25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Superb! Had company over to try out this recipe and we all loved it. Since it was very hot, we grilled the chicken and added it to the recipe at the salsa verde and chicken broth step (#4). I delayed adding the cilantro until the last minute -- wanted to keep the cilantro a bright green color. Also used 16 oz of salsa since it used up the jar -- which just made more of this wonderful sauce. Next time I'll double the tomatoes and add pine nuts for variety.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( July 01, 2002

I made this for dinner last night. Followed the recipe, but I used green tomatillo sauce. It was good, but seemed to be missing a little "zip." Maybe the salsa would work better or an addition of some diced chilies.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP March 15, 2003

Delicious!! Made recipe as printed. Next time going to plan ahead and serve with a side of sour cream and guacamole. Also may try as another cook stated and grill the chicken first. Thanks for posting recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam's Mom April 15, 2010

This recipe reminds me a lot of my homemade chicken verde - but without the 3 hour prep/cook time!. I followed the recipe for the most part, except I didn't cook the chicken through before adding the rest of the ingredients (to which I also added a bit of chopped green chile for heat) then allowed it to simmer for longer than the suggested time. In the end, the sauce was a bit thicker than what is intended, but we enjoyed it very much. Next time, I think I will add some shredded cheddar to the top of each breast before serving and add a side of some warm tortillas. All in all, this is a very good dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah January 11, 2010

Absolutely delicious! A genuinely fantastic recipe, I will add to my cookbook and make again and again. I stumbled across this gem searching for a recipe to use the cilantro from my garden. That was less than two weeks ago, and I've made it twice since then. The first time I didn't have onions, so I added a little extra garlic. The second time I followed the instructions exactly, and also added a small pepper for extra spice. Both times it was delectable! Try it! It will become a quick favorite! Thanks for sharing Denise!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YourCakeIWillTake July 09, 2009

My husband loved this! It had to grow on me. The sauce is very bold! Mine certainly didn't look like the picture. I didn't have any tomatoes. Went along with garlic butter rice and zucchini.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel November 12, 2014

Just made this for the 2nd time. I really liked the kick the first time, but this time it was a little too spicy. Maybe I cut back on the salsa the first time. I used chicken tenders instead of breasts, and I think the suggestion of chopped onion would be better than the sliced.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjoyce1 December 10, 2013

Easy to make and lots of flavor.....we served over rice and really enjoyed this dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay November 04, 2012

Thanks for a great recipe! This chicken was so delicious, and I loved it all the more because it was easy and quick to make. My only changes were to finely dice the onion instead of slice it (to give the sauce a more salsa-like texture), and to use a red restaurant-style salsa instead of salsa verde. Oh, and I also seasoned the raw chicken with creole seasoning salt before I put it in the pan. Turned out so good, seriously. My husband loved it, especially paired with yooper's (Black Bean and Couscous Salad), so much that he said it was one of the best meals I've ever made for him!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mees Mees April 19, 2012

I have had this in My Cookbook forever and finally decided to try it. Unfortunately, we didn't like it as much as other reviewers seemed to. I multiplied the recipe by 1 1/2 and forgot to turn the heat up in the pan to account for the crowding, so I got frustrated. I finally did figure it out in time to get the sauce to cook down some, but I still found it too runny. My chief problem, however, was that I forgot that salsa verde is usually (authentically) very spicy. I guess the green color is deceptive or something. lol I used La Sabrozita salsa verde (a Mexican brand) and it was very good for a bottled salsa. The dish turned out too spicy for several people eating, and even though I enjoy spicy food, the surprise took away from my enjoyment. I didn't find that this had enough wow factor to make it again, even forewarned about the level of heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch February 16, 2011
Cilantro Chicken