Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chunky Apple Spice Cake With Vanilla Butter Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chunky Apple Spice Cake With Vanilla Butter Sauce

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2002

      You MUST try Mirjam's recipe. I ABSOLUTELY adore this recipe -- and I usually feel that if a dessert does not contain chocolate, why bother -- but I make an exception here. This is THE VERY BEST cake and I can't say enough about how incredibly delicious the hot sauce is with the cake. I add 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the sauce and skip the nuts (just my personal aversion to nuts).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      I was looking for a spice cake recipe (it's my Dad's favorite) and came across this one. It was absolutely delicious! The sauce is SINFUL with a capital "S", the sauce together with the apples in the cake reminded me of eating a caramel apple (yummy!). Next time I make this wonderful recipe, I'm going to double it...because we demolished the cake in record time! (If you make this recipe for a crowd, I suggest doubling or even tripling it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      All I can say is: There were four of us for dinner and only two pieces of this cake were left! There probably wouldn't have been any but we were feeling a little ashamed of making pigs of ourselves! Suggestion: how 'bout a scoop of french vanilla ice cream on the side? If you're gonna sin...sin big!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      My husband and I made pigs of ourselves over this cake. I don't know if I can even begin to describe how delicious this was. Wonderful spiced flavor. The sauce makes it pure gold. Had such a rich vanilla-butter flavor and you have to use real butter. Eating it warm is the only way to go. Very memorable and is serious competition with our favorite chocolate desserts. Thanks Mirjam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2002

      Very good recipe. I was afraid that I had ruined it because I accidentally used 1 cup of butter in the cake instead of 1/2 cup. I didn't realize this until it was in the oven...I figured what the heck, we'll see what happens. It was still very good, although I'm sure much more fattening. I will definately make this again (the correct way).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      Very yummy cake. I made quite a while ago and am just rating ir now. It was easy to make and very, very tasty. I also loved the sauce for it. I agree with the earlier post about doubling or tripling the recipe next time. I could have probably eaten the whole thing to myself if I hadn't had dinner first! Will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This cake is good, but far too sweet for my taste. The sauce tasted too much like pure sugar to me. My caramel-loving brother likes it, though, just personally I would something with a richness rather than just a sweetness. The cake itself is beautiful- fluffy, moist and yummy-appley. The sauce, however, was just too much for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      Oh YUM!! I love cake type desserts and my husband doesn't as much but LOVES the sauce so we were all happy. I didn't have enough brown sugar on hand so the sauce only ended up with about 1/2 cup and it was good - I think I will do it that way again next time. We don't do nuts but I wish now I would have added the raisins too. They would add a nice taste to the dessert. Will do that next time!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      Very moist cake. Loved the texture. I did not have pumpkin pie spice on hand so I created my own blend. I will definitely make the cake again with the real thing. The sauce, although very sweet, was a nice compliment to the spices in the cake. There are only 2 of us so I loved the fact that this cake was not huge in size - thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      Hi Mirj, I am rereviwing this recipe because I mean't to give you 5 stars and didn't give you any stars on the last one. Don't know what I was thinking but this cake was excellent and I had meant to make it on Thanksgiving but had never got the chance. The apples and the sauce are incredibly delicious! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      I made this cake this weekend for my in-laws and they LOVED it! It is a great cake, but the sauce it was really makes it delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This is definitely better the second day. I made this recipe with whole wheat flour and cranberries instead of raisins, as that is what I had in the house. I skipped out on the sauce and had it with ice cream instead. The cake, in my opinion, is sweet enough on its own and I think the sauce might take it over the top. Very good cake and I'll make it through the holidays!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      This cake was very good. We didn't have raisins, so we used dried cranberries and it turned out quite well. We skipped the sauce and used vanilla ice cream instead. The cake was very sweet and I think it would have been too sweet with a sauce added. It's very good and we'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      Hilariously, I forgot to add the baking powder to this recipe. It still came out so great, though, that I didn't even realize that I'd left it out until I was looking at the recipe much later! It probably came out denser than it would've otherwise been, though. You know a recipe is great when you can leave out such a key ingredient and still have it come out good! The only critique I have for this recipe is that the vanilla butter sauce makes way too much - I'd suggest halving it before pouring it over the cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      this was very tasty, i subbed some cream cheese for some butter. it made it very dense and yummy, even better the next day cold. i just served it with whipped cream not the sauce, very good cake and a great way to use up apples. thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      This is the best spice cake ever! The make it different than your typical cake.The only thing I noticed is that it doesnt rise as much as I would like it too.That takes nothing away from the cake..i have made it 4 times now and its consistent...comes out wonderful every time.Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2004

      If I could give 10 stars for this recipe, I would but I'm limited so I'll just elaborate here: This dessert is FABULOUS!!! The cake is delicious by itself ... it's light and flavorful ... I used an organic variety of Gala apples and chopped them in very small pieces ... I also added a *tiny* pinch of mace to the recipe. It was superb and I can't wait to make it again for my family because I'm sure they'll love it as much as I did! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2014

      I made this cake last evening and the aroma was amazing. I followed the directions for the cake as closely as I could. I did not have allspice so I substitute apple pie spice. I'm not sure how much it changed the flavor but non the less it still tasted delicious. When making the sauce I chickened out on the amount of vanilla that was called for and I reduced it from the indicated 2 tablespoons to 2 teaspoons. As good as this cake was warm, you probably won't believe me when I say that I thought it was even better at room temperature. We topped each piece with the butter cream sauce as it was served allowing each guests to top to their liking. I do agree with some of the other reviewers, that this makes more than enough sauce. I am keeping the left over sauce to use as a topping for ice cream. I also considered adding in some pecans and using it as a topping for some homemade cinnamon rolls. This recipe is wonderfully forgiving and very adaptable. I give it 2 thumbs up. .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      Delicious! Really easy to make too. Comes out moist and flavorful. For an extra kick try soaking the walnuts and raisins in rum or bourbon for a few hours or overnight before adding to the batter. It's gooood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      Everyone raved about this; it's easy to make and stunningly delicious! <br/><br/>HOWEVER: if you are like me and don't like things toothnumbingly sweet, I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup in the cake, and only made a half portion of the sauce and that seemed perfect to me, especially if you put raisins in there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chunky Apple Spice Cake With Vanilla Butter Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 412.2
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    50%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 85.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 304.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 38.3 g
    153%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites