40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOWZA! My family has a tradition of eating cinnamon rolls on Christmas morning. This year, my grandmother (who is gluten-intolerant) was visiting, so I searched for a gluten-free recipe, and I'm so glad I decided to use this one! Like Ames0325, I also used a gluten-free flour mix instead of the cornstarch, potato starch, and millet flour, and they are DELICIOUS! Pillsbury's got nothing on these! Thanks for a great recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iPlayFlonkerton January 09, 2012

I just made these and they are soooo good! I cannot tell they are GF. I also made them Dairy free using almond milk, egg replacer and vegan butter even with all the changes they proofed beautifully and tasted yummy (even at high altitude). I am going to try other flour besides millet and see if the results are the same very soon. THANKS for posting.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe January 19, 2010

very good easy cinnamon roll. I did use a GF all purpose flour mix instead of the various flours listed and it turned out wonderful.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ames0325 May 16, 2010

Six hours later, I still can't get over how delicious these cinnamon rolls were. I had given up finding a suitable gluten-free cinnamon roll for Sunday breakfast when I thought I'd try again. I followed it as well as possible and I'm sure it took less than an hour to prepare. I made them last night and put them in the refrigerator until this morning then baked them as per the instructions. The pan I used was too small (6.5 x 10 inch) there was no breathing room; I'm sure they will be even better next Sunday when I will use an 8.5 x 12 inch pan. I made just a little frosting which made them even better but my husband preferred them plain, he thought they were too messy frosted. Either way, they are absolutely the best! Thanks for posting and I look forward to trying some of your other recipes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yankiwi May 16, 2010

I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! Amazing! I only used about 3/4c of brown sugar and about 4 TB of butter for the filling. And made a 1/2 batch of the frosting and it made enough for the whole batch. I also used buckwheat instead of millet and cocconut flour for the dusting. A good tip for cutting cinnamon rolls is by using a piece of thread, slide it under the log cross each side of thread at the top and pull. A perfect cut.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glutenfreekids January 21, 2010

These are hands down the best cinnamon rolls I have ever eaten. Nobody knew they were gluten free!! I even made a double batch without a single problem. I used a combo of brown rice flour, potato starch, tapioca flour, and sweet rice flour. Putting the cinnamon sugar mixture on the bottom of the pan was a great suggestion. And, they looked beautiful!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicarae1060 August 09, 2012

I just made these and I found that the amount of filling was right--Cinnabon rolls have a tremendous amount of cinnamon filling. Also, I turned the dough out onto a well floured sheet of parchment, but rather than covering with another piece of parchment, I sprinkled a little GF flour on the dough and my hand and pressed the dough out, using my other hand to maintain a square edge. As I don't care for a lot of icing I made 1/4 of the recipe and just drizzled over the rolls while hot. Also, since there WAS a lot of filling in these, I greased my pan then put a sqare of parchment in the bottom and greased it again. This helped tremendously with keeping the melted filling on the bottom from sticking to the pan. Terrific rolls! Thanks for the recipe Andrew!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Entree vous 1456 September 27, 2011

I just made these today. They were...time consuming, the dough was very difficult to work with, and they didn't look very pretty when they were done.......and I hope they are exactly the same every time I make them because these were THE BEST homemade cinnamon rolls I have ever had!! And it wasn't just because the frosting was to die for either! I took a couple bites with no frosting, and in no way can you tell these are gluten free! This will always and forever be my go-to recipe for cinnamon rolls! I love the idea others have of using this dough for rolls and croisants and I will definately be trying that!! Thank you soo much for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jammieg March 13, 2011

What a treat! If you didn't know these were gluten free, you couldn't tell from eating them. We also liked the way the extra cinnamon/sugar mixture in the bottom of the pan made a nice slightly chewy bottom crust. I'll be making these again! And again! And again! ...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Max's Grandma July 31, 2010

Great Recipe! I served these to my family at Christmas Day Brunch and they were very well-received. People could not believe they were gluten free. I used the buckwheat flour and the result was absolutely delicious. As another reviewer mentioned, the basic dough would be great for another roll or sweet bread. I am going to make Monkey Bread with the dough next time. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmvelleux January 08, 2010
Cinnabon-Ish Cinnamon Rolls (Gluten-Free)