Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Scent Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Scent

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2008

      Mmmm! We made this the day after Thanksgiving to have on while we put out Christmas decorations. It made our house smell soooo good and cheerful! My husband decided to try apple juice instead of the water and it enhanced the other smells a lot! Thanks for the awesome scent - we'll be using it a lot during the Christmas season now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This is fabulous! I had my family over for supper before our annual Christmas light tour and this scent was a great scene setter. Because we were using all of our burners, I did use a crockpot on high. Worked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      This was a perfect homemade gift to give to friends and family. Everyone loved it! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      A last minute decision found me at Walmart buying quart size Mason jars, a red/green plaid fabric remnant to line the tops & ribbon to tie on the instruction cards. I found inexpensive bulk spices at Henry's (a Wild Oats type market); added whole allspice & a sprig or two of fresh rosemary from the garden to the mixture, as it looks like evergreen! The final trick was to stud the oranges and lemons with cloves in a few concentric circles before slicing them...a bit time consuming, but we had the new Il Divo DVD playing in the background, so it was a pleasant excuse to “smell the roses� & improved the presentation a bit, IMHO. Since I’m rather sweet tooth impaired, this will make a nice party favor for the NYE guests and for Good Neighbor treats. Thanks so much for the idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I put a pot on the wood stove. It took a little while to take off, but when it did the scent was very nice and cheery. Just what one needs on a wintery day. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      Excellent combo of spices. When I have apples on hand, I also add a slice to the mix. I also keep this in a "Little Dipper" crock pot during the holidays. I just keep it refilled as necessary. Not only do you get the holiday scent, you also add humidity to your house... just leave the top off the little crock. I'd never thought of "gifting" it. I will do so in the next week. Mine never has a chance to mold since I use it daily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      The holidays would not be the same without the house filled with this Christmas scent. I use it in a small, electric potpourri warmer and leave it on all day/night. Just add water each morning. It lasts 3-4 days, then I just refresh the ingredients. Also very much appreciated as gifts. THANKS for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      I put this on an hour ago and it smells great! I used one of the suggestions of using juice instead of water. I used 2 cups of apple juice and 2 cups of cranberry juice. I never thought about doing this before, and never knew there was a non food section here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      This is simmering on my stove and the house is smelling so festive. I love the aroma of citrus and the earthy smells of the cloves and cinnamon. I plan to make a batch to give away to my friends and neighbors. Made for the AUS/NZ Make My Recipe Tag, December, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Love this it makes the house smell so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      I love using this! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      The whole house smells wonderful! I did have to make a few adjustments, though, because our pantry was a little lacking. I used 2 Tbsp allspice instead of the cloves, and 1/2 a grapefruit instead of 1/2 an orange. The smell was so good I used the remaining lemon/grapefruit slices to make one batch as a gift. I do think I would cut down on the allspice/cloves a bit more though (maybe 1 - 1.5 Tbsp?), as I couldn't smell as much of the citrus as I wanted to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I would give this 10*** if I could. It is just perfect and our house smells so good. I'm sure it will be made year after year as everyone loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I'm rating this a strong 5 stars. I love the smell, it's easy to make and made lovely gifts. Wal-Mart was out of Mason jars... said they were "out of season", so I bought Rubbermaid brand 3cup containers with screw on red lids... they did leak a bit, but they did the job. I burned my scent for 2 days and both days DH complained because he hates the smell of cloves, so I gave my jar to lil' sister who is currently enjoying it and asking me if it can be frozen to use later... anyone know?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      My husbands loves this scent. Smells like home baking....enough to make your mouth water. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Beautiful!! This is simmering as we speak and has made the whole house smell festive and cozy! I will not waste another dime on potpourri or scented Christmas candles! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Just realized I never reviewed this from this past winter. I put this in the steamer atop our wood stove and apparently that doesn't work as well as using it on the stove as the fragrance wasn't very detectable......what scent was there was lovely though......will use on the stove next time for the full effect and thank you for the recipe. Update: made it on the stove and it was awesome...made the house smell so good! I know I will use this recipe over and over through the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I Use this all year round.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Make this people, you will not be disappointed! It smelled so good...everyone that came to my house during the holidays commented on how great the house smelled and wanted to know what that "heavenly scent" was. I used 2 tbs. of cloves instead of 4, just FYI.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      This is wonderful!!! Great gifts!! All the gals at work raved over it... This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing. Marie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Scent

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 82.5
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    30%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 32.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites