11 Reviews

Made these today and are they ever good!! I substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil - a little bit healthier for me. The results were great! Yumm!!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert January 27, 2002

Delightful! I made five jumbo muffins instead of 9 regular sized. Next time I make these I think I will add a touch more sugar and some diced apples to add a little moisture and added flavor.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev February 15, 2002

Tasty muffin, love the cinnamon flavour, and am a pecan lover too. Good idea on adding some apples for moistness Bev, next time I'm going to do just that.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* July 08, 2002

Yummy! I just made these for breakfast and they were a hit! I did put an extra 1/8 tsp. of cinnamon. But boy are these delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea Christine January 21, 2008

I wanted something different for a grab and go work breakfast and these were fun, quick, and super easy. I added an extra 2 tbsp of sugar and another 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and used some good black currant preserves from France in the middle. The results were delightful! Mine took about 32 minutes to bake and were not dry at all. I will definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelteredcreature December 14, 2015

I was looking for a recipe for a quick breakfast to grab on weekdays and this is great. I substituted whole wheat flour and added a tbl of wheat gluten to keep it light. I sub'd applesauce for oil and from the other reviewer's comments, I used a half cup instead of one quarter. I also added a half tsp of vanilla for flavor. The knife came out clean at 16 minutes for 12 reg size muffins. Next time I'm going to try subbing honey for the sugar, besides getting rid of the refined sugar it should help with the dryness as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissiStroh January 23, 2011

Yummy! I used whole wheat flour, Splenda & leftover cinnamon pecans! I also sprinkled some cinn/Splenda mixture over the tops before baking. I was baking something else at 350, so I just stuck in the muffins for 12-15 min (they were small muffins!). The batter was quite dry, and I'd used applesauce for oil, so I doubled up on the applesauce & they were fine! I don't know if this would work, but next time I was thinking of using cinnamon granola instead of pecans!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS April 28, 2007

A very nice muffin. Because of other reviewers feeling they were dry, I only baked them for 18 minutes. They weren't overly moist but they weren't dry either. I added about 1 tsp. orange zest for an added zip and it complimented the cinnamon and pecans nicely. Thanks Mirj for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) November 20, 2004

These were tasty treats, but turned out more like scones than muffins. My friend called then scruffins! I used chopped hazelnuts. I like the idea of using some applesauce to moisten them up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne October 30, 2004

Very good and very easy. I, too, added a little extra cinnamon. Wondered 2tsp baking powder, or soda? I just used 1tsp of each. As mini-muffins they're ideal for coffee meetings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1TexasLizard February 13, 2002
Cinnamon Pecan Muffins