17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Got this recipe off someone's food blog, and it's to die for! Followed the recipe exactly, and they came out perfect! Not the least bit dry. I checked them a bit early, and although the tops looked very light, the toothpick came out clean, so I immediately took them out of the oven. Had I left them in longer to brown, they probably would've turned out dry. Great recipe! Will be making these often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Velouria October 09, 2011

Very nice! Next time will add more stawberry jam :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki D. October 30, 2014

We didn't really care for these at all, dispite my great expectations. The sweet factor wasn't there at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prayztwice October 29, 2011

Made these a couple of days ago...they were so good and not at all dry. Next time I make them, I will add just a bit more cinnamon, because I could hardly taste it. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace09 October 13, 2011

These were quite good. I didn't have any problem with dryness (I baked for about 25 minutes). I substituted extra virgin olive oil for the vegetable oil since we were out of vegetable oil. I used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose flour. The end result was good (love the raspberry jam filling), but a little too spicy for my taste. I would prefer them to be a little sweeter, so I think for the next batch, I will omit the nutmeg. Overall, great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angel.e.bolka July 08, 2011

I really like the idea of having a jam suprise in a muffin. I did found these muffins to be too too bready...You can really taste the dough...I did add marmalade in some of the muffin centres and found it to be the neatest and slighly less sweet than the raspberry filling (jam) and I don't think I will be making them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munnumaa February 03, 2010

These were delicious little muffins! We filled them with strawberry spreadable fruit and baked them for approx. 25 minutes and they came out of the oven perfect! I took a tip from another reviewer and used a pastry brush to spread on the topping. I was able to get 9 muffins and they were quickly devoured by the family for breakfast this morning. Thanks, Redsie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4QTpies February 19, 2009

Delicious muffins - moist and tasty! I loved the spiciness and the topping was great. I used strawberry jam and I think any flavor of jam or preserves would be great. Loved these easy-to-make muffins - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof December 05, 2008

Followed the recipe exactly and my muffins came out very dry, crumbly and not very sweet. I also had problems with the assembly. Instead of filling the muffin 1/2 full and adding the jam, I would fill them 1/3 and then add the jam. I had trouble covering all of the jam with the remaining batter, so when the muffins baked the jam broke through the top of the muffin and bubbled away. The jam peeking through the top of the muffin actually looked very nice, but when I dipped the hot muffin into the melted butter most of the jam leaked out and pooled in the bowl of butter. So if I make them again, I would add more oil and sugar to the batter, and instead of dipping the muffins in the melted butter and sugar I would make a simple power sugar glaze and drizzle it over the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moreCakePlz September 23, 2008

So delicious! I made these following the instructions exactly the first time around, and I was very happy with the end result. The doughnut muffins were yummy! I used strawberry jam in ours, as it's our favorite. I may try blueberry and raspberry next time around and that will be soon, as we all liked them so much! Thanks for sharing Redsie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids August 30, 2008
Cinnamon Doughnut Muffins