16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was quite delicious, but if you are going to fry it, then you need to put something in the pan, butter if you are not watching calories, so that it doesn't stick. This may seem obvious to the more experienced cooks out there, but this was the first time I had made French toast. Very delicious though, and we will definitely make it again. We topped ours with some fresh strawberries, yummm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenny_2020 January 31, 2010

This was delicious french toast. I doubled the recipe and was able to get 10 thick slices of French Toast made from it. I would need to triple the recipe to get a whole loaf made which is what I will do next time around. This recipe will replace my previous one. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojo mom January 01, 2010

Don't bake it, needs to be fried. When I baked it, all I tasted was the bread following this recipe exactly. Pretty good fried though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjanakos December 31, 2009

This is very similar to my family's favorite french toast recipe - it just lacks 1/8 cup sugar. I'm trying to get them to eat a little better, even in heavy dishes like french toast, and this was a good recipe for that. I only managed four slices out of the amount this made, and I used a whole grain and honey bread - not nearly as tasty as white or even wheat, I admit, but another more healthful choice, and this recipe does the job of banishing those cravings very nicely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS May 16, 2009

We love french toast. This was so good and so easy to make. We loved this. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom April 28, 2009

very good, i thought it needed a little more cinnamom though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie January 25, 2009

This was an easy recipe that turned out wonderful! I used extra thick cut bread and opted against refrigerating overnight but will try that soon. My nephew really loved it on Christmas morning, so much that he requested it the following week until the bread ran out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cnikie January 22, 2009

Definitely a winner, I liked the nutmeg. I made it with fruit bread and served it with sliced banana, butter and cinnamon, drizzled with Basic Pancake Syrup. Yummo! It would also be great with cream cheese and fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Chef Australian August 07, 2008

This was so good that I had to make two batches because everyone wanted seconds. One to add to the recipe books!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Ame July 09, 2008
Cinnamon French Toast