Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cincinnati Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cincinnati Chili

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2011

      very yummy. tastes similar to the real thing. Instead of just water, I used mostly beef broth with just some water. I added 2 lbs of ground sirloin too. I also added a small can of tomato sauce along with the tomato paste. I also added 2 tbsp of baking cocoa. Its gotta have cocoa. I added 2 tsp of cinnamon and 2 tsp allspice. also added extra clove and crushed red pepper too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      Of the dozens and dozens of recipes out there for this chili, someone finally got it right! It was as if I was back in Cinci having a meal at skyline. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      OMG! This was fantastic! We live in Cincinnati and my DH thought it was better than the chili we get at Gold Star or Skyline. Now, we won't get Cincinnati Chili at a take out, we will make it instead. This was an easy recipe and one I will be making very often. Thanks so much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      I have 2 recipes for Skyline - this one was good, but I think the spices were a little off. HOWEVER, the method is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Delicious. I love the flavor the Worcestershire sauce, cinnamon, and allspice add.I did make this in the Crockpot and it was still a very thick hearty chili. I did not add spaghetti but may next time. Also, I added 28 oz of crushed tomatoes instead of a small can of tomato paste. Thanks for sharing pattiKay!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I thought there was a little to much vinegar in this one. I'm not sure how to cut that taste. I would try it again but cut done on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      I love Cincinnati Chili and this is the only recipe I've tried, but it was delicious!!! The spices are just right. I've made it twice now and enjoyed the leftovers for days. I top with onions and shredded cheese. Definitely try this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I've never had Cincinnati chili before but thought this was awesome. Initially you get a hint of the cinnamon and all spice and then the subtle heat sneaks up on you. I let it simmer for about a half hour longer than directed because I like a thicker chili and it was still a bit soupy after the 45 minutes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This was a different, yet tasty version of chili spaghetti - My DH went back for 4ths!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Amazingly good. I made this with 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef ( that was the package which i defrosted), 1 can red kidney beans, 1 can northern beans ( all i had), dried onion ( ran out of fresh)---I cooked this all for about 2 hours until it was all cooked down and thick--served this with pasta and cheddar and dinner rolls. Awesome and delish recipe. Thanks for the great recipe- a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Great, my wife and kids loved it. I spent five years in Cincinnati and have been telling my family about it for years. I finally made it with this recipe. Had no tomato paste so I used a bit of spaghetti sauce from a jar. Tasted great but a bit to liquidey, stick with the paste. Also cut back on the spices to satisfy my nine year old. ENJOY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Pattikay, what a great recipe! We really enjoyed it. We used half pinto beans and half kidney beans. I was worried about it being too spicy, so I halved the allspice, cumin, cinnamon and crushed red pepper flakes. I was also worried about cooking the ground meat in the water, but it turned out just right. Thanks for posting! Made for Potluck Tag, please see my rating system.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      We had never had Cincinnati Chili before. I made the recipe exactly as written. I must admit I never put cinnamon or allspice in my chili and was a bit skeptic about doing so but I stuck to the recipe and we all really enjoyed it. My eight year old wanted to know why anyone would want to put chili on their spaghetti though :) But once he started eating it, he didn't ask anymore questions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I had always wanted to try chili, the Cincinnati way. I was completley thrown off by crumbling the raw ground beef into the water...but I figured it was for a good 'cause. It didn't smell good to start with..just for others to know. But the end results were well worth it. I found this chili to be easy to make, and packed with flavor. I will make it again because it is so easy and my kids liked it. In the future I probably will add more chili powder and cumin and play down the allspice and cinnamon. This was a great easy dinner for kids that claimed they were "starving"! Thanks..this was made for ZWT 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Great recipe to make with many ingredients that I usually always have on hand. We really enjoyed this and I will make it again. Made for ZWT3 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      I purchased ingredients to make a differernt recipe for Cincinnati Chili, and when I opened the the recipe today I noticed it had to cook for over two hours; it was already 4:30. I searched and found this one and prepared it instead. I only had pinto beans on hand, and they worked great. Great reviews from my family and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      I was very curious to try this to see how it compared to my mom's recipe which is similar in ingredients but differing in amounts. This was different but just as good. As any Cinci chili I've had was very thick, and other reviewers mentioned extra liquid, I reduced the water by about 3/4 cup and simmered the chili for an extra 1 1/2 hours - came out perfectly. I reduced the salt to 1 _tsp_ and the crushed red pepper to 1/2 tsp. This is excellent on pasta but I also plan to try it as a chili sandwich (my favorite use for Cinci chili!) - chili, mustard, onion, & lots of cheese. Thanks for the recipe pattikay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This was a surprise!! I make chili regularly but this was my first time making it without browning the meat before - it came out quite tasty! Never had chili on pasta either - but since the sauce was a bit liquid, I added some cornstarch to thicken it a bit and served it on pasta. Thanks pattikay - this was a very good chili!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Awesome Chili! This was totally devoured and loved by all. The cinnamon really shines in this dish. I added some leftover steak and meat from one sausage casing along with a jalapeño pepper, other then that I followed the recipe and also added the green pepper as you suggested. Lovely flavors!!! I boiled the meat as you suggested and then put everything in the crock pot on low for about 6 hours... it was DELICIOUS! Served this with Provolone Corn Loaf. Thanks pattikay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Great recipe! I made this for frito pies the other night. I used ground turkey and backed the salt down a little bit. Other than that followed the recipe exactly. I liked the consistancy it had from crumbling the meat into the water, worked great for the frito pies. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cincinnati Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.3
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    35%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1908.4 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 23.2 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes