91 Reviews

Oh. My. Gosh. So delicious and so easy. I used Kahlua and it was perfect, no need to age them. Icing sugar = powdered sugar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baylor_gal December 16, 2009

Fantastic little cookie that is easy to make and only tastes better as it ages.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan December 16, 2009

I used Cherry Rum in mine and mailed them along with some cookies I made to my Grandfather. He loves Choc Cherries and rum cake so I figured he would like these and he did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovetocook30 December 16, 2009

Great as most everyone else seems to agree! Very yummy and tasty! I like people's ideas of different alcohols. I will be trying different kinds in the future. This time I had white rum, but I added some fresh nutmeg and ground cloves and vanilla. It tastes pretty darn good. I also took out the nuts, because I prefer them without them and also my mom is deathly allergic to them too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdiprincess December 15, 2009

How easy and delicious! Being from KY. I opted for Burbon. Also I put the dough in the freezer for a few minutes which made them not as sticky and easier to roll. Had to double the batch they went so quickly the first time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breckcr December 15, 2009

Note to self: read recipe and measure ingredients! I used a box of Christie's vanilla wafers but did not notice that it was a 350 g. box (not 250 g.), so the balls were crumbly not sticky. Delicious thugh. I used 1/2 cup of nuts and 1/2 cup of mixed peel to make it festive, and rolled them in cocoa. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baboos December 14, 2009

I made these Rum Balls in December and heard nothing but rave reviews. I think I messed up and used 2 1/2 cups crushed wafers instead of 2 1/2 cups of wafers(then crushing them). Mine were not as sticky because of the extra wafers but they still turned out great. I recommend dipping the rum balls in chocolate, it makes them even more delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BettyCrocker1998 April 08, 2009

I thought they were horrible because I don't really like rum, but I'm giving them 5 stars because everyone else loved them. I put them in my Christmas baskets and my family and friends are still begging me to make more. I made about 10 different desserts/candies for the Christmas baskets and this seemed to be everyone's favorite. Thanks for the recipe. I'll probably make them again because my mom won't stop asking for more and I still have half a bottle of rum left to use up. One piece of advice for people making these: They are VERY sticky because of the corn syrup, so I put a ziploc bags over my hands before rolling them into balls. (I'm sure gloves would have worked too, but I didnt have any). It worked really well because my hands didn't get sticky that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG February 01, 2009

This recipe is delicious! I doubled it and made these for friends & family for Christmas. Out of all the goodies I made, this was consistently everyone's favorite. I let the batter sit about 10 minutes before forming balls. It was easier and less sticky after it dried out a little. Definitely a recipe I will keep.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
49flavours December 30, 2008

I followed the recipe exactly and these turned out dry and literally like overly sweet chalk. After all the great reviews, I had high expectations for this recipe and these were no where close to what I thought they would turn out to be. It was a complete waste of ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SSX December 27, 2008
Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)