50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Karen, Thank you for sharing your recipe. It was delicious. My family enjoyed it very much. My children usually don't like to try anything new, but their eyes lit up when they tasted it. This is a new family favorite!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lois Stark August 18, 2003

This was just a nice recipe for when a quick and easy breakfast treat is desired.Ingredients are all regularly on hand and very economical.This was what prompted me to try this one.The addition of nuts and vanilla is definately recommended.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Earlie862 April 18, 2003

I prefer my breakfasts to have more nutritional value, so I halved the recipe and made this for dessert. It was easy, quick and not too rich or full of fat. I'll probably make it again. Might be good with some chopped nuts on top.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner March 07, 2003

This is the 2nd flop type recipe that I made from the site, and the family rates this one the best. I added 2 tsp vanilla to the batter and mixed the flour/brown sugar/cinnamon before sprinkling. A yummy breakfast treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyb July 04, 2008

Being a cinnamon lover it is no surprise that we I loved this. I was quick & easy, kids loved it too. We ate it warm right from the oven. Will definately make this again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Stewart February 11, 2004

Im sorry to say that i didnt care for this one much...perhaps somewhere I made a mistake and prepared this dish wrong..but the batter fit into only 1 cake pan. I thought the texture was a bit chewy, although i did love the cinnamon on top( that was the best part)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI December 04, 2003

Found this recipe at the local library. A book titled 'From Amish and Mennonite Kitchens.' Wonderful recipe! Quick, simple, flavorful. Perfect for when we are low/out of eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzysu_b February 09, 2014

I agree that it was a bit dense. I added pears which worked great. I will make this one again i guess, i just need an occasion. It would be great for pot lucks but people here tend to prefer creamier, richer cakes, which i do not. So i could only give 4 stars as i basically cook and bake more for friend than for myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iceland November 14, 2010

I halved the recipe and then accidentally added a whole cup of lite vanilla soymilk. Deciding to be brave I added vanilla essence, a packet of instant vanilla oatmeal, and half a cup of dessicated coconut. It is suprisingly still good, not too sweet, not too plain. Will defintely bake again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodisGood March 01, 2009
Cinnamon Flop