45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these last night. Very Fall like! Smelled good while cooking. My friend loved them. She asked me to make her a batch for Thanksgiving. I used two Granny Smith apples and two Fuji apples. Sprinkled some nutmeg and used half the amount of raisins. Used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Baked for only 20 minutes. Got 12 regular size muffins and 6 bite size ones. I also used Granny Smith apple sauce in place of the oil.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel October 12, 2012

Wow! These are awesome! I was looking for an apple recipe, but was too lazy to grate the apples lol, so this was perfect. It was the strangest batter I've seen for muffins since it looked all apple, but they turned out great. Made tiny adjustments for personal preference: used gala apples, 1/2c raisons, 1/2c walnuts and increased the cinnamon. Look forward to making these again! :o)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
_Ally_ March 04, 2004

I really enjoyed these muffins. I even replaced half the flour with whole wheat flour and they still turned out very moist and delicious. They were chocked full of fruit and nuts. Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gapeach November 02, 2003

This is the apple recipe I have been looking for! It was prefect to use up the apples that were sitting on my counter going soft. I halved the recipe and used 3 apples. I used melted butter in place of the oil because I like the taste better. And I used half white sugar and half brown. It made 12 muffins, they didn't really rise but that was OK, and they took 25 min to bake. They were just perfect.Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets April 19, 2013

Delicious! Great way to use up an abundance of apples. I had fuji apples on hand, so thats what I used. I used half AP flour with half ground oats and flaxmeal. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar and subbed half the oil with applesauce. They are delicious. My entire family is devouring them! So moist and packed with apples, nuts, and cranberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Sarah February 03, 2013

I made these muffins yesterday and took them to a brunch. The only change I made was to omit the raisins. I used 2.5 large Granny Smith apples. After reading some of the other reviews, I started checking them after 20 minutes. They were done after 23 miinutes. The recipe made 18 average sized muffins. I liked these muffins and will make them again but might reduce the cinnamon a smidge. Thank you for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm January 27, 2013

LOVED these! I used 5 Gala apples diced up, 1/2c brown sugar, 1c whole wheat flour and 1c white all-purpose flour, and 2t apple pie spice. I subbed applesauce for half of the oil. I LOVE how much fruit is in these and though I was skeptical when I put everything in the muffin tins (I got 18) they did turn out GREAT! The kids love them so I'll freeze them for snacks. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom October 08, 2012

Thanks for this recipe. I cut my apples a little chunkier and used a mixture of pumpkin & sunflower seeds rather than the nuts (I was out of nuts). Great flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4sweeper January 26, 2012

Really good! I used 3 gala apples, unpeeled. (organic, so not waxed). Could not tell they were not peeled. So I'm a lazy cook. :)
No walnuts for us. Otherwise as written and they were fabulous. They freeze very well, btw. Just pop straight from freezer to microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nola to DFW November 22, 2011

Excellent!! And I made our gluten free using Any Kind Muffins (Gluten Free) for a half batch of this recipe. I used an alcohol free vanilla from our local health food store, currants instead of raisins (though I might leave the dried fruit out completely next time). I used white sugar rather than brown sugar as the gluten free recipe calls for, apple juice for the 1 cup of something wet in the gluten free recipe and tapioca starch in place of the potato starch. I will make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 11, 2011
Chunky Apple Muffins