42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of the few recipes that calls for cooked rice and is an awesome way to use leftovers. I used the white and brown rice from my previous chinese dinner and made it into this for my burritos. Chinese to mexican in 5 minutes. I never throw away leftovers so I'm always looking for ways to change them into something new. I added this to my burritos. I still have a little leftover. I plan on adding it to the chicken tortilla soup I made just before serving. The lime and cilantro are supposed to garnishes anyway. As you can see...I LOVE THIS IDEA and we do not waste food :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk January 24, 2010

This is my preferred way of making rice, although I use brown rice. What's great about this recipe is that it goes great with Latin American AND Asian foods! It's especially good with any bean dish you may have, or inside a burrito. What are you waiting for? Make it- you won't be able to get enough :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer September 17, 2012

What a versatile, flavorful rice! I'm not usually a huge fan of rice, but this really adds a lot of flavor to anything from mexican to chinese dishes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tee Lee September 20, 2009

Excellent! Agree with the other rave reviews. Would add that I make a little extra and freeze it for a later meal. Works best with long grain brown rice. Also added some leftover diced sauteed mushrooms, onion, and shreded carrot when heating up the next day to make a tasty veggie pilaf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthworthcookie February 09, 2009

This was extremely easy to make and had just the right amount of lime flavor. I made it with white rice but I'll try brown next time and see how it turns out. I made it along side Lemon Ginger Salmon (thought the lemon/lime flavors would complement each other) and it was a hit! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook July 15, 2013

Excellent rice! This is a great side dish for mexican food. We even liked it served cold with chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef de Sucre June 19, 2012

Fantastic rice. Made as written and served with a spicy prawn (shrimp) dish and salad. Love this and will make it often. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy May 06, 2012

We made this last night to go with pork carnitas and black beans. It was amazing! The hint of lime was just right. I even added extra cilantro to my bowl! Next I want to try it with brown rice to go with orange chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookOnSunday March 12, 2012

Really good, wanted to find a recipe that mimicked barburrito's rice and this comes close. Enjoyed with spicy chilli sausages.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mattiloy March 12, 2012

I was looking for a cilantro lime rice that was similar to Cafe Rio's. I tried this receipe and almost through it out. It has a shockingly overpowering lime flavor. I let it set for 4 hours and went back it was a little better and was actually edible. I think next time i will cut back on the lime and make it alot earlier so that the lime flavor is tamed a little. .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lwells86 June 27, 2011
Cilantro Lime Rice