13 Reviews

This soup is our first post-holiday, vegetable-loaded, chicken soup. I have made before in the crock pot and my entire family loved it. I cooked on low all day and added the rice about 20 minutes before serving. This time, I made according to recipe on the stove top except I got a little carried away slicing carrots with one of my Christmas presents. I compensated for the additional carrots with a little more green bean (about 16 oz versus 10 oz), tossed in fresh spinach, doubled the basil, added a little more rice (3/4 cup versus 1/2), another 2 cups chicken broth, and a tad more garlic and about a teaspoon onion powder. It seems pretty thick but looks like pictures and has a nice flavor. I intend to let it sit overnight, and we will warm it up have it for both lunch and dinner tomorrow with salad. Sadly, not with bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twswbs0405 January 06, 2015

We all enjoyed this recipe. It was a very hearty, comforting soup for a cold winter day. I actually made it twice, once for a Christmas caroling party, another time for guest. It was enjoyed both times by all. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosemere January 04, 2011

Excellent Chicken Soup! Soup lovers that we are am constantly looking for and adding new recipes to my Soup file - into my file for this one. Other than being short on the olives made as posted. Loved the way the ingredients came together making for delicious soup with great eye appeal. How good - looked so good we had supper early. (can't wait for green beans fresh from the garden) Served with Dotty2's Cheese 'n Onion Bread ( Bread Machine) for an lovely evening meal. Made for Auz/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry May 15, 2010

A lovely soup. Not real heavy and has a great flavor. In my opinion it serves more than 4 to 6, probably more like 6 to 8. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando February 03, 2010

Delicious! Never had this kind of soup with olives before . I used red pepper and I cut down the amount of carrot,since it seemed like a lot.I also used dried basil,cut can't wait to try it with fresh one. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia February 02, 2010

This is an excellent soup. I decided to make it a vegetarian soup so I left out the chicken. I also reduced the amount of basil and used corn in place of the green beans. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada July 30, 2009

This was a nice soup to enjoy last evening for dinner. I made it as directed, but next time would reduce the carrots and not chop my olives as fine as I did. I was trying to get them to blend in a bit better for my kids, but that's like trying to hid an elephant with them. LOL I thought this was very simple to prepare, tasty enough but would also amp up the spices next time. Thanks for sharing! Made and reviewed for ZWT 5, for the Genies of Gourmet. =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana May 20, 2009

yummy! had with kittencal's onion patties. thanks for a great recipie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellyko May 13, 2009

Top marks from me for a very flavorful soup. I backed off on the carrot amount by about half and left the olives whole (personal preference only). Used brown rice that was leftover and it was a perfect amount for this. This made a grand middle of the road meal, hearty enough to fill you up if you if your average hungry and can easily be boosted with a salad , bread and dessert if you want something substantial. I made a half recipe and there is enough for at least 4 meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia March 14, 2009

Awesome recipe! I substituted the chicken breast with big legs and thighs with the skin on, simmered them first and cut them into huge chunks, man this made it extra tasty!! Thanks AmandainOz Maybe she's an aussie? Who knows, but she's a darn good cook!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Down Yonder Kiwi Chef December 06, 2008
Chunky Chicken Soup, Mediterranean Style