16 Reviews

Ellen a great BBQ sauce. instead of a roast I cut the recipe in half and did Brisket tips. I took them out of the freezer and into the crockpot, followed your recipe and instuctions. Turned the crockepot to high for 45 minutes and then to low for 5 1/2 hours MMmmmmmm excellent. Not only that, there is sauce left over so for tomorrow nights dinner I have added 2 tbsp hot sauce and 2 garlic cloves and poured the sauce over a veal cutlet that I'll bake in the oven for 30 minutes. Thanks for a very tasty easy recipe. I may add a bit of Parmesan on top. UPDATE: Ellen I can't add stars again but as I said in my rating I cooked the leftover sauce with a veal chop, added garlic, hot sauce and left over veggies, cooked potatoe, carrots & green beans, Put it all on a pie plate, sealed in foil & cooked for 30 minutes, opened it up added parmesan & asiago cheeses and let it stay in the oven until they were golden. MMMMmmm It's a winner Thanks

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 17, 2002

This was excellent barbeque. It was so nice to come home and smell it cooking in the crockpot. My family has eaten this stuff for four days in a row. We just can't get enough of it. The meat is so tender ,and the flavor of the barbeque sauce goes so well with it. The dish is so easy to make ,and really is a time saver. I wish I could give it more than five stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBaton April 01, 2003

I thought this was pretty good. I was a little disappointed in the sauce, though. I was hoping for a more traditional BBQ flavor. This tasted more like tangy tomato soup. If I make this again, I will probably add some chili powder, garlic and extra sugar (or perhaps honey) to give it a more traditional barbecue sauce flavor. This is just a personal preference, you might love the sauce this recipe makes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys November 15, 2009

This was really good! I didn't have any celery, so omitted that. I didn't have any dry mustard, so I used a giant squirt of yellow mustard ;) We ate it with potatoes the first day and then had sandwiches with the leftovers. Thanks for this great one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment September 28, 2008

Even with all the great reviews I was a bit skeptic about this recipe. I am not a huge fan of tomato soup but thought I would give this a try. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the celery. I was sure what type of vinegar to use so I used red wine vinegar. I also used Splenda brown sugar as that is all I buy. I also only use one teaspon of salt. Wow this was really tasty. I got this on late in the day so I cooked it on high for five hours. I loved the taste of the sauce. This was easy to put together and used ingredients that I normally have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol March 13, 2008

This was a really good roast. I didn't have tomato soup, so substituted a can of tomato paste and a little water. I will definitely make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamabear22 August 29, 2007

I concur with all reviews. Scrumptious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brad Beckwith August 22, 2006

Easy and good, would definitely make it again. We ate the meat in chunks, but the sauce was so good, next time I would shred the meat and serve it in the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig July 24, 2006

I just did this recipe this weekend! It was great! The only change was that I used French Dijon Mustard, it certainly gave it a very mellow flavour. I didn't have an celery either, so I used some chopped red pepper, it seemed to work fine, as I used celery salt in place of normal salt & the colours were very vibrant! It has been added to one of my cookbooks! Thanks,French Tart.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart July 09, 2006

Very easy to make and lots of people asked for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Travlnbard August 19, 2005
Chuck Roast Barbecue