13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The ingredients say cinnamon (bark)Wrong!!! It should say (Chips)Sorry !!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 18, 2003

I had these cookies in a gift basket and was blown away. I got the recipe and began to make them when my mixer died (don't ever buy a Kitchenaid) and I forgot to put the egg in. I didn't discover it until after I put the first batch in the oven. Well I went ahead and baked them. I was expecting them to fall apart but they didn't and still tasted wonderful. I did have to cook them quite a bit longer, by an extra 2-4 minutes.

Next time I will make them correctly and see how much differently they taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsomniak6 December 16, 2010

Yum! I didn't have any problems with these cookies and everyone thought they tasted great. I did leave out the raisins though (personal preference). I will definitely make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hwright4 October 27, 2010

I was disappointed I didn't like this recipe more. It has all the ingredients that it should for me to like it. The cookies were too sweet for me. I also halved the amount of cinnamon baking chips and thought the amount was adquate. I substituted walnuts for the raisins as my DH doesn't like the raisins. They took 12 minutes to bake rather than 10 (most of the time the times for recipes are right on). They spread ALOT. Even after refrigerating the dough for 24 hours. They also got really soft in the cookie tin. I can't imagine adding some glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NM Patricia April 03, 2009

i made three small changes based on reviews and past experience. First i mixed in the oats with my eletric mixer, to help break them up a bit to improve the texture (or at least to how we like oatmeal cookies) and i also instead of doubleing the other ingredients i just halved the amount of cinnamon chips - a wise choise because even with half they were very cinnamony. I also skipped the raisins because we dont like them. It only took one granny smith apple for me to get alittle over the cup, a tip for anyone making these is to be sure to try and cut the apples into smaller peices so it mixes in better. This would be a gaurenteed 5 stars except for the amount of chips it calls for, i dont think i could even try to eat something with that much cinnamon, but otherwise this is a great recipe that will be one of the only "healthier" cookies on my trays lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle December 23, 2007

I made these for tthe second time last night. I have never been able to find cinnamon chips so I have either used caramel/chocolate swirl or peanut butter/chocolate swirl chips. I also used sultanas and 1/2 cup walnut pieces. These are the perfect fall cookie! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pixie's Kitchen October 09, 2007

Very tasty! Mine were a litte overpowering due to the amount of chips but still very good. Also they had a tendency to fall apart: i think next time I'll increase everything by 50% except maybe the cinnamon chips. Thanks for an enjoyable recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P September 12, 2007

I received these in a cookie swap and they were a delightful surprise! I typically like cinnamon, but not excessively, but for some reason the combination of ingredients in this cookie really wowed me!! The cinnamon chips add a very rich flavor!! The wonderful person who made these for me didn't use raisins, so left them out of half the batch & used craisins in the other half. All very good!! I found them highly addictive and am so glad I have the recipe so I can make more!! :) Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TnuSami January 14, 2007

These were good. I liked the texture. I used a Jonagold apple, and it maintained it's shape and texture well. Next time I make them, I will only use half a bag of cinnamon chips and cut back on the sugar. The overall recipe was a little too sweet for me. I also substituted milk for the apple juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purpleturtle December 19, 2006

Excellent recipe. I took an earlier reviewers advise and doubled the recipe except for the cinnamon chips but I also used 2.5 Cups of raisins in the double batch and these were delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jen #1 December 10, 2006
Cinnamon Chip Apple Cookies