    39%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 188.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    39%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites