Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chunky Blue Cheese Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chunky Blue Cheese Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    111 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 111

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2005

      This is the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing I have ever tasted! I can't believe I actually made this in my own kitchen! Absolutely incredible! I was in the process of making it and realized I didn't have in fresh buttermilk, so I was on my way to the grocery store to pick up some. I tasted the dressing without the buttermilk and decided - why make the trip? If it tastes this good without the buttermilk - I can't even imagine what it must be like with it! For now, I'll keep and review it without the buttermilk, and next time I will make it with. I don't see how I could go wrong! All I can say is WOW!! I will NEVER buy bottled blue cheese dressing again! For that matter, I couldn't get better in any fine restaurant. Luby, this one is a 10 star winner! Thank you so much for sharing your excellent recipes with us on Recipe*Zaar! — (posted Mar 8, 2003, 8 members found this helpful) .........As an update, Luby, I just wanted you to know that 2 years later I am still making Luby's Famous Chunky Blue Cheese Dressing. I buy the buttermilk now ; ) and this recipe is still the BEST I've ever tasted!! I thank you for posting this recipe every time I serve this fabulous dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Wow!!!! This is an excellent recipe. I've made it three times in 10 days...maybe the newness will wear off, but we can't get enough of it...we've been eating salad for late night snacks, just to enjoy! Super if you're doing low-carb! Here's what I used: Hellman's Reduced Fat Mayo Breakstone's Reduced Fat Sour Cream You would NEVER know it was reduced fat. We had company and I felt compelled to tell them it was reduced fat so that they could enjoy it all the more. The reason I've mentioned brands, is because I think mayos/salad dressings and even sour cream brands can vary so much...thought it might be helpful to know what was successful for us. For Worcestershire sauce, we used Lea Perrins 2 times, and a generic once, and noticed nothing different. We used fresh squeezed lemon. As written, the recipe is thick like pudding, or dip. In fact, this would make a great base for making different dips. But for this recipe, I actually used as much as 1 and 1/2 cups of buttermilk when all was said and done, as we like our dressing to be slightly pourable rather than gloppy...and it's still extremely thick with all the buttermilk I put in. So feel free to add buttermilk to any consistency you prefer, you will not diminish taste at all. AND, it thickens more in the fridge. I was dubious about the qty of sugar, but I used Splenda equal to 1 1/2 tsp the first time and let sit overnight. The next morning decided to go ahead with the last 1/2 tsp of sugar and I liked it even better. It's not a "sweet" dressing even with that amt. The 2nd two times I made the recipe, I used agave nectar equal to the 2 tsp sugar. (U need less agave nectar and it's lo glycemic.) The 1st & 2nd time I made the recipe there was an underbite that was bothering me...not heat or spice, just something a bit too sharp that didn't mellow overnight, and left a bit of aftertaste after dinner. I think it may have been the fresh grated onion, as mine may have been very strong, or perhaps the garlic. I'm not sure. The 3rd time I made the recipe, I used 1 tsp of onion powder and no fresh minced garlic. I cut the white pepper to a scant 1/2 tsp, as white pepper can be sharp. That unpleasant bite was gone in the 3rd version with no loss of flavor whatsoever. For ease, the onion powder was helpful, as grating part of an onion was just a slight pain, although I probably don't have the best grater for that. Mostly, because the onions I get seem to be inconsistent, I think I'll use onion powder in the future. All the other ingredients, I did just as written, including the tabasco and cayenne. It's not spicy. We love spice, but with blue cheese dressing, just a bit of tang is all most people want, I'd think. I highly recommend Rosenberg's Danish Blue Cheese. Only problem is, it comes in 4.5 oz containers...but get 2 and put them both in...it's even better with more cheese! To me, that's the nice thing about making it yourself. Some bottled ones are SO chintzy on the cheese. If we're going to bother making it, it's nice to have it just a bit over the top! Enjoy! Luby, I'm sure we'll be making this for the rest of our lives!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      This is the first time I have ever made homemade blue cheese dressing....I cannot believe how good this is compared to the brand I usually buy...The only think I changed is used splenda for the sugar and Lowfat may and sour cream....love love love it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2003

      Tres bien. Wonderful dressing please forgive me Luby but I used reduced calorie mayo and sour cream and less bleu cheese! But everything else the same. Now I am going to check out your other recipes. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      absolutely DELICIOUS! i made a (very) light version with fat free sour cream, fat free mayonnaise, and laughing cow light blue cheese wedges, and, IT IS STILL DIVINE! i'm in the process of making the switch to all homemade dressings, and this one is definitely at the top of my list. thank you, so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      OMG tis is so good! I couldn't wait 24 hours, so I had a little tasting after I mixed it and it was so good! You're right - I have never had bleu cheese dressing from a store this tasty!!! It is even better after the 24 hour refrigeration period. I used the powdered buttermilk and used chili powder because I didn't have cayenne pepper. Down here in the South we just love our Duke's Mayonaisse so that is what I used of course along with fat-free sour cream (that is what I had on hand). If you like bleu cheese dressing - you have GOT to try this!!! I doubt we will ever buy it from the store again. THANK YOU Luby Luby Luby!!!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      Outstanding - I've found the perfect blue cheese dressing for my family! I followed the recipe exactly as written, and I wouldn't change a thing. It will be a staple in our fridge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2014

      Followed recipe to the letter, for me the worcestershire sauce was way too strong in the recipe, even with extra Blue cheese! Next time I will ommit it completely

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2014

      I was amazed by the flavor & consistency when I made it though it had an odd after taste which seems to be from the white pepper. The next day the dressing turned to soup. Since the recipe said to let stand 24 hours for best flavor, I was expecting the dressing to be creamy and tasty. What a shame.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2014

      First time I ever made this and it is the BEST. Love the flavors, no wonder it has so many wonderful reviews. Makes a lot, so be prepared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Luby Luby Luby!!! This is possibly the Best Blue cheese dressing I have ever tasted! I made it for the first time last week, loved it when it was first made, and loved it even more the next day! I finished it in 3 days (yikes!!!) I just made it again so that my DH can finally get to taste it tomorrow when he comes home (if I can behave myself with it in the fridge tonight ;) I too used light mayo and sour cream. I used black pepper, and onion powder, garlic powder. I did omit the sugar. The flavor and texture are out of this world! Well done Luby! I knew I had a good feeling when I saw your name - Luby as my name is Lubby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      this is the BEST blue cheese dressing I have ever tasted!! My husband agrees, and everytime I make it for guests, they concur!!! All YUMM and no MSG or HFCS or preservatives. Takes minutes to prepare, thanks for the great recipe!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      I will never again use store bought blue cheese dressing, this recipe is the only one I'll ever make from here on. Fantastic. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      Exceptional - rich & flavorful - better than bottled & as good as any restaurant's. EASY: I made it in the blender w/ slightly more blue cheese than called for in the recipe. I divided the blue cheese & blended half with all other ingredients. I then stirred in the remaining blue cheese, so as to retain lots of chunks. We're on our second batch in two weeks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      oh my, sooo good. Salad wedge with this is amazing!! Can't wait to try with wings :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      This was too sweet for me. Thanks for sharing, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      Very, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Perfect dressing, Luby. You did a great job on making this~ the only change I made was not having buttermilk, I used 1 tsp. vinegar to the amount of milk. Boy, this is perfection over nice, cold, lettuce leaves. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      An easy and excellent recipe! Everyone liked it! I used it to go with these buffalo wings: Unbelievable Baked Buffalo Wings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chunky Blue Cheese Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.7
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    75%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 31.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 558.7 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes