62 Reviews

You MUST try Mirjam's recipe. I ABSOLUTELY adore this recipe -- and I usually feel that if a dessert does not contain chocolate, why bother -- but I make an exception here. This is THE VERY BEST cake and I can't say enough about how incredibly delicious the hot sauce is with the cake. I add 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the sauce and skip the nuts (just my personal aversion to nuts).

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( March 15, 2002

I was looking for a spice cake recipe (it's my Dad's favorite) and came across this one. It was absolutely delicious! The sauce is SINFUL with a capital "S", the sauce together with the apples in the cake reminded me of eating a caramel apple (yummy!). Next time I make this wonderful recipe, I'm going to double it...because we demolished the cake in record time! (If you make this recipe for a crowd, I suggest doubling or even tripling it).

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kibbie April 02, 2002

All I can say is: There were four of us for dinner and only two pieces of this cake were left! There probably wouldn't have been any but we were feeling a little ashamed of making pigs of ourselves! Suggestion: how 'bout a scoop of french vanilla ice cream on the side? If you're gonna sin...sin big!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine October 20, 2002

My husband and I made pigs of ourselves over this cake. I don't know if I can even begin to describe how delicious this was. Wonderful spiced flavor. The sauce makes it pure gold. Had such a rich vanilla-butter flavor and you have to use real butter. Eating it warm is the only way to go. Very memorable and is serious competition with our favorite chocolate desserts. Thanks Mirjam.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower January 05, 2003

Very good recipe. I was afraid that I had ruined it because I accidentally used 1 cup of butter in the cake instead of 1/2 cup. I didn't realize this until it was in the oven...I figured what the heck, we'll see what happens. It was still very good, although I'm sure much more fattening. I will definately make this again (the correct way).

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy13 October 24, 2002

Very yummy cake. I made quite a while ago and am just rating ir now. It was easy to make and very, very tasty. I also loved the sauce for it. I agree with the earlier post about doubling or tripling the recipe next time. I could have probably eaten the whole thing to myself if I hadn't had dinner first! Will definately make this again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
treko April 29, 2002

This cake is good, but far too sweet for my taste. The sauce tasted too much like pure sugar to me. My caramel-loving brother likes it, though, just personally I would something with a richness rather than just a sweetness. The cake itself is beautiful- fluffy, moist and yummy-appley. The sauce, however, was just too much for me.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie January 06, 2003

Oh YUM!! I love cake type desserts and my husband doesn't as much but LOVES the sauce so we were all happy. I didn't have enough brown sugar on hand so the sauce only ended up with about 1/2 cup and it was good - I think I will do it that way again next time. We don't do nuts but I wish now I would have added the raisins too. They would add a nice taste to the dessert. Will do that next time!! Thanks for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW February 07, 2003

Very moist cake. Loved the texture. I did not have pumpkin pie spice on hand so I created my own blend. I will definitely make the cake again with the real thing. The sauce, although very sweet, was a nice compliment to the spices in the cake. There are only 2 of us so I loved the fact that this cake was not huge in size - thanks !

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaylanave January 27, 2003

Hi Mirj, I am rereviwing this recipe because I mean't to give you 5 stars and didn't give you any stars on the last one. Don't know what I was thinking but this cake was excellent and I had meant to make it on Thanksgiving but had never got the chance. The apples and the sauce are incredibly delicious! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingerbear January 05, 2003
Chunky Apple Spice Cake With Vanilla Butter Sauce