Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ciambella Della Nonna – Italian Breakfast Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ciambella Della Nonna – Italian Breakfast Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2011

      Lovely, dense cake. It reminds me very much of the Almond Rusk my Mom made for my Sis and me when we were little. I halved the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan. I used a combination of orange and lemon zest and apricot brandy. Wonderful flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      Easy and delicious. This is a firm and just-sweet-enough cake. I made individual little cakes, so they cooked a bit faster. If you're using the english measurements, be sure to note that the margarine is given in weight ounces, not volume ounces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      This is a delicious and simple breakfast cake. I made it for ZWT #7's trip to Italy. I baked it in a bunt pan and might reduce the cooking time next time to 25 minutes. It is best sliced thinly with a little butter and a sprinkling of sugar. Go team Witchin' Kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      Lovely flavor and texture. I used Amaretto and a combination of fresh lemon and orange zest. It would also be good made with Grand Marnier. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Great breakfast cake!! I made this, but a scaled down version using my mini cake pan (1/4 of the recipe). I used Limoncello as the liqueur along with lemon zest. This gave it a nice, very mellow, flavor to the cake. This isn't an overly sweet cake, so it is necessary to add the sugar to the top of the batter. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      This cake is a winner if only because even with my kitchen disaster, it still came out delicious, if not very pretty. I am using a toaster oven that does not heat evenly at the moment, as my oven is out of commission. The 1.5 l pan I used fit perfectly, but nothing will work out quite right if you get distracted with the soup you are making at the same time. So I had burned crust on this. But I sliced it off and really enjoyed the cake. I forgot to add the liquer, and used only 100 g of butter, which worked out just fine. I did not feel sprinkle with sugar and, again, did not miss it. So I cannot share this with my neighbors, but will just have to eat it all myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      This is a great recipe that my family instantly fell in love with. If you try this in a loaf pan make sure to compensate for time and temperature

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      In a word, DELICIOUS! I used a large orange so had lots of zest (which I like) & used Triple Sec for the liqueur, then followed the recipe right on down! We we thoroughly delighted with this cake, & I don't mind telling everyone that the 2 of us, over a period of several days, had it all to ourselves! An absolute winner of a recipe! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Lovely flavor, but as an inexperienced baker, I must confess that I was confused by the step to sprinkle sugar on the cake before it was baked. My cake had additional loft on the bottom as a result, so I sprinkled some confectioners's sugar on the top after baking. I used my heavy Nordicware Anniversary Bundt pan, so I probably should have reduced the temperature a bit to compensate as my cake was browner than expected. I used Cherry Herring and lemon zest for my cake; the resulting flavors were delightful. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ciambella Della Nonna – Italian Breakfast Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.1
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    33%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 63.1 mg
    21%
    Sodium 189.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon zest

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites