48 Reviews

These are absolutely delicious! I make the cinnamon rolls using the exact ingredients described. The prep variations are: After I cut the rolls, I put onto a greased 9 x 13 Casserole dish. I allow to rise for thirty minutes on the counter and then put in the fridge overnight so they're ready for breakfast. In the morning, I take out and set on the counter for 30-45 minutes for them to come to room temp and rise a little more. I baked for 17 minutes. As soon as they come out, (as other reviewers suggested) I flip the dish over onto a cookie sheet that I have covered with parchment paper (the cinnamon stuff is a ooey gooey mess!!). Let sit for 5 minutes, then flip back over and ice. Oh, and as another reviewer suggested, I beat the cream cheese, butter, and conf. sugar for 12 minutes while the rolls are baking. These are absolutely gorgeous, delicious, and makes you look like a super star in the kitchen! Well worth the time!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal April 29, 2012

Yummy recipe! We loved the taste of the rolls. Definately a keeper! I made these a few times and found that the key to these are as soon as you take them out of the oven you need to flip the pan over which allows all of the filling drippings to recoat the rolls. This prevents the filling from running out of the rolls. Also, the key to the frosting is whipping the butter, cream cheese and powder suger for at least 12 minutes, then at the end add the extracts. It sounds like a lot but it is well worth it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sexymommalucas July 06, 2008

A tip for the problem of the filling running out the bottom of the rolls--flip the pan over after removing it from the oven onto a lined cookie sheet. Whatever ran out should run back over the rolls. I think I saw this tip given for another cinnamon rolls recipe here on the site. I think its how they prepare them at the Cinnabon chain as well. I like mine with pecans.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 April 08, 2007

I became so enamored with this recipe that I made it again and again. Mostly, I don't make the icing, though.

I guess I bragged about the results exuberantly -- today one of our local librarians asked me for the recipe!

I have made up extras of this, frozen the rolls in their baking pan, let the pan thaw overnight, then baked the rolls for breakfast. I think I'll do that for Christmas this year.

Yes, definitely 5 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jora November 27, 2010

This is the best thing I bake I believe. I make a different icing that is not cream cheese, but this dough/filling recipe is to die for. I use the butter, brown sugar and cinnamon only for the filling. Microwave it for 10 seconds to make your life easier for mixing it. Then spread all of it together...it's easier! I also make it in a 9x13 pan rather than a cookie sheet...easier to manage too. Definitely make this - it is actually easier than you think! You will be a star with all your friends and family....best served warm out of the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sharona April 12, 2010

Fantastic! I "press" the dough into shape rather than rolling it (makes a more tender roll because the gluten is less developed). I blend the sugar, cinnamon and butter together for the filling, and spread it on the dough with a 1" margin on one long side. I find it easier then to make a tight seam. To brighten the cinnamon flavor, add 1 Tablespoon of natural cinnamon extract to the filling (cinnamon extract used to make homemade candies). I also add about 1-2 tsp lemon juice to the frosting to accent the tang of the cream cheese (frosting should not taste overtly lemon-y). My family loves these cinnamon rolls!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine K. October 29, 2009

I've tried several cinnamon roll recipes lately & I loved using the bread machine. I made as stated except left out the raisins & the entire family inhaled them! I did whip the topping for a min. of 12 minutes as sexymommalucas suggested, it was so light and creamy and well worth a little extra time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antifreesz July 10, 2008

These are heavenly! I loved the taste, the texture and the recipe. I literally ate the leftover frosting out of the bowl it was so good. The only diffence I made was I used a whole box of butterscotch pudding ( I thought it was vanilla) so the dough was a caramel color) and it was fantastic! Thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies February 07, 2008

these are PERFECT! I couldn't find my cookie sheet, so I made them in a 13x9 pan. Don't do that! (lol) the middle buns didnt get as cooked as the outer ones, dut the amount of butter in the brown sugar mix. (my fault, not yours) GOOD STUFF will make over and over and over...well, you get the idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanunanu March 29, 2004

VERY good and VERY easy. The frosting recipe makes a lot, we will probably cut it almost in half from now on. Otherwise this is a perfect recipe, awesome flavor, golden on the outside a soft on the inside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MGChristian December 29, 2013
Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls for the ABM