Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chunked Venison Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chunked Venison

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2010

      Fantastic! Enjoyed every bite! I substituted the Worcestershire for Cabernet blended with brown sugar, finely sliced garlic, cajun seasoning, and a dash balsamic vinegar. Started working on the meat and realized I was out of sauce...lol. I also added raisins 2/3rds through the boil time. I found the red wine mix really brought out the game flavor in this dish. That's exactly how I like it! Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Scrumptious! I used HQ meat, cut in strips and chunked. Surprisingly tender! Looking forward to trying it with some loin. Hubby was very happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Was disappointed given the other good reviews. Will stick with the Sweet Bacon Wrapped Tenderloin recipe instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Awesome! Served it with mashed potatoes and green beans- we will be having this on a weekly basis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

    • on March 26, 2009

      I very hesitantly made this. I thought it sounded way too simple and easy to taste as good as most of the reviewers were saying. Boy, was I wrong! I *almost* followed the recipe to a "T" and had my doubts all the way to the end as I taste-tested it several times. I don't know how it happened, but right at the end, everything came together and was INCREDIBLE! I am still shocked that it could be that tender and good and be so simple to make! I don't eat bacon, so I substituted 2 tablespoons of olive oil to replace the bacon. I didn't wrap anything or skewer the meat, so it really was incredibly simple. I've made venison numerous times and have yet to make any that was anywhere close to this tender. Amazing! Next time, I will try reducing the Worcestershire sauce to 1/3rd cup just to see if it's still as good and will try this recipe also with venison steaks and sauteed onions. I quote my husband here who said, "You really outdid yourself with this one! Dang! This is the best venison I've ever had, period!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This was ok, I didnt' get any complaints but most likely won't be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Very Good! Made this for dinner last night. I marinated the cubed venison 24 hours in the salt pepper and worcestershire. Then I wrapped the meat in the bacon and made kabobs using three colors of bell peppers, red and yellow onions and pineapple. I have never made kabobs with venison so I was afraid it might be tough but it was very tender. Cooked on a low to med grill. Perfect! Yes, it does taste like something from an expensive restaurant! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      These were totaly fab but must be eaten warm! Great for nibbles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      I roughly followed this recipe but the results were excellent! I cut the bacon up and added chopped onion and minced garlic. I also used 2/3 c. worcestershire. I served this with my special cream corn and some yellow rice. This is a to die for way to make venison. (I killed the deer we ate) I went home for the weekend and whipped this up for my parents and they loved it as well, thanx so much for this recipe!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe! My husband and I eat this for special occasion meals such as a much needed romantic dinner while the kids are at the grandparents for the night! This is truly delectable and easy to prepare. Tastes like something from an expensive restaurant! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      This was delicious and very easy to prepare. The only thing is that the meat turned out tough, but that could be due to the fact I used cubed shank meat instead of a more tender cut of venison, like cubed rump roast(I really need to lable my venison better..other than just 'stew meat'. lol). I'll definatly make this again, but use a more tender cut of venison. I served it along side white rice and mixed veggies and can't wait to make a batch for the Super Bowl Party we are going too. Thanks Sharon, for a deliciously simple and satisfying dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      I made this last night and it was great! Everyone in the family loved it. Like Aunt Paula I am always looking for new ways to cook venison and I will definitely make this again. Thanks!(Note-If you sip wine while wrapping the "chunks" it goes faster:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      We cooked this for a wild game dinner and next time will forget the stew, just make more of this. We used thick sliced maple flavor bacon and it was delicious. We plan on trying this with round steak also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      I added a beef boullion (sp?) cube and a little maple syrup to this and my family just gobbled it up! As a matter of fact, when my husband came home from work, all I had ready was the venison and the beer bread and that was fine with my crew! They simply didn't want anything for supper other than this venison and bread!Thank you for this recipe - it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      I'm always looking for new ways to prepare venison. My two young kids loved this, they asked for seconds! Hubby loved it too! Will make again, for sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      My husband loved this, I liked it, my small kids wouldn't even try it. They are naturally suspicious of most new dishes; however, I really thought the bacon would convince them to eat it, and it didn't. It was fairly easy to make, easy to cook, and I will cook this dish again. I'll just make chicken nuggets for the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chunked Venison

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    60%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 135.2 mg
    45%
    Sodium 870.7 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites