45 Reviews

If I could give this 25 stars I so would! This has to be the BEST cake I have ever made. It tastes like no other coffee cake I have ever had, and the texture is great. I could have eaten the entire pan but I had to share. This will definitely be made again. If you are reading this and haven't made this yet you have to try this one!! Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies September 04, 2010

You are so right - another GREAT German recipe. A very light texture for a coffee cake and simple to prepare. I did use chopped almonds in the batter as an option as we love that in our family. Made for the I Recommend Tag game in the Cooking Games with Friends Forum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom April 03, 2011

This was super easy and very good. Lovely smell and a warm treat in the morning. Did not use the nuts as the boys are not fans, but I do believe it would be even better with the nuts. Did not have the "WOW!" factor for me, but a great, solid and easy recipe with a fine product. Thanks so much, will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 July 04, 2010

This is a wonderful coffee cake recipe. I made this yesterday for our breakfast and it was a huge hit. I used pecans for the nuts and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 27, 2011

I don't think you can go wrong with baking anything with cinnamon so this recipe was pretty good but nothing spectacular which I had thought it would be with all the fantastic reviews it's gotten. I followed directions to the letter too. It's an ok recipe if you want to bake something quickly with stuff in the cupboard you already have.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura'skitchen January 23, 2011

Very good cake with simple ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curlee January 17, 2011

I have to admit I did use at least one cup of nuts in these, as my feeling is there is nothing better than nuts in baked goods! I also have to tell you that my family gave it thumbs up all over the place, so it will be made over and over for us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyCookiesCrumble July 25, 2010

This coffee cake is absolutely delicious! It's easy to make and I had all the ingredients in the house. Try this, you will love it:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) June 13, 2010

Ach du lieber my little liebling! This is a wonderful recipe, and reminds me very much of my very own German oma! This goes together SO easily, and the taste is a perfect breakfast on a Saturday morning. I didn't change a thing (it's perfect as is!), okay I changed one LITTLE thing (but that doesn't count!). I did add about 2 T of oatmeal to the reserved topping, only because that's the way Gramma made it. *ZWT 6 for The Ya Ya Cookerhood*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber June 03, 2010

omg this was fantastic! I found it easy and delicious, used splenda instead of the sugar so it made a smaller cake but still worked well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba June 02, 2010
Cinnamon Coffee Cake - Kaffeekuchen