18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really easy, fantastic aroma and great taste. Update to my review, I have just made this cake again, and used up some buttermilk instead of sour cream - terrific. Also sprinkled some walnuts in middle layer of cinamon. Yumm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie February 26, 2003

YUM! I added some ground nutmeg (maybe 1/2 tsp) and a tinge of ground cloves (maybe 1/8 - 1/4 tsp) as well. I didn't use paper; I baked in a ceramic loaf pan & it took a full hour to cook. Very tasty!!! I might add nuts and/or cranberries next time, just to see. This turned out fairly sweet, so I personally wouldn't add anything sweet like choc chips. Cut off the bottom (so I can take the pretty loaf to work) and ate it with butter...MMMMMM!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty G June 28, 2011

This recipe is really yummy! I love, kids love it, and it is so easy to whip up. However, I think cinnamon cake is a better description. So good though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahAJackson August 12, 2010

Very easy to make. It's more a coffee cake consistency than slicing bread but good flavor. I baked it for 55 minutes and the bottom was ever so slightly singed but I didn't use wax or parchment paper so that may have been the cause. Would make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsune February 25, 2009

I made these in mini loaf pans (makes 4) and gave them as gifts last year for Christmas. They were requested again this year, so this time I made one extra so I could try it for myself. It was very good. I used buttermilk instead of sour milk and added a half teaspoon of cinnamon. You will want to be sure to mix the sugar with the shortening before adding the eggs, milk, and vanilla. And, the dry ingredients should be added after everything else is combined. In a 9x5 loaf pan it took about 55 minutes. The mini loaf pans were done a little sooner. Also, I never use wax paper when baking. Parchment paper is a much better choice, but I didn't even use that with this recipe. I just sprayed the pan with vegetable oil instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shwltr78 January 20, 2009

This bread is very tasty. Needed to use some milk that had spoiled and this was a nice selection. It reminded me of a Christmas bread that I used to make. Will make again. Added chopped pecans in the middle as suggested by one reviewer and decorated the top with half pecans. Fast and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pha August 07, 2008

This is the first cinnamon bread I've ever made and I must say for a beginner like me this is very easy and delicious too.. thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lan2 June 26, 2008

Delicious, easy to make and uses ingredients we always have around...can't beat that! Thanks for posting. I love it! Added pecans and a bit more cinnamon and it took about 55 minutes in my oven. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 April 24, 2008

Delicious and easy bread recipe. Only things I will do differently next time would be to use more brown sugar and cinnamon, and swirl the first layer before adding the second layer. Awesome bread recipe. Definitely recommend it. A+

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetHeartTaurus February 20, 2008

I have been making this cinnamon loaf for years, often sub sour cream for the milk. It is a great recipe with a nice flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada January 31, 2008
Cinnamon Bread