Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ciabatta (Italian Slipper Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ciabatta (Italian Slipper Bread)

    Average Rating:

    111 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 111

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2002

      I've used this exact recipe for a long time now. It's the best bread ever! I got the recipe from an old Gourmet magazine. My loaves bake up fine. I spray water on the hot oven floor to make a nice crust on the bread... and if you don't have a stone.. you can go to your local home improvement center and get unglazed quarry tiles to line your oven rack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      This recipe is incredible! I've never made bread from a starter before, but after this experience an entirely new and heady world of breadmaking has been opened to me at last, at long last!! Every hour it took to rise was worth it. I made each loaf differently. The first was just as the recipe stated. The second I worked in a good amount of olive oil into the dimples, sprinkled some fresh oregano & thyme, and grated Parmiagiano-Reggiano (a good amount) on top. The first loaf had an exquisitely soft top- much softer than I had imagined it would be. But its the taste in this bread that is just incredible. Chewy, yeasty, and filled with that 'just-right' amount of crunch on the bottom. The second loaf was harder on the top, and thusly more crunchy throughout, but just as good as the first. There may be a couple of pieces of bread left from last night- but neither my husband nor myself or talkin' about it! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      Lisa, this makes wonderful bread. I just made the batch and I've already eaten 1/4 of a loaf with EV olive oil and sea salt. Thank you very much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      Hey all- Just an additional note...I'll make the recipe again to be sure, but I doubt the dough rises to double it's size. I thought it was just my cold house, but I think it's just the kinda bread it is and the directions are mis-leading. Even though my loaves only came out to be 2 inches high, they were delicious, and very much like the one's from the store (only better:).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      Yummmmmmmy! I made this bread over the weekened and it was excellent. I broke my stone so I used an inverted cast iron skillet. Thanks for a wonderful recipe Lisa Pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      Thank you for posting this recipe. It makes excellent bread with a lovely slightly chewy texture. My colleague at work loved it so much that she almost ate a whole loaf all by herself! I don't have a pizza stone but I baked mine in a convection oven and it turned out perfect. Definately a recipe for keeps!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      This is a really good recipe - easy to make. However if you live in a high altitude location (above 4200 ft) I'd recommend increasing the water in the sponge to 3/4 c. When I made the bread using the recipe my "sponge" came out like a dry, hard mass. I had to add a considerable amount of water to loosen it up (and get it resembling "sponge") before setting it to ferment. Just FYI. One I got it loosened up however, it worked exactly as described in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      S'kat was RIGHT--this is AMAZING bread. EVERYONE was impressed and totally in awe of me when I told them that yes, this was my OWN homemade bread. I don't have a stand mixer so I made it by kneading it by hand. Simply incredible. I served it with pasta and papergoddess's green and black olive tapenade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      I made mine in my bread machine on the dough setting,then flopped it out and surprisingly, it wasn't a big deal to get it all out of the pan. Then I added a little more flour,kneaded it a little,formed the 2 loaves,oiled a cookie sheet and baked them and before they were cold, they were gobbled up by DH and myself! I then found another recipe at an Italian cooking site, made it and it's ready to go to the compost pile! Great recipe Lisa,Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      My husband and I both like the new hamburgers that Jack in the Box has, made with Ciabatta bread so I was hoping maybe this recipe might work. It took me some pinching and adding and I came out with 5 good size buns. While they were raising,it looked like they were`nt going to raise enough to make buns that could be cut in half.After I put them in the oven and they were done, they rose like little pillows!, I was so excited. My husband and I enjoyed the BEST hamburgers!, owing it all to the buns. I decided next weekend when we have everyone over for our combined Birthdays that I`m going to bbq hamburgers with these special homemade buns. I`ll also use this recipe for how it was intended, just great bread! Thanks so much for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      I must say this is by far the BEST Ciabatta bread recipe I have ever tried and it is now my only Ciabatta recipe I will ever use. The texture is wonderful and better than any store bought. I made as written with a couple of adjustments, I used King Arther's All Purpose flour, because I read that 00 Italian flour was used in Ciabatta bread and this flour was a suitable substitute. I also used my mini-loaf pan. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe. Made for the ALL YOU CAN COOK BUFFET - SPECIAL EVENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      Great recipe, and easy. I don't have a stand mixer and did the mixing by hand (no so easy). I'm going to make the sponge again right now because I just realized I can use my cuisinart with the plastic dough blade (which I've never used before) to make this a bit easier on myself! I found the texture great, flavour was a little salty - I might cut back a little on that this time around. Other than that, yummy! My family devoured the bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Very yummy and easy! This was the first time I have ever baked bread so I wasn't sure what it should look like after the first 12 hours. My sponge did not appear to double in size although it was bubbly and sticky. After combining all ingredients it rose some both times, although never doubled. I did not put any water in the oven, but did use a preheated stone. Came out risen and golden in 18-20 minutes. Soft and chewy inside, crisp out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Just made ciabatta bread for first time, & had to make it w/ enriched white flour. And it was very good. Family loved it. It did have air bubbles in it, but very light & had a good taste, next time I will make it w/ the bread flour. Good Job Ms Pizza! Sherry in Kc

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      This was the first recipe I used from this site.. I loveeeee it!!! I always make a double batch..One batch the standard way.. in the second one I use garlic olive oil and I add Italian seasonings..Grated Asaigo cheese..finely chopped pepperoni and soposada.. Yummy...Have also made it with 1/2 whole wheat flour too...Just as wonderful..As a note..Mine always doubles in size!!! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2003

      O my Goodness! This is simply delicious. I loved the fact that the crust wasnt hard and crusty. I also made one with oil dimples and sprinkled kosher salt on top. The other one I made as you stated and brushed it with oil when it came out of the oven. I also did not have a pizza stone so I used the paper on a cookie sheet. I was so skeptical b/c it was very sticky, but I am so glad I made this. Thanks alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      So great! I have never made bread before and I was so stoked with the result! It took a long time to prepare but was so worth it! My house is very cold (today is the coldest day of the year) so I don't think that it rose as much as it was supposed to but still looked fab!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      Loved this recipe, I didn't use the stone but just like when I make French baguette, I put a pan with water in the oven to ensure humidity and I placed it in the oven. I put the oven on 450 and baked it in less than 15 min. It was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      Very good! Breadmaking takes some effort, but I already spend a lot of time in my kitchen. So much so, I insist you take me at my word that I've mastered the art of styling my hair with a fork and a twist-tie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      It is great when you have an awesome recipe that you can also be proud of yourself for having it come out right! :) I was so happy that this bread came out sooo beautifully. Homemade bread is just something special, and this one is REALLY something special!! Thanks so much Lisa -- we will be making this a LOT!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ciabatta (Italian Slipper Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.0
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    10%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 880.0 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites