Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2008

      These were a hit on my Christmas goody tray. We all thought they had a pretty strong rum taste, but didn't think that was a bad thing :-) I had dark rum on hand, so that is what I used, but I'll definitely buy a bottle of spiced rum, as I think that would really be delicious! Thanks for a great treat that will be a regular on my Christmas tray from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      These were extremely easy to make. I too used the little mini muffin cups for a pretty presentation, and that really helped in getting all the powdered sugar to stay on. Half the people that tried these said they had a very strong rum taste. Half the people (including me) said they were perfect! I really believe it just depends on how much you like the actual taste of rum... and how strong a drink you like! These were great and I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I made these with coconut rum and rolled in coconut also. They looked great on my cookie tray. Thanks for sharing. Lisa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I made these for Christmas, and thought they were very good. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      These are delicious. I made them for my Christmas party this year and everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Fantastic recipe! I didn't have spiced rum or bourban but substituted Malibu Caribbean Coconut Rum then rolled the balls in coconut. So easy and so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Quite easy and very good. Next time I'll follow the advice about chilling first, these suckers were messy to ball up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      These are a family favorite. My mother-in-law can only eat nuts if they are crushed fine, so I use my food processor to grind them finely. Also I roll my finished balls in crushed vanilla wafers or crushed chocolate wafers. That takes care of the disappearing powdered sugar.I store mine in the frig and take out as needed. They taste great cold or room temp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      No way these will mellow in 5-7 days, they won't make it that long. Followed the recipe exactly except used 3/4 cup of the Captain. Perfect. Thanks Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      HI BERGY!! these were made this morning as I am snowed in! YEA!! I wanted to let you know I had a blast making these. The aroma (hehe) is wonderful! I am freezing them and sending them off in gift packages for family and friends! Oh yea these are sooooooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      These were great! I made these as a last minute thought for a party- Since I didn't have time to let the rum mellow, I used Kahlua instead of rum and boy were they good! No mellowing time needed! The Kahlua was not too strong and the flavor mixed so well with the cocoa....I'm thinking to try Irish cream next. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      We love these - both for flavor and ease and they're made every year for our candy trays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      The Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum takes these rum balls over the top---very aromatic, and dee-lish!!! To get the proper consistency, I crushed the entire box of vanilla wafers, and I do believe that was more than the 2 1/2 cups called for in the recipe. Chilling the mixture for about 30 minutes was vital, as well. But, no matter, the end result was very lovely! Oh, and mini-muffin papers work well, per your photo. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      These were really easy to make. I let the mixture chill for about 20 minutes to help with the rolling like others had suggested. I used regular light rum, thats all I had, and I added a little cinnamon. Instead of nuts I added mini chocolate chips. I loved them and will be making more very soon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Again, another great recipe Bergy! I used a combination of pecans and walnuts, Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum, These were fabulous! Might have to make more....... Thanks, Helen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      These are so tasty and easy to make. I made up a batch today to gift to friends and I can only imagine how good they'll be in a week's time. I didn't have spiced rum, so I used a little less than 1/2 a cup of amber rum infused with some cinnamon and clove powder (didn't have any nutmeg or I'd have added that too). The dough was easy to roll, I did chill it for about 15 min. After trying them rolled in powdered sugar, cocoa and granulated sugar, I find I prefer them either plain or with granulated sugar. Thanks for a terrific recipe, Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      Wow! I made half of the recipe with rum, the other half with amaretto, and...wow! I will definitely be making these again (probably tomorrow ;-0). Thank you for such a terrific, yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      I made these today and they came out fantastic!! They are easy to make. The only change that I made was I used Coconut Rum instead of the spiced rum. The coconut rum is very mellow so you can eat them the same day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      try my recipe with chocolate chips - i think it's a little better???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      I guess I'm not a Rum Ball person. I think they turned out fine but I just didn't like the flavor. I didn't get any comments, either. Maybe I'll try them in chocolate before writing them off. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)

    Serving Size: 1 (17 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    40%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla wafers

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites