10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The minute I set my eyes upon this recipe, I knew I had to give it a try and so glad I did! They are fantastic! I'm going to serve them an hour from now with our evening pot of hot tea and I can predict, everyone's going to ask for another batch! The only little thing I didn't have was cinnamon-sugar, and I substituted it with light brown sugar, worked well! These indeed look like they've come straight out of a gourmet bakery! Thanks so much, Inez, for sharing the recipe.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani August 05, 2002

Oh MizzNezz these are sinful! I made them for a brunch meeting and served alongside fresh fruit. They were so quick to whip up, smelled great while baking, and looked beautiful out of the oven. I'd never made a drop biscuit before and I love the irregular shapes. Thanks for a recipe I'll use again and again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama March 15, 2003

These were amazing! I doubled the cinnamon because I really like it, but other than that followed exactly. So good (and so easy!), I had to make them again the next day! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jakitcfw February 21, 2004

Sorry, but this did not turn out for me. I followed the recipe exactly, and the biscuits turned out very bland. They did not have a biscuit texture, either. Thanks anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eclairekat June 22, 2008

I found this recipe today and made it about 10 minutes later! These are the first biscuits I have ever made and they turned out great. I may make them just a bit sweeter next time but that is the only thing I would change. I got 8 large biscuits so they had to cook for about 16 minutes. I ate mine with the leftover melted butter and raspberry jam. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
un petit chou April 25, 2008

I had noted this recipe in an old TOH Cookbook from 1998 and have been meaning to make it. When I saw your recipe posted here and just had to bake them for an afternoon snack. Delicious, moist, cinnamony (my fav spice) - just fabulous! Tagged in the Flour Challenge Photo Tag April 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom April 06, 2008

These are just EXCELLENT! My Thursday morning church group LOVED them! Because these gals love their sweets, I did take some liberties...added more sugar ( 3 Tbsp.) increased the cinnamon to about 2/3 tsp., tossed in 1/2 cup of raisins, and replaced all the milk with buttermilk (plus 1/2 tsp. baking soda added to the dry ingredients). Because I made them larger than the recipe called for, they took a minute or two longer in the oven; the finished batch produced 8 huge "Cinnamon Drop Scones." Had to promise to make them again real soon!...Thanks, Grammy Bunny

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammy Bunny February 15, 2007

Wow, they don't make enough stars to rate this one! These biscuits were so moist and delicious! A perfect side with breakfast. Relaly appreciate this recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krystal-Belle September 06, 2006

I made this with homemade cream cheese frosting. Really good thanks!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Bean November 22, 2005

These had a good flavor, but I think next time i will modify the recipe a bit, use half crisco for half of the butter and a bit less milk and roll them out and cut enstead of drop. Otherwise, very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelfan September 17, 2002
Cinnamon Biscuits