112 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent choice to have with my spaghetti dinner. I will make this many times over for my family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davidthurston1960 February 12, 2010

Thank you for a great bread recipe. I've used it several times and find it better than the same old bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ggmzarek February 04, 2010

I really wish we didn't like this bread because it was time consuming to make!! It was delicious though and worth the effort!! For all the work, I think next time I will double the batch and freeze some. I did exactly as written however, I baked it on the parchment paper which worked out great. Served as an appetizer with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, oregano, garlic and parm cheese dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef rmshill January 16, 2010

My first attempt was really good! You'll get better flavor if you use a well-flavored extra virgin olive oil. I also doubled the oil and sprinkled some on top befoe baking. If your kitchen is cold like mine, turn your oven light on and it provides a draft-free warm place to rise dough. I have also microwaved some water in a pottery bowl, dried it quickly and then put my dough in it so it' nice and warm from the start. Great dipped in EVOO and balsamic vinegar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnpry January 10, 2010

I was a bit sceptical about the lack of yeast in this recipe, but prodded on. Not much of a rise initially, but turned out pretty good. I'm a little surprised at some of the reviewers comments, that the texture was like white bread. I had a wonderful "holey" texture. I used this recipe for Rachael Ray's Tuna Melt Sammie. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama December 29, 2009

All I can say is awesome!!! My family also loves ciabatta bread but the cost was getting out of hand. This is a wonderfully easy recipe with great instructions! I did as another suggested and slipped 2 ice cubes onto the bottom of the oven. The crust was crispy and delicious!! By the time it had cooled off my husband and son had eaten all but just a small piece of it. Thanks for the recipe Lisa I will make this many, many times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef keelo October 10, 2009

I was excited to find this recipe, as our family loves ciabatta bread. I made the recipe exactly as given, but was dissapointed at the result. The loaves looked nice, but did not have the characteristic holes, and the flavor was just like ordinary white bread. Sorry, but I will probably not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 September 27, 2009

My first attempt at Ciabatta and it came out perfect! Make sure you use LOTS of flour on your parchment or it will stick. I cut it into individual panini portions and froze it. It keeps very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane D September 17, 2009

The bread was easy to make and delicious, with the perfect ciabatta hole structure. The only reason it's got 4 stars instead of 5 is that the parchment paper was WELDED on to the bottom of the loaves! I'm picking bits of paper out of my teeth as I eat it. :( Next time, I think I will form the loaves directly on my pizza peel, with plenty of cornmeal down to minimize sticking. Either that, or I will pull out the rack with the stone, flip the parchment over and peel it away, then slide it back in and bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon September 11, 2009

Wonderful!! Easy to make sponge. I found that you didn't have to make the bread 12-24 hours after making it. I made it 3-4 days after making the sponge and it still turned out perfect. Great bread. This is the bread I now make for our day to day eating. When I am in a hurry I don't let it rise 2 times, just once, then bake. Still turns out great! Easiest and best bread recipe to date! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellelconrad August 09, 2009
Ciabatta (Italian Slipper Bread)