Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Simmering Potpourri Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Simmering Potpourri

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2014

      There is nothing nicer than having your house smell like the holidays with the citrus and spices in this mix. I'll be using this often over the next month and I will be sharing the recipe with my daughter and neighbor as well. Made for the For Your Consideration tag game, December, 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Great potpourri recipe! I used dried orange leaves instead of the orange peel, and it worked great. It doesn't really remind me of Xmas though, so I'll be using it whenever :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      Loved this, used fresh lemons and orange peel. Have to admit for having a rather small house, its very nice to have this great aroma throughout the entire house, Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Loved this!! I just love the smell of holidays and you have caught it with this fantastic potpourri! This is a recipe I will be using every year, thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I have this on the stove right now. I was wondering what to do with that big bottle of cinnamon sticks I bought last year. Thanks for making the house smell good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I was absolutely intrigued to try this. It is very intense with cloves. I am making this for Christmas gifts along with fudge and english toffee. I think all my SIL and MIL will appreciate something natural and homemade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      I justlove this combination Christmas or not. I put it all in an old crock pot on low and let it simmer. House smells so wonderful. However the grandkids think I am baking so have to have a batch of ginger crinkles ready for them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      Beautiful smell. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      Very nice! Kinda reminds me of old spice. The clove smell is dominant. I can use this all year round. It does a great job of traveling the whole house. I used leftover lemon and orange peel. I used fresh grated nutmeg. It simmered on my stovetop for hours before I shut it off and it still has a lot left...I think I'll refill it tomorrow and let it go again. LOVE IT. Thanks lazyme! Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      This made the house smell so nice on Christmas Eve! I'll be brewing some of this all winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Love this simmering potpourri! I used fresh lemon slices and orange peel along with freshly ground nutmeg. Smells wonderful, I have had it simmering all afternoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      This is delightful. DH came in the house sniffed and ask "What are you cooking now?", LOL. It's been making the house smell grand for about 4 1/2 hours now and shows no sign of letting up any time real soon. I used the dried peels as I had some handy. As ev said it would make a lovely gift.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      It's the day after Thanksgiving and I have this simmering as I am cleaning up. What a great way to get into the holiday spirit. This would be nice to have simmering during any holiday parties. I wish I could take a picture of the smell :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Well, I know what I'll be making daily over the holidays - this made the house smell FANTASTIC and definitely Christmas-y. This would also make a great gift item, packed in little muslin bags, to give as gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      My house smelled so good, just like Christmas! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Simmering Potpourri

    Serving Size: 1 (1006 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.4
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    48%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 98.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    46%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes