13 Reviews

Hi, just made this cake for a group event. Upped the applesauce to 1 cup, used half light brown and white sugars, added cinnamon, baked in a Bundt pan for 50 minutes at 350 degrees. Rave reviews, none left, perfect w/coffee, tea or milk. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eyelov2cook June 12, 2012

Very easy & very tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeff58 January 11, 2010

Made this as is on Easter, 2008 to go with Dark Chocolate Ice Cream (#27086)--needed something to somewhat tone down the richness of the ice cream. What a great combination!! Everybody took a copy of this recipe home. I didn't use the glaze as we were serving ice cream--glaze would add that little of sweetness. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sodak1951 March 23, 2008

I gave this 4 stars. My family loved this coffee cake we had it for part of my family's Sunday big breakfast. I even messed up slightly by using 1 cup of applesauce and it still turned out so good. We will have this again. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut October 14, 2007

This is one of my DH favorite coffee cakes. He has a few of them!! He just loves coffee cakes. I add 1/2 to 1 tsp of ground cinnamon to the batter to give it more of a cinnamon taste (we love cinnamon)!! This is a very easy and wonderful cake. Thanks for posting this recipe!1

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki Kate May 24, 2007

This simple recipe is one of the best coffee cake recipes you can find.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmouser2 September 24, 2006

Very good cake, & really easy to put together. I did make a couple of adjustments (due to DH's dietary restrictions & personal preference): substituted 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 c of the butter, and replaced the sugar with granulated Splenda. I didn't use the nuts, as DH can't have them right now - but I will try the recipe again with nuts when he can. I also made a glaze with Splenda using 1-1/2 cups with about a tablespoon of skim milk, added a little vanilla and a sprinkle of cinnamon. The cake is really good as an afternoon snack with a hot cup of tea. Thanks for posting! -M =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert February 12, 2006

Yummy! Quick moist cake makes an easy dessert or after school snack. Lots of cinnamon flavor, great for Fall. We all loved it! Thanks, yooper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama August 24, 2005

This was very easy to make and very tasty. I liked the fact that is was not to crumbly (easy for kids to eat). I also increased the applesauce by 1/4 C and added the above recommended 1 C of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simple cook April 26, 2005

We weren't happy with this cake. It lacked flavor. I made it according to the directions using the pecans. I toasted them first. I think some ginger or nutmeg or even cardamom would perk this up a bit. Even with the cinnamon chips I think it needed something else.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge January 17, 2004
Cinnamon Chip Applesauce Coffee Cake