92 Reviews

Make this every year and now that daughter is on her own she asks for recipe...will continue to make for years to come with no changes may try other liquers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lokstere December 16, 2009

Oh. My. Gosh. So delicious and so easy. I used Kahlua and it was perfect, no need to age them. Icing sugar = powdered sugar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baylor_gal December 16, 2009

Fantastic little cookie that is easy to make and only tastes better as it ages.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan December 16, 2009

I used Cherry Rum in mine and mailed them along with some cookies I made to my Grandfather. He loves Choc Cherries and rum cake so I figured he would like these and he did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovetocook30 December 16, 2009

Great as most everyone else seems to agree! Very yummy and tasty! I like people's ideas of different alcohols. I will be trying different kinds in the future. This time I had white rum, but I added some fresh nutmeg and ground cloves and vanilla. It tastes pretty darn good. I also took out the nuts, because I prefer them without them and also my mom is deathly allergic to them too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdiprincess December 15, 2009

How easy and delicious! Being from KY. I opted for Burbon. Also I put the dough in the freezer for a few minutes which made them not as sticky and easier to roll. Had to double the batch they went so quickly the first time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breckcr December 15, 2009

Note to self: read recipe and measure ingredients! I used a box of Christie's vanilla wafers but did not notice that it was a 350 g. box (not 250 g.), so the balls were crumbly not sticky. Delicious thugh. I used 1/2 cup of nuts and 1/2 cup of mixed peel to make it festive, and rolled them in cocoa. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baboos December 14, 2009

I made these Rum Balls in December and heard nothing but rave reviews. I think I messed up and used 2 1/2 cups crushed wafers instead of 2 1/2 cups of wafers(then crushing them). Mine were not as sticky because of the extra wafers but they still turned out great. I recommend dipping the rum balls in chocolate, it makes them even more delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BettyCrocker1998 April 08, 2009

I thought they were horrible because I don't really like rum, but I'm giving them 5 stars because everyone else loved them. I put them in my Christmas baskets and my family and friends are still begging me to make more. I made about 10 different desserts/candies for the Christmas baskets and this seemed to be everyone's favorite. Thanks for the recipe. I'll probably make them again because my mom won't stop asking for more and I still have half a bottle of rum left to use up. One piece of advice for people making these: They are VERY sticky because of the corn syrup, so I put a ziploc bags over my hands before rolling them into balls. (I'm sure gloves would have worked too, but I didnt have any). It worked really well because my hands didn't get sticky that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG January 31, 2009

This recipe is delicious! I doubled it and made these for friends & family for Christmas. Out of all the goodies I made, this was consistently everyone's favorite. I let the batter sit about 10 minutes before forming balls. It was easier and less sticky after it dried out a little. Definitely a recipe I will keep.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
49flavours December 29, 2008
Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)