Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cilantro Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cilantro Pesto

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2008

      Thank you for this easy and quick! recipe. I love it! Tonight, I got the pasta boiling before I started to wash the cilantro and assemble my ingredients. By the time the pasta was done, the pesto was a perfect paste, and the whole thing was on the table in under 20 minutes. Just as a side note, I added some baby carrots and sliced turkey kielbasa to the boiling water with my pasta, and tossed it all together with the pesto after draining. It was delish! I also made an alternate version with half cup of thai basil and half cilantro, using 2 tblsp of sesame oil instead of olive and that was very tasty as well! I used the almonds each time, and 4 cloves of garlic instead of three. This recipe is a keeper, and very versatile. I even added a dollop of plain yogurt tonight to make it a little creamy and it was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      This is a wonderful variation on pesto. Preparing for a big event at church, the cilantro was missing. Someone went out and got more. Then it was found. I quadrupled this recipe and froze in in cubes for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      We loved this! I had planned on making the basil pesto, but cilantro was all I had on hand. This recipe came up after a quick search. Glad I tried it! I did not have almonds, so I used what I had which was unsalted macadamia nuts. Tasted wonderful. Added alitlte extra olive oil since my blender would not puree it until I added more. I'd say about a tablespoon more oilive oil. We'll be making this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      This is a thick delicious pesto! Don't triple recipe for a blender because it's too much as I learned. Also the "canned" grated Parmesan is salty enough so next time I won't add any salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This is so good I made it 3 times. First tossed with pasta, then put on Italian bread slices and then added to quesadillas oh and what was left went on the pizza. Thank you for a keeper, it's in my favorite recipe book now. I didn't change a thing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      I have similar recipe but it adds 1/2 bunch of fresh spinach and it uses walnuts instead of almonds. It's all good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      I haven't made this particular recipe myself, but I often use one that's very similar (but dairy-free) as a topping for black bean chili. Even my self-described cilantro-hating friends gobble it down.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      Awesome! I used 6 garlic scapes instead of 6 garlic cloves (they were on hand in my garden). I also added about a tablespoon more of olive oil so my blender could purée this wonderful concoction.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      This is really great stuff here. I'm going to take to the potluck on labor Day. THanks for posting your recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Yum! Used pecans because I did not have almonds. I am about to put it on top of a tostada and can't wait. It tastes so good on it's own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Wow! We are big cilantro lovers and this recipe did not disappoint. The only thing I changed was using pine nuts instead of almonds, because they are what I had on hand. I can't wait to make huge batches for freezing once my herb garden is overflowing with cilantro. Thanks Dragonshoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I found this pretty bland until I added about 2 1/2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice - it really picked it up, and made all the difference. I used about 1/3 cup walnuts instead of almonds, a little more than 1/4 cup parmesan (I used Parmigiano Reggiano), and a touch more oil. Love it with the lemon juice, and will use it from now on. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Made this for last night's Halloween party. It's a keeper and I have it on my holiday list of recipes I must make. I do a lot of entertaining and I know the guests will enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      We love this pesto. It's a refreshing, not to mention cheaper, alternative to basil pesto, and the flavor is wonderful. The possibilities with it seem endless, too. Fantastic, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      Quick and easy. A good way to use a leftover bunch of cilantro. I like it with elbow pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      This rocks big time. I spread on Italian bread and tossed with pasta. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      Great flavor! It tastes good on pasta, sandwiches, and with any grain (I mixed it with quinoa...yummy!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

    • on June 17, 2005

      This was wonderful, I didn't have all the almonds they called for so I used 1/2 pine nuts and 1/2 almonds, I love the flavor much better than the usual basil and what a delightful green color it was. Thank yiou for a true keeper in my files.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      This was delightful! Hubby & I love cilantro and this did not disappoint. We'll definitely be making this again sometime soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cilantro Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.8
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    86%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 5.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 447.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites