18 Reviews

VERY close. I made the recipe with only a small adjustment - more jalapenos to almost a full cup. To get the consistency we expect I used the blender to make it mostly smooth. As a couple it took several days to eat and it definitely got hotter as it went. Will be saving this recipe as it is as close as I can expect without going to Chuy's.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AggieAma January 26, 2012

I followed the recipe portions per this recipe and I used a food processor to mix the ingredients. I simply portioned out each ingredient into the food processor and mixed, rather than allowing some of them to sit for an hour as instructed. The flavor was good, but wasn't quite as robust as Chuy's. I added 1/2 tsp more garlic and 1 tsp more lime and in my opinion, it was much better and tasted more like the restaurant's version.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rob_demp January 01, 2013

As a Chuys employee I can tell you this is pretty close. We use mayo, ranch dressing, buttermilk, cilantro, jalapeños, and our tomatillo sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abigail F. January 21, 2016

I'll try this again, but my first try was extremely salty. Perhaps I'll leave the salt out next time and add it afterward. After a few tweaks, it tastes fine but nothing to write home about.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nathan E. August 28, 2015

AMAZING. I made this for a party, and everyone loved it. I got compliments on it all night. I doubled the recipe and by the end of the night only about 2/3 of a cup left. It's thicker than the Chuy's version but I think that made it better. Some people even said it was a bit spicier and they thought that was better too. The only complaint I had was that there wasn't enough left for them to take any home, which is the best complaint to get. I LOVE THIS DIP.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkp36 April 28, 2013

I;ve made this several times. It has become one of the requested items for parties. It's also great on taco salads.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rottnx3 May 06, 2012

Absolutely awesome! Just like Chuy's, had this at thanksgiving, quadrupled it and it was gone in a hurry. I threw everything in food processor and served with warm tortillas, fabulous

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
azsuper.mom December 21, 2011

Amazing! After reading a few of the reviews I cut back on the milk to only 1/2 a cup and added about 1/3 of a cup of sour cream (it was still a little thin, but great for dipping none the less). I also blended the jalapenos, green chilies and cilantro in a magic bullet before adding them to the ranch mix to make more of a puree instead of having jalapeno chunks. I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katorugger November 25, 2011

My wife told me about this great sauce a place out in Texas had. After a few different attempts We've found this one to be the closest! It tastes great on anything, especially empanadas or a thing I do called Mexican Wontons. I'm asked to make the sauce all the time for work events and my team loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tazz1960 November 12, 2011

Love chuys resturant and for me this was the closest I found to the restuarant taste. I did add 1/2 cup sour cream and it was spot on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newlywedcook August 03, 2011
Chuy's Creamy Jalapeno Dip