399 Reviews

I have an insecure relationship with baking and I rarely bake the same thing twice, but these.. I will DEFINITELY make again. I zested an entire large orange into the dough prior to refrigerating and the flavor is ridiculously awesome. I highly suggest doing that if you want to add a little more character and funk to these already delish little cookies.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kri_0915 September 01, 2010

This may just be the perfect cookie recipe. Seriously. I personally prefer doing rounded tablespoon sized cookies, because they are faster and make a nicely sized cookie. I baked them for 10 minutes and they were perfect. They perfectly straddled the line between poofy and flat (if you've tried a lot of cookie recipes you'll know what I mean). I'm so glad I decided to double this recipe, even though I was a tablespoon or two short of butter (which wasn't a problem). Instead of doubling the sugar, I used 1.5 cups, and I did roll them in cinnamon sugar. I can see why these are compared to snickerdoodles, which are favorites of mine, but I think I may prefer these. I added a pinch of nutmeg to round out the flavor without overpowering it - next time I may try 1/4 teaspoon for a doubled batch. I didn't chill for a full two hours, but the dough was fine to work with - I just put the bowl back in the fridge between cookie sheets. Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel May 16, 2013

I have been making these for a few years now. They are wonderful. I follow the recipe to the letter with the exception of the 'rolling into balls part', I simply roll the whole batch into a large 1" thick slab and slice into 1" squares ( and toss them in a bowl of cinamon sugar). I do these along with my other holiday cookies and find the shortcut helps alot. they still taste great they are just slightly square. oh well!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Justa Cook December 20, 2010

Tasty and very easy to make, I followed some of the other reviews and rolled in powdered sugar and it was great. The second batch I hid a chocolate chip in the middle as an added surprise. yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adely May 27, 2010

These are amazing! I tripled the recipe with great results. I got exactly 84 cookies. I didn't measure them, just went by feel. As another member did, I rolled some in cinnamon sugar, some in finely chopped pecans, and some in powdered sugar, then in the sugar mix.I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper, and they came right off. I highly recommend this recipe, and highly recommend the parchment paper. I made these for my neighbors for Easter. They are delicious! I baked them for just 10 minutes, and some for 11 minutes, to get some crisper. Fabulous recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER April 04, 2010

Great cookie with a nice cinnamon flavor. And they taste as good as they smell. I got 60 perfect circle cookies and used unsalted butter instead of margarine. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky December 18, 2003

These were delicious! I didn't change a thing. Mixed up the dough in no time flat and chilled it overnight in the fridge. I made tiny cookies and got about 70 cookies....but there are only about 50 left.....ummmmm make that 49!!!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love2Eat December 22, 2002

These are fantastic!!!! I am a chocolate lover and yet I would rather have these cookies. I am making several batches now for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yourrose99 November 18, 2011

Delicious! I skipped the refrigeration and used a small cookie scoop (kind of like an ice-cream scoop but smaller) to make these. Because of this they didn't puff up too much, but they still taste great. I also forgot to grease the pan, just put them right on...to my surprise, they came right off with no issue! They were quick, easy and delicious -- thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramartin42 December 23, 2010

I know it's received so many comments, but I'm adding to them! These were the best cinnamon / snickerdoodle cookies I have ever had. Adding cinnamon into the dough makes ALL the difference compared to other snickerdoodle recipes. I made them within days of RecipeZaar's top rated snickerdoodle cookies, and this won hands down. As a note: my snickerdoodles didn't brown at 10 minutes...and their tops were a wee bit spongy when I touched them. I cooked them longer but they should have come out for super soft cookies (which I love). So stick with the 10 minutes even if you don't see browning. I stored them with two slices of bread and the crispier ones softened right up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sharona February 05, 2010
Cinnamon Cookies