Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chunky Navy Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chunky Navy Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2002

      This was a very good and simple recipe to make. I used leftover ham instead of a hamhock and Baby Lima Beans(what I had on hand). I will definitly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      This is a great soup! I used a small can of chopped ham because I had no ham hock and added more salt and pepper to taste, 1/4 tsp of poultry seasoning, a bay leaf, and a dash of dry mustard. It is a truly filling and tasty soup. I think next time I make it I will try using twice as many navy beans as they sorta got lost. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      This is fantastic winter eating! I wanted to make in my crockpot, so I put everything together in the pot and cooked on low for 8 hours. I did make some changes as follows: I used 1 lb of navy beans and a meaty ham bone instead of the ham hock. I used a smoky seasoned salt (Penzy's 4/S) instead of plain salt and I left out the additional 5 cups of water because crockpot cooking tends to make things too watery if you're not careful. I also added about 2 teaspoons chicken soup base (Penzy's) at the end to bring all the flavors together. I served with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of cheddar cheese. I have been eating the leftovers for lunch the past several days, and I have to say it gets even better the next day! I love the addition of the potato. Thanks for your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      very simple recipe. i make it about once a month. i love it and use it as one if my low calorie diet foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      This was fantastic andfilling. The whole family liked it day 1, 2 and 3! I doubled the recipe so there were plenty of leftovers. Try this one on a cold winter's day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Miss Annie, this was delicious! In place of the ham hock, I used about 1/4 package of bacon, frying it well before adding (crumbled) to the pot. I didn't have minced garlic, so I substituted 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder. I served the soup with homemade bread. This really hit the spot on a cold snowy night! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      very good i used left over ham followed rest of recipe will make again thanks angie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      I used baby lima beans and a ham bone, with some good meat on it. (Always prefer that over ham hock.). Warm and comforting - just like mom used to make! I only added 1tsp salt, to make up for salt in ham, and threw in a little season all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      We really enjoyed this soup and the leftovers the next day were even better. I used a Honey Baked Ham bone in place of the ham hock because that's what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      very good - will make again. I did add chopped celery to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      This is wonderful and delish. I have made several times, all to great reviews from the family. Thanks for a wonderful meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

    • on January 20, 2010

      Very easy and delicious! I already had some cooked navy beans, so this was really quick to prepare. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      This was fabulous! I used the leftover ham bone from Sunday's dinner. I did decreas the onion to 1 and added a shredded carrot. Served with fresh cornbread.......I'm lucky I have any leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      so good! i used a leftover HoneyBaked ham bone instead of a ham hock and used instant potatoes and a bit of potato soup mix instead of the potatoes. will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      wow this was so good! the potatoes were a great addition, really stepped up the plain old soup beans my mom always made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Delicious soup. I made it as stated except I used the crockpot to cook the beans, ham garlic and water until almost done, then added the onion and potatoes and finished up. Served with some cornbread muffins. Will definately make this a lot. Will try some other type beans to change it up a bit. Thanks for a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I made this last weekend with a meaty ham bone that I had left over and stashed in the freezer from Easter. This is very much a comfort food! Brings back many fond memories. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      One of my favorite comfort foods. Great taste and easy to make and get on the table. My kind of recipe! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This is a "can't stop with one bowl" recipe. Delicious comfort food. Made for Comfort Foods! in Cooking Photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chunky Navy Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (553 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.0
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    67%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 801.7 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.1 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 17.6 g
    70%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham hocks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites