Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cilantro Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cilantro Rice

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2002

      Fragrant and delightful, I found this rice to be a great change of pace from the usual tomatoey-gunky Spanish rice one comes to expect when having a Southwestern or Mexican meal. I found I didn't require the called for amount of olive oil, as I just sprayed the pan with olive oil spray and made do, as a low-fat alternative. Also, when the rice was finished, it was slighty wet, which may have been due to the type rice I used, but in any case, I remedied it by placing a clean towel between the lid of the pan and securing tightly and allowing it to rest for 10-15 minutes while the towel absorbed the excess moisture. At that point the rice was light and fluffy as could be! :) Great rice recipe, Izzy, it went well with chicken fajitas and my sizzling chile garden salsa...my husband just loves this- and I'm sure I'll make this often to get on his good side! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      UPDATE: This is a staple in our house - make it all the time. Always use all chicken stock - no water - better that way! Also add in a variety of other peppers (fresh green chile's etc.) and always use the larger can of roasted green peppers. LOVE IT!!! PS... 2 C rice makes enough for a large crowd. Cut down if small family..... PREV: Made this with Basmati rice and it was really really good! Served it for dinner with good friends. The wife saw my leftovers and asked to take some home! That's how good it was!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Tried this recipe awhile ago and it was as fabulous then as it is now, I entered a cook off competition this past weekend with this recipe complimented with "Fabulous Oxtail" recipe and took 1st place, thank you to Izzy Knight for posting this great recipe. I used Basmati Rice and omitted the Chillies. 10/10 Superb recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      A little disappointed after reading all the rave reviews. I left out the chiles as I thought some family members may not like them, and I was probably a little short on the cilantro, but didn't find this spicy at all. In fact if I were to make this again, I would half the rice and leave the seasonings the same(maybe even more cilantro) and just use the can of broth with no added water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      Delicious--much better than "Spanish" rice. I used white rice and omitted the jalapeno (just what I had on hand); it turned out very well. Made a great dinner with black beans seasoned w/ cumin and homemade salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Best Cilantro rice I've ever had! Great, full flavor went perfectly with Barbacoa. I skipped the jalapeno and it was perfectly spiced. Thank you so much for an awesome rice recipe that I will use again and again!!! UPDATE: I made this with Gingery Chickpeas in Spicy Tomato Sauce and it was FAbulous! Great flavors and wonderful for a meatless meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Holy Moly I made this rice SPICY!!! I used two good sized jalapenos instead of the chilies. Almost too spicy and I love spicy food! This had great flavor. I really enjoyed making my own flavored rice instead of buying the boxed rice. This is a keeper! It made a lot of rice too, next time I need to half it. We ate this with fish tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I was looking for a simple side dish and this was it! This rice was really good! I didn't have green chilies, but I can't wait to make it again with them. I know I'll be making this rice often. I love cilantro. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I found this when I was looking for something to go with Caribbean Jerk Chicken. I definitely found the perfect match! I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family LOVED it. Thank you for this yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

    • on August 24, 2009

      Loved it! Made it with chicken enchiladas with green sauce. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Perfectly paired with Southwestern Chicken. My Partner LOVES cilantro, and stamped it KEEPER. Thanks Izzy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      This was perfect for the Cilantro Lime Chicken I made! It was excellent, although I took everyone's suggestion and left the green chilies out. It was spicy enough with the jalepeno! The only change I made was I added some lime juice with the chicken broth so the flavor cooked into the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      I'm so glad I tried this. It went great with the fish tacos I made. It's a nice change to the same old spanish rice. The flavor was great. I omitted the chilies because I didn't have any, but it was still great. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This rice was really good! The only thing I didn't do was add green chilies because I was out. I also squeezed some lime juice over the cooked rice. I served this on the side too but mainly made it to use as a filler for Oven-Fried Chicken Chimichangas to stretch my chicken some. The flavors melded nicely. Thanks for sharing, I'd make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I was looking for something different and this rice turned out excellent. I also added a little fresh lime juice to the rice for some added flavor. Thanks Izzy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Great recipe for rice. We had it with tacos and black beans and it was wonderful. I omitted the jalepenos and chiles because we have some picky eaters in the family, but it was a nice, flavorful change to the usual mexi-rice. We loved it. I used Basmati rice, which was lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      WOW. This rice is fabulous. Thanks for a great side dish. Jalapenos are banished from California grocery stores at the moment so I used two Anaheim peppers. Also have frozen half the recipe for a later dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This is so yummy! We are still eating on it as leftovers. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      We really liked this dish. We served it with recipe 36634 - Southwest Chicken with Chipolte Sauce and it was the perfect compliment, not too spicy but still full of flavour. I did double the garlic but otherwise kept everything else the same. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cilantro Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.8
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    15%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 201.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-sodium fat-free chicken broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites