10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't believe no one has tried this yet..We had this on New Years Day. I know, not very traditional but I'm glad we did. This was delicious! I will save this recipe for Summer meals though because it is so light and refreshing. I used the shrimp broth instead of the clam juice. I forgot to add the lime juice at the end of cooking, so we just squeezed it on our individual servings. Served it over rice.This is a good one to include in a Mexican themed meal. But it actually only served 2..We went back for seconds!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ronamay January 27, 2004

delicious recipe, i used gluten free flour for the roux and served with homemade gluten free bread, quinoa and green salad

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs February 10, 2013

Yummm, over white rice, and looks pretty too! Added 1/2 a red pepper. Don't be afraid to add water to get the sauce the consistancy that you want.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjzukoff October 23, 2008

DH and I had this for lunch today. It was a nice, easy to prepare dish. I used 2 jalapenos unseeded, as well as the tabasco sauce. I thought it had plenty of heat. However, I would have liked it if the taste of the cilantro and lime came through a bit more. I agree with TeresaS's idea about adding some more chopped cilantro over the finished dish. I served this over angel hair pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 19, 2008

I really liked the idea of this recipe. But there's was way too much butter in this for me :) It was a good dish but I don't think I would make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eillena February 16, 2007

I've been "eyeing" this recipe for a while. I finally made it. Used shrimp stock/clam juice and added a can of baby clams. Really tasty! Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diest December 12, 2006

This was really good! DH an I both thought it needed a little more heat. Not only did we add the Tabasco sauce we felt it still was not hot enough so we sprinkled some hot chili flakes on it. This was a quick and easy dish to prepare. I served it over angel hair pasta. This is a dish I plan to make again and again. Next time I plan to top it with some more chopped cilantro. I just love that stuff. Thanks PanNan for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas September 17, 2006

Thanks PanNan for such a wonderful recipe. WOW what flavor this has.My DH and I loved it!!! It was very easy to make.I served it over rice.I also used 1 1/2 pounds shrimp. Next time I make this I will double the recipe.....My DH wanted more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi C. September 11, 2006

Excellent - exactly what I was looking for! Very easy to follow and fabulous flavor. I used clam juice and 1 good sized jalepeno. Next time I might try to add a little parmesan at the end, as another reviewer had suggested, but it certainly doesn't need it. I served this over basmati rice and with a nice crisp green salad. Will definitely make this again - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeJunkie January 23, 2006

Very light, fast and easy meal for a very hot day! It was in the mid 90's here today and I just could not bring myself to use an oven! I put it over rice and added a little queso cotija on top. It is like parmesan. Next time I make this I will experiment adding more garlic and veggies like seeded tomatoes, bell pepper, muchrooms, etc,.... This was so wonderful! Thanks PanNan for another awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) October 05, 2005
Cilantro Shrimp