Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chunky Blue Cheese Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chunky Blue Cheese Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2009

      We dont have to go to restaurants when we crave blue cheese anymore! I tried others and failed miserably, I almost gave in until I saw all of the other reviews. You HAVE to try this dressing! Not only do I use it for the yummy Blue Cheese, I use it for a base for all of my cream dressings now. I wont eat powdered ranch dressing anymore! If we want Southwestern I put in Cayenne and liq. smoke, if we want Ranch I put in some dill. I did Pico De Gillo once, yum! Its a great Buttermilk dressing just the way it is. I too was sceptical about the garlic amount but its perfect. If you dont like yours too chunky definately wait the 24 hours, it gets creamier every day. Thank you Luby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This is the BEST blue cheese dressing I have ever tasted! My husband is so going to enjoy this with his wings during football tonight! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      My husband and I are Blue Cheese Dressing lovers, finding ourselves going to restaurants who make the best homemade Blue Cheese dressing. This by far is the BEST EVER!! I will make this every time we have a salad! I also shredded an ounce and a half of aged provolone with sherry in it and WOW, so robust. I will tell everyone about this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Loved it, loved it! I didn't have lemon juice so added a little red wine vinegar for the tang. Also made it for 4 servings and it made quite a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I made the recipe just as stated. I used a food processor to blend in the cheese and could then stop it whenever the consistency was right for me. Great dressing with an intense blue cheese flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I had a large chunk of Blue Cheese that I had left over from a recipe that I used for entertaining. I didn't like Blue Cheese or the dressing UNTIL I tried this one. I actually licked my fingers while making it...I've been cooking for years and I've always used "the spoon test"; well, Luby, I abandoned my manners and licked away. :yummy: Update: My DH and I agree that this dressing is fabulous the same day it's made....we actually like it better about 2 to 4 hours, after being made, on the same day! Just try it yourselves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      five star dressing! Literally JUST made it and WOW, it's awesome. We're doing SBD, so I used reduced fat mayo, sour cream and buttermilk and guess what... It WORKS! DH says better than our fave restaurant. I can't wait till it sits longer for the flavors to marry. Thanks for posting Luby X3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This recipe really impressed me. I served it with a simple lettuce and tomato salad. I found myself looking for veggies the next few days to use the rest of the dressing (it's also great as a dip for cucumbers, carrots, and broccoli).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This is my go-to Blue Cheese Dressing, whenever I make hot/bbq wings I make this, I use a larger container of Blue Cheese crumbles, and let the flavors marry in the refridgerator for as long as possible. Love it, hubby and I won't have home made hot wings without them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      A good recipe but not quite there to our taste. Maybe I just needed more cheese. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Clearly a keeper! I followed it exactly but the next time I'm going to boost up the garlic. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      You know this is going to be a superior dressing when your BF wants to lick the spoon after you are finished mixing it up! He wanted some right away to dip some carrots and celery sticks in even though I told him it wasn't quite ready yet... he couldn't believe he had to wait 24 hours and ate it anyway! He loved it... and so did I. We don't like bottled dressings anyway and prefer to make them fresh... this one is just delicious. I only made half a recipe since it is only the 2 of us and I had bought about 4 oz of cheese. I didn't feel like grating an onion or mincing garlic so I used dried for both... This dressing was wonderful on our iceberg salads and will be terrific with chicken wings... Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      This was the absolute best dressing! We took it to a dinner party (I was in charge of salads) and it was a HUGE hit! Thank you, thank you, thank you. I don't think I will ever buy store brand Bleu cheese dressing again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      If RecipeZaar gave gold Stars this would be one of them. I 'really' do not care for store bought blue cheese dressing-they always have an acidic bite to them, so I used to just use ranch dressing and add blue cheese to it. That is not considered 'Made from scratch'. The only change I made was instead of adding 2 Tbsp, grated onion, I added 1 tsp. onion powder. This recipe is Fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. All hail to the Blue Cheese Gods! I do not give away 5 stars very often, but this recipe deserves at least a 6th star. Very creamy and flavorful, yet not overpowering. The seasonings are spot on and the sour cream and mayo give great flavor and texture without you saying, "Oh, that is mayo and sour cream." a very desirable attribute for a salad dressing that will be used on subtle flavors such as veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      This dressing is AWESOME! I bought a huge chunk of Gorgonzola at costco, and doubled the cheese in it, and used splenda to make it lower carb, but other than that, I made it just like recipe called. It was very important that it sat for 24 hours for all of the flavors to meld together. This is definitely the best blue cheese dressing ever! My whole family DEVOURED it! Even my son who doesn't like blue cheese couldn't get enough! I'm making it again today! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      This is SOOOO good! I cut it in half, and had to wing a couple of the ingredients, this is outstanding. It hits all the flavor notes and my personal favorite, RICH. Ty for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Outstanding would be the word! This salad dressing tastes similar to one I had at the Lone Star a few weeks ago. I had it on a lettuce wedge with tomato and bacon sprinkled on it too. We loved it! Thanks Luby for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Luby, Bev highly recommended this salad dressing. She stated I would LOVE this recipe, and boy was she right. She also said it's better than any restaurant blue cheese dressing she's ever had, and that you out-did yourself when you created this one. Luby, I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, cuz it surely deserves it. The only change I made when making this dressing, I added (8 ounces) of the blue cheese, which I purchased from Aldi's, and found it to be half the price of those other blue cheese crumbles from the other grocery stores, and it tasted great in this dressing. Thank you Luby for this great tasting salad dressing. It's a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Really good as presented. Use top quality ingredients and you will get a top quality dressing. The name perfectly describes it. It is great with only and hour or two of refrigeration, but does improve the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chunky Blue Cheese Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.7
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    75%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 31.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 558.7 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites