17 Reviews

Fantastic! Enjoyed every bite! I substituted the Worcestershire for Cabernet blended with brown sugar, finely sliced garlic, cajun seasoning, and a dash balsamic vinegar. Started working on the meat and realized I was out of sauce...lol. I also added raisins 2/3rds through the boil time. I found the red wine mix really brought out the game flavor in this dish. That's exactly how I like it! Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onebeingloki January 10, 2010

Scrumptious! I used HQ meat, cut in strips and chunked. Surprisingly tender! Looking forward to trying it with some loin. Hubby was very happy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
countrylife December 29, 2009

Was disappointed given the other good reviews. Will stick with the Sweet Bacon Wrapped Tenderloin recipe instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindySe July 05, 2009

Awesome! Served it with mashed potatoes and green beans- we will be having this on a weekly basis!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starrupton June 30, 2009

I very hesitantly made this. I thought it sounded way too simple and easy to taste as good as most of the reviewers were saying. Boy, was I wrong! I *almost* followed the recipe to a "T" and had my doubts all the way to the end as I taste-tested it several times. I don't know how it happened, but right at the end, everything came together and was INCREDIBLE! I am still shocked that it could be that tender and good and be so simple to make! I don't eat bacon, so I substituted 2 tablespoons of olive oil to replace the bacon. I didn't wrap anything or skewer the meat, so it really was incredibly simple. I've made venison numerous times and have yet to make any that was anywhere close to this tender. Amazing! Next time, I will try reducing the Worcestershire sauce to 1/3rd cup just to see if it's still as good and will try this recipe also with venison steaks and sauteed onions. I quote my husband here who said, "You really outdid yourself with this one! Dang! This is the best venison I've ever had, period!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelady March 26, 2009

This was ok, I didnt' get any complaints but most likely won't be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethel March 02, 2009

Very Good! Made this for dinner last night. I marinated the cubed venison 24 hours in the salt pepper and worcestershire. Then I wrapped the meat in the bacon and made kabobs using three colors of bell peppers, red and yellow onions and pineapple. I have never made kabobs with venison so I was afraid it might be tough but it was very tender. Cooked on a low to med grill. Perfect! Yes, it does taste like something from an expensive restaurant! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WildWaysPaige February 03, 2009

These were totaly fab but must be eaten warm! Great for nibbles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faye #2 April 28, 2008

I roughly followed this recipe but the results were excellent! I cut the bacon up and added chopped onion and minced garlic. I also used 2/3 c. worcestershire. I served this with my special cream corn and some yellow rice. This is a to die for way to make venison. (I killed the deer we ate) I went home for the weekend and whipped this up for my parents and they loved it as well, thanx so much for this recipe!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusted_essence June 25, 2007
Chunked Venison