92 Reviews

I'm halfway through making these...have it all mixed together and am chilling it before I roll them. I tasted a little bit, and though I will definitely let them mellow, I can tell how delicious they will be. I'm making them for Christmas/my father's birthday, and I know he'll be thrilled.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miasmama December 14, 2010

Great recipe! A little too strong for me, but I'll just adjust the alcohol next time. I even used splenda rather than icing sugar and they came out good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morti December 07, 2006

Wow, wow, wow! These are awesome! I noticed in the reviews that some thought there was too much rum, so I decreased the rum to 1/3 cup, topped the measuring cup up to 1/2 with the corn syrup and added the extra 2 tbsps. corn syrup too. They were just perfect for us. I chilled the batter before forming; I also used a wet tablespoon measure to form the balls and had no problems. Everyone loved these rum balls!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing December 28, 2003

These were simple and quick to make and taste great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicoleb November 21, 2003

Mmmm! These are very tasty...and easy, too! I chilled mine as the other reviewers had suggested, and it worked wonderfully. I'll definitely be making up a batch for Christmas.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough November 07, 2003

GREAT! I used the cocoa liquer instead, had to make 3 batches for everyone. Easy, Easy. Thanks for posting this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krazynthekitchen June 29, 2003

Loved these great adults treats. I made 2 batches.
1) with Pecan Rum
2) Pennslyvania Dutch Egg Nog..

New editions to my Sweet Treat gift trays.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KHH November 27, 2012

I accidentally added ALL the sugar in the mix. No worries. Alcohol amount is fine - you need to let these mellow for a week. What's the point if you reduce the alcohol - they should have a little kick. I chilled before rolling into the minny balls.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Mac December 29, 2010

I have been making this same recipe for 25 years! I have it written on a little note from my grandmothers desk. I always make at least a double batch and give them to family and friends.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hspoulin December 15, 2009

I am a cake vendor at Farmers markets. I made these to sell as christmas gifts to my customers. I opened one can and gave then as samples, within a half an hour I was completely sold out. The word got out and everyone went crazy. These are magnifico...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Real Cake Baker December 17, 2008
Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)