Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2003

      Forgot to sign my review..... Vancouver, Canada

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      I will have to give this recipe another try. I printed the recipe and didn't read the tips on chilling them for awhile. They came out very wet and weren't making very nice balls. I added about a cup more powdered sugar to try to fix the consistancy, but they weren't quite right and just tasted ok. Based on the other reviews, I will give it another shot though. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2014

      These are sooo wonderful, and easy to adjust to your taste or to mix things up. The last batch I made I used 1/2 vanilla wafer crumbs, and 1/2 crushed gingersnaps...they came out wonderful!! But as stated in many reviews, let them chill in the fridge for a bit before shaping, and let them

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      I ground the cookies and the nuts till they were almost like a flour which made for very smooth balls that held together perfectly. Note that you have to be careful with the nuts or you'll get a paste! I finally had to stash them in the back of the fridge to hide them from myself! I broke them out last night and they certainly taste like rum but are smooth and mellow - they don't "bite" like they did at first. Before serving I'll likely give another dusting of confectioners sugar. I'll certainly make again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Ground the pecans with the cookie crumbs - added an extra 1/4 cup as my cookies were 11 ounces. This necessitated an extra splash of Wild Turkey Rare Breed (cask strength) in addition to the generous 1/2 cup (hat tip Julia Child) I started with. Rolled in granulated sugar to differentiate from the other balls, they are beautiful! Got 62 nice sized balls. Now to let them age a week (that'll be hard) before serving with home made eggnog. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      I made several batches of "Christmas Balls" for giving this year...

      A double batch as the recipe is written (I used Rebel Yell whiskey) and

      A single batch made with graham crackers, pecans, and Sailor Jerry spiced rum. I had to use raw honey instead of Karo for this batch when rainstorms kept me from going to town for supplies.

      All of the Christmas Balls were received and consumed with happy hearts and happy taste buds! One tin of Bourbon Balls went to a "very senior" friend who loved the Bourbon Balls his late wife used to make. He was tickled pink when he opened the tin and caught a whiff of the whiskey fumes. :-)

      Bergy, thank you for posting this delightful and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      I have made these to go with my Christmas gifts this year.They are very easy to make.My boyfriend loved them.I found them a little too strong for my taste,perhaps because I'm not a big rum drinker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      My Dad wanted rum balls, just like Grandma use to make...and these are the ones!! I had to skip the nuts (Dad preference) and I used Myers Rum...Delicious!! Rolled in powdered sugar...and packed to ship to California!! Thank you Bergy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Everyone loves these. Easy to make & great frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      perfect! great when frozen, and lasts several days. very simple to make, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

    • on December 23, 2009

      These were so delicious...I made them for Christmas about a week ahead of time and had to make more because they got nibbled on and were nearly gone! I made two small modifications to the recipe as printed. I added slightly more wafer crumbs so that the mixture was not as wet, maybe just a tablespoon or two. The dough rolled into balls much more nicely and held together really well. I also cut the size of the balls in half, opting for about a malted milk ball sized cookie. These bite-sized gems were a perfect addition to my cookie platter. Definitely make this recipe when you want to add something special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Quick, easy, delicious. Used for a cookie exchange and got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      These are a great rum ball. I had a golden rum but made as written. They are so smooth tasting. Love them. This will replace my other recipe that I have been making for over twenty years. Try this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      so goooooood! A little sticky, but could be my fault.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Make this every year and now that daughter is on her own she asks for recipe...will continue to make for years to come with no changes may try other liquers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Oh. My. Gosh. So delicious and so easy. I used Kahlua and it was perfect, no need to age them. Icing sugar = powdered sugar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Fantastic little cookie that is easy to make and only tastes better as it ages.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I used Cherry Rum in mine and mailed them along with some cookies I made to my Grandfather. He loves Choc Cherries and rum cake so I figured he would like these and he did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Great as most everyone else seems to agree! Very yummy and tasty! I like people's ideas of different alcohols. I will be trying different kinds in the future. This time I had white rum, but I added some fresh nutmeg and ground cloves and vanilla. It tastes pretty darn good. I also took out the nuts, because I prefer them without them and also my mom is deathly allergic to them too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)

    Serving Size: 1 (17 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.2
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    40%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla wafers

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes