11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last weekend for a brunch - not a bite left over. I only put pecans on 1/2 and did no syrup or powdered sugar on the top after - and it was more than sweet enough. I did spray my pan with Pam just to make sure nothing stuck (and it didn't).

putting brown sugar on the bottom is brilliant - I will do that next time. This is definitely on my re-make list. I might even do a 1/2 version for my kids for special occasions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB October 23, 2012

I took a tip from several of the other reviewers & sprinkled some brown sugar in the bottom, then pretty much followed the recipe, except that I left off the icing, thinking, correctly so, that the brown sugar & the final maple syrup would be more than enough in the sweet department! Absolutely great French toast & a very nice keeper of a recipe! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in the current Best of 2011 event]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 23, 2012

This was certainly a decadent breakfast that everyone loved. I will definitely make it again (but not often because of the high fat/calorie content).

I agree that the butter on the bottom should have some brown sugar sprinkled in. I took another reviewer's suggestion to put the pecans in the bottom (for some reason none of my kids liked the pecans... so next time I'll leave pecans off half).

I used homemade cinnamon roll dough. I made two mistakes that I'll not repeat (I let the cinnamon rolls sit for a day in the pan and the filling made liquid in the pan. I also forgot to bring along the icing (I brought it on a trip).

Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW October 24, 2011

This was positively delicious, and quite easy to prepare. So I will definitely make this again. I used really large eggs, so I cut that back to 4, and it worked out just fine. I also cut the rolls in quarters instead of 8 pieces. They were just a tad gooey in the very center, so will stick to the recipe next time and cut each roll in 8 pieces. But even so, this was a spectacular breakfast. We liked it just as is and didn't top with more maple syrup since there was plenty of French Toast flavor, right out of the oven. I chose this as one of my Spring 2011 Pick-A-Chef recipes, and I am so glad I did! Thanks, B&J'sGranny.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal March 04, 2011

This is very good. . The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the butter that is in the bottom of the pan could be better by sprinkling brown sugar over the bottom making a carmelized sauce. The plain butter just didn't have any taste. I would go as so far as sprinkling If you sprinkle the brown sugar with the pecans on the bottom, when you go to serve the casserole, it could be turned over onto a large plate. The carmel sauce would pour over and then add the icing. Just a suggestion. Certainly a keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rnmommy02 December 27, 2010

I made this for Christmas morning. It was a total hit. Would make it again in a heart beat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mama of 2 January 15, 2010

Made this for Christmas breakfast and it was gone so fast. So many people asked for the recipe. This is my favorite breakfast bake ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLuckyMama December 26, 2009

I made this for my family this morning and it was GREAT!!! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerbare January 31, 2009

Yummy! Thank you for this recipe. I have been looking for it! Our church made it for breakfast a while back, but no one could give me a specific recipe. It was delicious. My family loved it, especially my 5year old!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisajean77 October 28, 2008
Cinnamon French Toast Bake