Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)

    Average Rating:

    91 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 91

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2008

      SOOOO good! And so easy! I used my food processor. I made 2 batches - one with Spiced Rum and one with Brandy. They turned out fantastic! I rolled half of each batch in fine sugar and the other half in chocolate Quik powder. I even forgot the corn syrup in the second batch and they turned out fine. I did have to use almost one cup more of powdered sugar for consistency though. Can't wait to make more before Christmas. I'd like to try using orange flavored vodka since orange and chocolate go together so nicely. Thanks for my new signature holiday recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I made these for my husband and some of his co-workers. They only lasted a few minutes!!! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      These are OUTSTANDING! I LOVE them! Spent the day making test batches of some new cookies. Tried these last and they were like a dream. So quick and easy. 10 minutes, done! And they were the best of the day in my opinion. I used seagrams whiskey since that's what was laying around. They have a nice little kick to them, but they're still chocolatey and fudgey. I will definately be making these every Yule from now on! Try these! Thanks so much Bergy! ^.^ You made my day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Made these around Christmas, and let set for two weeks, ok, let most of them set. lol The neighbor and I both enjoyed these. Instead of rum, I used Amaretto. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Bloody Brilliant! I've made these 3 times now and they're a hit with everyone who tries them. They are so easy to make which is great! I love them and would change nothing from what is posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      These were a hit on my Christmas goody tray. We all thought they had a pretty strong rum taste, but didn't think that was a bad thing :-) I had dark rum on hand, so that is what I used, but I'll definitely buy a bottle of spiced rum, as I think that would really be delicious! Thanks for a great treat that will be a regular on my Christmas tray from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      These were extremely easy to make. I too used the little mini muffin cups for a pretty presentation, and that really helped in getting all the powdered sugar to stay on. Half the people that tried these said they had a very strong rum taste. Half the people (including me) said they were perfect! I really believe it just depends on how much you like the actual taste of rum... and how strong a drink you like! These were great and I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I made these with coconut rum and rolled in coconut also. They looked great on my cookie tray. Thanks for sharing. Lisa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I made these for Christmas, and thought they were very good. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      These are delicious. I made them for my Christmas party this year and everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Fantastic recipe! I didn't have spiced rum or bourban but substituted Malibu Caribbean Coconut Rum then rolled the balls in coconut. So easy and so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Quite easy and very good. Next time I'll follow the advice about chilling first, these suckers were messy to ball up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      These are a family favorite. My mother-in-law can only eat nuts if they are crushed fine, so I use my food processor to grind them finely. Also I roll my finished balls in crushed vanilla wafers or crushed chocolate wafers. That takes care of the disappearing powdered sugar.I store mine in the frig and take out as needed. They taste great cold or room temp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      No way these will mellow in 5-7 days, they won't make it that long. Followed the recipe exactly except used 3/4 cup of the Captain. Perfect. Thanks Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      HI BERGY!! these were made this morning as I am snowed in! YEA!! I wanted to let you know I had a blast making these. The aroma (hehe) is wonderful! I am freezing them and sending them off in gift packages for family and friends! Oh yea these are sooooooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      The Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum takes these rum balls over the top---very aromatic, and dee-lish!!! To get the proper consistency, I crushed the entire box of vanilla wafers, and I do believe that was more than the 2 1/2 cups called for in the recipe. Chilling the mixture for about 30 minutes was vital, as well. But, no matter, the end result was very lovely! Oh, and mini-muffin papers work well, per your photo. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      These were really easy to make. I let the mixture chill for about 20 minutes to help with the rolling like others had suggested. I used regular light rum, thats all I had, and I added a little cinnamon. Instead of nuts I added mini chocolate chips. I loved them and will be making more very soon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Again, another great recipe Bergy! I used a combination of pecans and walnuts, Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum, These were fabulous! Might have to make more....... Thanks, Helen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      These are so tasty and easy to make. I made up a batch today to gift to friends and I can only imagine how good they'll be in a week's time. I didn't have spiced rum, so I used a little less than 1/2 a cup of amber rum infused with some cinnamon and clove powder (didn't have any nutmeg or I'd have added that too). The dough was easy to roll, I did chill it for about 15 min. After trying them rolled in powdered sugar, cocoa and granulated sugar, I find I prefer them either plain or with granulated sugar. Thanks for a terrific recipe, Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      Wow! I made half of the recipe with rum, the other half with amaretto, and...wow! I will definitely be making these again (probably tomorrow ;-0). Thank you for such a terrific, yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)

    Serving Size: 1 (17 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    40%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla wafers

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes