91 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were great! I made these as a last minute thought for a party- Since I didn't have time to let the rum mellow, I used Kahlua instead of rum and boy were they good! No mellowing time needed! The Kahlua was not too strong and the flavor mixed so well with the cocoa....I'm thinking to try Irish cream next. Thanks Bergy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rushncook December 12, 2007

We love these - both for flavor and ease and they're made every year for our candy trays.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu December 11, 2007

Forgot to sign my review..... Vancouver, Canada

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather Lemieux December 16, 2003

I will have to give this recipe another try. I printed the recipe and didn't read the tips on chilling them for awhile. They came out very wet and weren't making very nice balls. I added about a cup more powdered sugar to try to fix the consistancy, but they weren't quite right and just tasted ok. Based on the other reviews, I will give it another shot though. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceashel January 13, 2003

I finally made these. I had bought the vanilla wafers before Christmas to make these for the cookie trays but didn't have time to make them. I didn't have any spiced rum so I used half Bacardi and half Rum Chata. The dough is very sticky to work with so I used my small scoop to make the balls. Using the scoop, I made 48 balls. I used quite a bit more powdered sugar (probably at least half a cup) because I didn't want them to stick to each other. I already tasted one and it was very good. I think that the Rum Chata might be less potent than regular rum. That's okay, I'll just eat two instead of one. :) Thank you for posting this recipe! I'll make sure that I make them for the cookie trays next year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm January 21, 2015

I have been wanting to make these for years and haven't gotten to them....until this year. BIG MISTAKE waiting all those years. This little gem is awesome. I added them to our holiday trays, but put them in little bags writing on them 'adults only". Everyone loves them. Thank you for sharing this yummy treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour December 22, 2014

These are sooo wonderful, and easy to adjust to your taste or to mix things up. The last batch I made I used 1/2 vanilla wafer crumbs, and 1/2 crushed gingersnaps...they came out wonderful!! But as stated in many reviews, let them chill in the fridge for a bit before shaping, and let them

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cbradgo_5527988 December 04, 2014

I ground the cookies and the nuts till they were almost like a flour which made for very smooth balls that held together perfectly. Note that you have to be careful with the nuts or you'll get a paste! I finally had to stash them in the back of the fridge to hide them from myself! I broke them out last night and they certainly taste like rum but are smooth and mellow - they don't "bite" like they did at first. Before serving I'll likely give another dusting of confectioners sugar. I'll certainly make again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance December 16, 2013

Ground the pecans with the cookie crumbs - added an extra 1/4 cup as my cookies were 11 ounces. This necessitated an extra splash of Wild Turkey Rare Breed (cask strength) in addition to the generous 1/2 cup (hat tip Julia Child) I started with. Rolled in granulated sugar to differentiate from the other balls, they are beautiful! Got 62 nice sized balls. Now to let them age a week (that'll be hard) before serving with home made eggnog. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend December 15, 2013

I made several batches of "Christmas Balls" for giving this year...

A double batch as the recipe is written (I used Rebel Yell whiskey) and

A single batch made with graham crackers, pecans, and Sailor Jerry spiced rum. I had to use raw honey instead of Karo for this batch when rainstorms kept me from going to town for supplies.

All of the Christmas Balls were received and consumed with happy hearts and happy taste buds! One tin of Bourbon Balls went to a "very senior" friend who loved the Bourbon Balls his late wife used to make. He was tickled pink when he opened the tin and caught a whiff of the whiskey fumes. :-)

Bergy, thank you for posting this delightful and delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHERI LYNN L. December 31, 2012
Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)