Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chunky Chicken Soup, Mediterranean Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chunky Chicken Soup, Mediterranean Style

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2011

      We all enjoyed this recipe. It was a very hearty, comforting soup for a cold winter day. I actually made it twice, once for a Christmas caroling party, another time for guest. It was enjoyed both times by all. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Excellent Chicken Soup! Soup lovers that we are am constantly looking for and adding new recipes to my Soup file - into my file for this one. Other than being short on the olives made as posted. Loved the way the ingredients came together making for delicious soup with great eye appeal. How good - looked so good we had supper early. (can't wait for green beans fresh from the garden) Served with Dotty2's Cheese 'n Onion Bread ( Bread Machine) for an lovely evening meal. Made for Auz/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      A lovely soup. Not real heavy and has a great flavor. In my opinion it serves more than 4 to 6, probably more like 6 to 8. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Delicious! Never had this kind of soup with olives before . I used red pepper and I cut down the amount of carrot,since it seemed like a lot.I also used dried basil,cut can't wait to try it with fresh one. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      This is an excellent soup. I decided to make it a vegetarian soup so I left out the chicken. I also reduced the amount of basil and used corn in place of the green beans. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This was a nice soup to enjoy last evening for dinner. I made it as directed, but next time would reduce the carrots and not chop my olives as fine as I did. I was trying to get them to blend in a bit better for my kids, but that's like trying to hid an elephant with them. LOL I thought this was very simple to prepare, tasty enough but would also amp up the spices next time. Thanks for sharing! Made and reviewed for ZWT 5, for the Genies of Gourmet. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      yummy! had with kittencal's onion patties. thanks for a great recipie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Top marks from me for a very flavorful soup. I backed off on the carrot amount by about half and left the olives whole (personal preference only). Used brown rice that was leftover and it was a perfect amount for this. This made a grand middle of the road meal, hearty enough to fill you up if you if your average hungry and can easily be boosted with a salad , bread and dessert if you want something substantial. I made a half recipe and there is enough for at least 4 meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Awesome recipe! I substituted the chicken breast with big legs and thighs with the skin on, simmered them first and cut them into huge chunks, man this made it extra tasty!! Thanks AmandainOz Maybe she's an aussie? Who knows, but she's a darn good cook!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Made half of the recipe (apparently the best-tasting half, 'cause this was very, very nice!) & had plenty for two of us, but with hardly any left over! Enjoyed the combo of garlic, olives & basil here! Even without the chicken, it would make a nice vegetable soup! [Made & reviewed while in Greece on Zaar's World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      This soup was nice in the end, but it took quite a bit of effort to get there. It was very bland. One tablespoon of basil and a quarter teaspoon of black pepper was not enough seasoning for over 6 cups of liquid. Also, this made an enormous amount of soup. I'd say it's more likely 6-8 portions. Overall a good basic recipe to play with. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Delicious soup! Wonderful flavor without a lot of fat and sodium. The amount of rice is right on, as it thickens the juice slightly without soaking it all up. I had about 1 cup of leftover chicken stock in the fridge I needed to use up, so I added that too. I made this for the Spain/Portugal Freezer Pleasers ZWT 3 Challenge. I will be freezing the leftovers this afternoon for work lunches or a quick dinner. Thanks for sharing. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chunky Chicken Soup, Mediterranean Style

    Serving Size: 1 (602 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 412.0
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    19%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 65.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 400.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 36.6 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes