Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chunky Ham Spread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chunky Ham Spread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2011

      Very good. Taste like I remember. Everyone liked, even my 1 year old. He had it on crackers and my 4 year old liked it on crackers and as a sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      This spread is VERY good. I left out the hard boiled egg (personal preferance) and the cayenne pepper, just added more black pepper. Other than that, I made it as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      Very pleased with the outcome, even though I didn't have a critical ingredient - celery. I used turkey ham instead of pork ham. I will surely make this again. Used it to make sandwiches, but will surely use it as a topping for ritz crackers the next time.. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      This is great. Really. Loved it served on a warm toasted bagel as suggested by another reviewer. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      I followed the recipe exactly, even measuring the onion, celery, etc. I did not add the cayenne, but I bet that would have added a nice zip. I liked it as is, however, and DH raved too, and he usually doesn't like reslish in his ham salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      This is excellent, especially for crackers. I used a touch less pickle relish and my use of mayonnaise was on the light side as the spread sticks together great since the ham is ground first (I used my food processor). I took your advise and used this recipe with leftover chicken, too, omitting the hard boiled egg. Great on a toasted bagel, too. This is a new standard at my house, I will use it again and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      We really loved this recipe. I used 1/4 cup of mayo and only 1 tbsp of homemade sweet pickle relish was just right for our tastes. Served with Ritz crackers. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Made for the LiveStrong event in the photo forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Thanks to Chef#743806, on 4/14/09 I discovered this very good way to use a bit of that leftover Easter ham.Both SO and myself don't care for celery,so an extra hard-boiled egg was used.SO doesn't care for pickle relish, so that was leftout.But I did add the cayenne, actually I added close to a 1/2 teaspoon. This recipe is so good, and will be made again.Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Wonderful flavor! I made this for my lunch and it was DELICIOUS! I added the cayenne pepper for that extra zing :) Great on Ritz crackers and excellent on honey wheat bread. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      EXCELLENT! I always wanted a recipe, because the purchased ham spread has too much mayonnaise. I used my food processor for the ham grinding. I know I'll use this many times in the future. Thank you very much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      A 5 Star all the way...I did just as you said..I did use my food processor...My Brother really really liked this lots..Thank You for the recipe. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Good stuff! I took the poster's suggestion and made this with tuna. We enjoyed it in pita pockets, like a tuna salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      My husband and I are in love with this ham spread. I used my food processor to grind cooked ham cubes. Tastes great cold right out of the bowl or spread on crackers or even cucumber slices. I am glad I doubled the recipe because this is an addictive snack. Thanks for posting a super recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      This was a great way to use leftover Christmas ham. I just cut the fat off and gave it a whirl in the food processor until it was ground. I did not have an egg so I subbed some cream cheese for it but made the rest as written it was delicious. I made it as a dip but could be used for a number of things. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      I made this tonight to serve tomorrow evening, I doubled the amounts, and used canned ham, also I added in a small amount of minced fresh garlic... although I am not certain if it will even make it until tomorrow, this is just that good! This took very little time to make, I just briefly mixed it on my processor with on/off turns. It will be served on crackers, what a fantastic spread Caroline, thanks for sharing!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      This is also wonderful made with left over salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      I was drawn to this recipe after finding that beautiful photo. I used an 1/4 t of dry mustard instead of prepared and did use the cayenne. I chopped everything very fine in an electric chopper and then spread it into philly buns. I lightly sprayed the sandwiches with cooking spray, added cheese, and grilled them till crispy on a Foreman grill. I will make these again. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      I had enough leftover ham to cut this recipe in half. I did include the cayenne pepper...that makes it great. Ate it on rye crackers and celery. Great for snacking. Thanx for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chunky Ham Spread

    Serving Size: 1 (429 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 376.5
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    58%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 156.8 mg
    52%
    Sodium 417.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites